R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 10-22-2014, 09:07 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice

Default New to RC any need tips

As showed on the title. i'm a completely new to the RC world. i'm really interested on pursuing this hobby and just purchased a Sakura XI for my first kit. I started researching on this topic and is interested on going to on-road touring cars. as i mentioned i already purchased a Sakura XI sport kit which will arrive in 2-3 days. as i've seen from most reviews i saw that the Sakura XI is prolly one of the most affordable kits out there that can actually compete out of the box.

I need tips since i'm already looking for brushless motors, esc, transmitters, servo and other stuffs which i know nothing about. any tips for a complete beginner on which setup is should go for being a newbie that wouldn't be that expensive but will have the speed i want and actually enjoy the hobby. any recommendations what else to buy to get my Sakura XI kit running in good shape.

Note: English is my second language to please bear with me

-TheEarlyWorm
TheEarlyWorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 09:16 PM   #2
Suspended

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

Hobby wing juststock esc $50-60
Savox 1251 servo $60. On ebay sometimes i find them for 50 nib.
All top motors are $80-100
Maybe you could start off with a used motor and when you get more competitive you can buy a new one.
Futaba 4pks super r is only $229 on rc mart. I highly suggest you get a high end remote even though your new. That way you dont have to worry about it later on. Make sure you pick up some c hubs and front knuckles. Those are the only parts i ever break.
nene_805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 09:18 PM   #3
Suspended

Oh, and make sure all suspension parts move freely. You could use arm reamers but you have to find the correct size for your car. And green slime for the orings.
Old 10-22-2014, 09:23 PM   #4
Tech Master