R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-07-2016, 09:09 AM   #106
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Under the "SETTING" tab there is a setting called "My Transponder ID". Set it to match the ID of your transponder then the app will speak the lap times recorded by your transponder.

If you are not sure the ID of your transponder, simply set it to "0000" and the app will update it to the ID of the transponder that is first picked up by the PocketPit timing device.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Troy Carter View Post
I picked one up from Zen Racing. I actually back ordered mine and asked them to send it with two transponders and Zen got ordered and delivered with no issues to the US.

I'm using android with the Timing Beam App on a Galaxy S2. It was super easy to get working except that I can't get the spoken lap times to work. It will announce the race start and timer, the welcome message, etc. but not the lap times. I've checked and unchecked the button for them with no change. I also tried both the google and samsung speach engines, adjusted the speach speed, and every other adjustment that I could find but it just won't speak lap times.

Any ideas?
a380danzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 09:51 PM   #107
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Olching, Germany
Posts: 341
Default

Would this little fellow bue suitable for Offroad Buggy/Shortcourse Racing? I often drive after work alone at the track and try different tyres etc. AT the moment I am filming and manually counting laptimes afterwards.

Edit: No Android support
man1ac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2016, 02:50 AM   #108
Tech Fanatic
 
daleburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 841
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by man1ac View Post
Would this little fellow bue suitable for Offroad Buggy/Shortcourse Racing? I often drive after work alone at the track and try different tyres etc. AT the moment I am filming and manually counting laptimes afterwards.

Edit: No Android support
The Android TimingBeam app works with it (costs 19 GBP). Should work fine for off-road, just position the receiver on a section without jumps.
__________________
Team Xray
RC-Timing Software - http://www.rc-timing.com
Mercedes AMG F1 - http://www.mercedes-amg-f1.com/
daleburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2016, 04:56 AM   #109
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,254
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

I'm using the Timing Beam app and it works well on my Android.
__________________
www.teamgravityrc.com
Leisure Hours Raceway
Troy Carter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 12:55 AM   #110
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 435
Default

PP has been tested off road and has worked well. I believe that Lee Martin is now using one
cyclonetog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 11:43 PM   #111
Tech Initiate
 
mrosique's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Spain
Posts: 36
Default How to install the IR Tx? (Pocket Pit)

Hi, I am not sure how to install the IR transpoder in a 1/8 buggy.
As you know the buggy has got a small tray to put the transponder, so Is it the place to install the IR?
More things, Is it necessary to make some holes in the body?
Is is mandatory to put another antenna in the car? In this case, What's up if the car crash?
Sorry, there are too many questions. The explanation in the web of PP is not clear for me.
Thanks in advance.
__________________
Mugen MBX7R - Alpha Club Racer - 6Mik Tires - Absima CR4T
'Slowest no matters'
mrosique is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 05:02 AM   #112
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,254
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

For an 1/8th buggy you'll need to have the IR "antenna" outside the box for sure so that it's seen by the receiver. You may not need a hole in the body for it if you can fit it so that it shows through the window.
__________________
www.teamgravityrc.com
Leisure Hours Raceway
Troy Carter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 04:08 PM   #113
Tech Initiate
 
mrosique's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Spain
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclonetog View Post
Here is another view of my mount.

It's just an ARC antenna mount, 50mm of antenna tube and 6mm heat shrink.
This sits on top of my servo, so if you're fitting to the chassis you may want a little more tube (though mine sits fairly high anyway).
I did use a dab of shoe goo at the base just for good measure.
Please, May you upload any picture with the antenna already mounted in the body?

I am a bit concern with this matter, because I know nobody using PP in my local track, so I am not sure how to mount the IR transmitter, I would need a picture of the IR with body. Furthermore I am not able to find out a picture of this in Google.
__________________
Mugen MBX7R - Alpha Club Racer - 6Mik Tires - Absima CR4T
'Slowest no matters'
mrosique is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 04:15 PM   #114
Tech Initiate
 
mrosique's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Spain
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Troy Carter View Post
For an 1/8th buggy you'll need to have the IR "antenna" outside the box for sure so that it's seen by the receiver. You may not need a hole in the body for it if you can fit it so that it shows through the window.
Thanks Troy, now I just need a picture
__________________
Mugen MBX7R - Alpha Club Racer - 6Mik Tires - Absima CR4T
'Slowest no matters'
mrosique is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 08:55 AM   #115
Tech Rookie
 
kinopio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Default new firmware from RCRacingware

Hi, we are pleased to announce that RCRacingware has just released a new firmware for the PocketPit Lap Counter. The new firmware not only allows the logging of lap times produced by multiple transponders simultaneously, but the IR protocol of Zeppin Racing's transponder is also supported, making Pocket Pit the first lap timing system to support multiple IR protocols!

see: https: //goo.gl/Rr5JsC
kinopio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2016, 07:06 AM   #116
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 68
Default Pocket pit issue

Hi there, has anyone of you has had problem with the lap counter ie skipped laps ??
I'm no saying just one or 2 but 4 or 5 times during a 5 minute run. And worse still I'm not the only one having this problem ..... There were almost 20of us that bought the same shipment of this thing and had the same issue. And trust me we've try mounting it every way possible.....
Even tried resolving with the company , but to no avail

Last edited by Futaba4px; 11-21-2016 at 10:21 PM.
Futaba4px is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2016, 04:01 AM   #117
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 435
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Futaba4px View Post
Even tried resolving with the company , but to no avail
Which company? I can check for any communication.
cyclonetog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2016, 12:09 AM   #118
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclonetog View Post
Which company? I can check for any communication.
Hi there,
my LHS has written an email to info@pocketpit.net regarding this .
By the way , it was written from rcplanet malaysia
Futaba4px is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2016, 10:31 AM   #119
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Futaba4px View Post
Hi there, has anyone of you has had problem with the lap counter ie skipped laps ??
I'm no saying just one or 2 but 4 or 5 times during a 5 minute run. And worse still I'm not the only one having this problem ..... There were almost 20of us that bought the same shipment of this thing and had the same issue. And trust me we've try mounting it every way possible.....
Even tried resolving with the company , but to no avail
I've had the exact same issues. Missing loads of laps, tried mounting all over the car and putting the box at different points of the track but still no better.
Seems if I coast past the box it's OK but if I'm accelerating hard or going as fast as possible (you know, like you're supposed to) it misses laps. Like the vibration of the motor is causing vibration. I'm not convinced this is applicable to off road myself and I'm bitterly disappointed with my pocket pit lap counter
Gavster17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 07:40 AM   #120
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 435
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Futaba4px View Post
Hi there,
my LHS has written an email to info@pocketpit.net regarding this .
By the way , it was written from rcplanet malaysia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gavster17 View Post
I've had the exact same issues. Missing loads of laps, tried mounting all over the car and putting the box at different points of the track but still no better.
Seems if I coast past the box it's OK but if I'm accelerating hard or going as fast as possible (you know, like you're supposed to) it misses laps. Like the vibration of the motor is causing vibration. I'm not convinced this is applicable to off road myself and I'm bitterly disappointed with my pocket pit lap counter
Can I ask that both of you email support@pocketpit.net
the problem will be resolved for you as quickly as possible.
cyclonetog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:37 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net