Need advice

Old 12-18-2014, 02:32 PM
Tech Initiate

Default Need advice

Hi all,
I'm new to RCTECH and very excited to get into the world of RC racing! I recently purchased a second hand X-Ray T4 that I'm building and need some advice on what ESC to use. It has a Team Orion 21.5t motor which suits because I'm going to be running Sportmans 21.5t class but I'm unsure on which ESC to purchase. It will be blinky mode, do I spend a little more and get a good ESC or do I just buy a cheaper ESC.
There are so many choices out there! Please advise a good brand!
can someone please help?
Old 12-18-2014, 02:36 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

if they run blinky then get a hobby wing justock. great esc for the money. comes with a fan too. about $50 usd. or if you want higher end i would reccomend a lrp flow esc. great esc very programmable and pretty bullet proof. been using mine for a year with no issues.
Old 12-18-2014, 02:38 PM
Tech Regular

Hobbywing would work well for blinky, as would a Speed Passion Club Racer. Also around $50.
Old 12-18-2014, 02:39 PM
Tech Initiate

Originally Posted by dragonracing
if they run blinky then get a hobby wing justock. great esc for the money. comes with a fan too. about $50 usd. or if you want higher end i would reccomend a lrp flow esc. great esc very programmable and pretty bullet proof. been using mine for a year with no issues.
Thanks for replying! I was thinking if I enjoy it I may want to progress to 13.5t so a higher end ESC might be a better choice.
I will check both out! thanks for your help...
Old 12-18-2014, 02:40 PM
Tech Initiate

Another question, do they come ready for blinky or do I have to purchase the program card?
Old 12-18-2014, 02:42 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)

The justock is only blinky.
Old 12-18-2014, 02:55 PM
Tech Regular