R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree8Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-17-2015, 02:49 AM   #346
Tech Elite
 
SagadSetup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Hilagang-Silangan, Estados Unidos
Posts: 2,918
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beef View Post
Shouldn't most RC parts like sway bars and turn buckles, camber links and shocks be interchangeable with any car, if they're adjustable? I have a sprint2/rs4 set of adjustable turnbuckles, they seem thin and the plastic is weak,probably old, I cruised around the house and bumped a wall and the turnbuckle pushed into the plastic ballcup ruining it. Now I need new ball cups.
Yes I do believe parts are interchangeable. Usually I do research on stores like tqrcracing's "parts store."
__________________
Are you right where you're supposed to be?
Think. Learn. Play. Plan. For soon you'll become.
SagadSetup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2015, 08:04 AM   #347
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 64
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clfile View Post
I contacted HPI today about the dog bone issue, they said they will send me a pair of longer dog bone.
I just don't understand why they use this short one on the car in the first place.
I did the same thing about 2 weeks ago they got to me in about 5 days and they are 2mm longer, still needed orings though
Normajean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2015, 01:19 PM   #348
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: east bay, ca
Posts: 42
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SagadSetup View Post
As with any car kit, the Sport 3 is no exemption. How I wish that you can buy a kit that you don't need to do that much to make it work properly.

But then again, that's the fun part of it.

It's how you built/upgraded the car that will make a difference.
agree on the built/upgrade is part of the fun of RC car, but I think most RTR work properly, maybe not perfect but work, like the infamous RTR servo. but this dog bone thing just doesn't work, it popping out on almost every corner, HPI should see this issue when they designing this car.

but at least they will send me replacement dog bone, if it fix the problem I still think this is a fun car to play with.
clfile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2015, 01:29 PM   #349
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: east bay, ca
Posts: 42
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Normajean View Post
I did the same thing about 2 weeks ago they got to me in about 5 days and they are 2mm longer, still needed orings though
have you try it yet? does it fix the problem?
I don't really mind to put o-ring in the cup, I did it on my Xray and Tamiya anyways.
clfile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2015, 02:42 PM   #350
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 64
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clfile View Post
have you try it yet? does it fix the problem?
I don't really mind to put o-ring in the cup, I did it on my Xray and Tamiya anyways.
Yes it did for me, my problem mostly was axle chatter while turning because the axles were so short when the wheels were turned they would almost slip out and chatter side to side. Only had an axle pop out twice, but I'm running the e30 m3 not the porsche with 9t brushless, 8mm offset, light springs in front and laid out front suspension.
Normajean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2015, 05:14 PM   #351
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 85
Default

That would seriously be a fun kit... Anyone know the expected price?
theoutbackdream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2015, 06:20 PM   #352
Tech Elite
 
SagadSetup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Hilagang-Silangan, Estados Unidos
Posts: 2,918
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theoutbackdream View Post
That would seriously be a fun kit... Anyone know the expected price?
Tower Hobbies is selling the Flux for $319.98.

They always have coupon codes which you can enter upon check out plus you can also avail of their easy pay.


http://www.towerhobbies.com/products/hpi/hpid4350.html
__________________
Are you right where you're supposed to be?
Think. Learn. Play. Plan. For soon you'll become.
SagadSetup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 12:07 AM   #353
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostgr View Post
Got my car back. They didn't fix the axles. All the did was trim the body properly. Rather disappointed.
No surprise there. I bought my first hpi product 2 weeks ago. It came with wrong esc. I called the distributor where I got it from, they spoke to hpi told them the first batch of sport 3 drift came with esc from sport 2 and that the manual should have the same esc that's in my rc.

That was also a lie, hpi made no effort to fix the problem. It's my first & last hpi product I ever buy
bti_jet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 01:14 AM   #354
Tech Master
 
fyrstormer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Maryland, Near DC, USA
Posts: 1,816
Default

What's actually the big deal about the ESC?
fyrstormer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 04:48 AM   #355
Tech Elite
 
SagadSetup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Hilagang-Silangan, Estados Unidos
Posts: 2,918
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fyrstormer View Post
What's actually the big deal about the ESC?
I just went to HPI's website and I saw this. See on the lower left corner, it says "Specification may be subject to change"
Attached Thumbnails
HPI RS4 Sport 3-sport3.jpg  
SagadSetup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 06:48 AM   #356
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 64
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SagadSetup View Post
I just went to HPI's website and I saw this. See on the lower left corner, it says "Specification may be subject to change"
Wow that is pretty ridiculous I got everything that was supposed come with my car but I did notice in the 3 different manuals I got there were a few different options of parts, like a manual for a radio I didn't have and esc I didn't have lol. They had enough time to get everything situated and get it right but I think they were just lazy.
Normajean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 06:59 AM   #357
Tech Elite
 
SagadSetup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Hilagang-Silangan, Estados Unidos
Posts: 2,918
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

I hope that all these comments reach the HPI guys. All that's needed is for them to address these issues which to me doesn't take a lot of effort to fix.
SagadSetup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 02:57 PM   #358
Tech Master
 
fyrstormer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Maryland, Near DC, USA
Posts: 1,816
Default

My question wasn't answered. So what if it came with a different ESC? Does it actually perform worse, or are you just upset that it's not exactly what you expected? It's just a bunch of transistors with a microprocessor that governs their operation, if it does the job then who cares what the label says?
fyrstormer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 03:24 PM   #359
Tech Elite
 
SagadSetup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Hilagang-Silangan, Estados Unidos
Posts: 2,918
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fyrstormer View Post
My question wasn't answered. So what if it came with a different ESC? Does it actually perform worse, or are you just upset that it's not exactly what you expected? It's just a bunch of transistors with a microprocessor that governs their operation, if it does the job then who cares what the label says?
Not to start an argument with anyone but +1 on your comment.
SagadSetup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 02:28 AM   #360
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Default

hey guys,
I've been lurking this thread for a while now. I wanted a new basher with a sealed drivetrain so I took the plunge and bought this car knowing the issues that you guys have been very vocal about.

So I'm not sure if I got a newer version but I haven't experienced any of the issues you guys have been experiencing. My dog-bones don't pop out and my car tracks straight (I've run about 7 packs through this car). I have however stripped 2 spur gears since my first run. The first stripped spur gear was the factory RTR gear mesh. I am only running 2S 60C lipos with the stock Flux brushless system. I hope this problem does not persist. Anyone else stripping spur gears?
tweaksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:57 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net