R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 01-12-2015, 11:35 AM   #1
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Acetone TC rims?

I've done a search but can't turn up anything on this in particular.
I've been racing off road for a couple years and it's fairly standard practice to soak the old rims in acetone and reuse them.

Is this possible with onroad rubber? Assuming the rims are in decent shape?
I tried it with tamiya TC rims a few years ago and they melted in the acetone.

I've got a bunch of hardly-used TC rims with horrible rubber on them. It's also getting very pricey running 3 classes a week so looking to save a buck wherever I can
Old 01-12-2015, 11:37 AM   #2
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by swarf View Post
I've done a search but can't turn up anything on this in particular.
I've been racing off road for a couple years and it's fairly standard practice to soak the old rims in acetone and reuse them.

Is this possible with onroad rubber? Assuming the rims are in decent shape?
I tried it with tamiya TC rims a few years ago and they melted in the acetone.

I've got a bunch of hardly-used TC rims with horrible rubber on them. It's also getting very pricey running 3 classes a week so looking to save a buck wherever I can
Acetone resistance is going to vary between manufacturers. Only thing you can do is try soaking one of the wheels and see what happens.
Old 01-12-2015, 11:43 AM   #3
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

I use acetone on HPI vintage wheels when the vta rubber is done. HPI's plastics take acetone with no issue as long as it's not plated chrome. That will come off. If you plan on throwing out the rubber and foam and are just saving the wheels acetone is the easy way to go.

Carolinas R/C Track Directory - https://sites.google.com/site/carolinasrctracklocator/
DarthRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 12:20 PM   #4
Tech Master