R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-22-2014, 11:54 PM   #361
Tech Adept
 
Clawhammers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EDWARD2003 View Post
If you want cheap prices in Japan = Yahoo Japan Auction baby!

Or if you want to buy new, RC Maniax has decent prices.

How about that motor mount?

IMHO.

If you are overseas customer, Banzai, Pro-shop Futaba and RC-Champ are the only retailers who are willing to sell to you.

If you are local, then (in addition to the above 3 retailers) RC Maniax, RC-Funfun, and Rakusei Model are preferred online retailers due to their huge inventories and cheap / discounted pricing. Note that this shall also subject to your domicile / location in Japan.

Yahoo Auction in Japan also deliver services to foreigner, but you should use their official Buyee services (added with % of fees and commission).

Last but not least, I just checked with a friend in Japan, the consumption tax is still 8%.
This rate will increase to 10% on October 2015.

Sorry, I couldn't answer Edward's query concerning the motor mount.

Hope this helps
Clawhammers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 02:46 AM   #362
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,029
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EDWARD2003 View Post
How about that motor mount?
quite pretty really. top notch anodizing as always!



pity it is still two piece, the BD7 has moved to one piece. I do wonder the whys/ways of one side vs two side. Tamiya obviously feel that 2 side is better for some reason, there has been plenty of examples to compare/copy.

2014


2015
cplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 02:46 AM   #363
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,029
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

oh, and here is a page to bookmark in advance!

http://www.petitrc.com/reglages/tami...iyaTRF419.html
cplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 03:43 AM   #364
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,735
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cplus View Post
quite pretty really. top notch anodizing as always!



pity it is still two piece, the BD7 has moved to one piece. I do wonder the whys/ways of one side vs two side. Tamiya obviously feel that 2 side is better for some reason, there has been plenty of examples to compare/copy.

2014


2015

Looks one piece to me.

Or are you wondering why they don't use a cantilever centre pulley?

I don't think there's any significant advantage of one option over the other. Maybe a cantilever setup allows changing belts easier but not that big a difference.

The only thing is the way that mount is machined, it may distort.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 03:43 AM   #365
Tech Master
 
Burlap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,255
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Burlap
Default

I used to use RC Champ for years, and brought my original 415MSX from them back when it came out. However in the past year they have stopped replying to my emails, which is a shame
Burlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 05:23 AM   #366
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,029
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by niznai View Post
Looks one piece to me.
The second piece isn't shown in that image.

You can see the machining/screw hole where it will attach at the front. This will attach to the top deck.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Burlap View Post
I used to use RC Champ for years, and brought my original 415MSX from them back when it came out. However in the past year they have stopped replying to my emails, which is a shame
What email are you using? It changed at one point.

Last edited by cplus; 10-23-2014 at 05:37 AM.
cplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 08:18 AM   #367
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,735
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cplus View Post
The second piece isn't shown in that image.

You can see the machining/screw hole where it will attach at the front. This will attach to the top deck.

[...]

Oh, I see.

But why does this matter? It's just their way of achieving the same result. Not one iota of difference in function. The functional difference will come from the way the larger footprint Tamiya item will impact chassis flex.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 02:31 PM   #368
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,029
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by niznai View Post
Oh, I see.

But why does this matter? It's just their way of achieving the same result. Not one iota of difference in function.
It matters as there is a massive drop in function!

It's a twist point as there still needs to be clearance between the two parts and it gets even worse if the screw becomes even remote loose.

Quote:
Originally Posted by niznai View Post
The functional difference will come from the way the larger footprint Tamiya item will impact chassis flex.
The footprint is no larger than the yokomo (it may even be slightly smaller?)

It only touches the chassis at the ends where the screw are.
cplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 11:24 PM   #369
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,735
Default

Wrong again. My eyes are not what they used to be. You're right.

As for the screw coming loose, I think that fear is easily addressed with a dab of loctite (in fact I would loctite it forever there for fear of losing it in my spares box). If I intended to use it, that is. Most people don't seem to use that pillar on the Yokomo chassis at my track (nor do I), so I guess it's a case of figuring out what you want to do and deciding then.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 01:35 AM   #370
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,029
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Loctite would work of course - it would still move (microscopic!) and would be even better if it was just one piece.

Would be much harder to machine though!!
cplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2014, 09:07 PM   #371
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,735
Default

How anal do you want to get? Microscopic? I doubt you'd be able to tell unless you removed all chassis flex, all top deck clearance at screw holes, bulkhead mating lines, and on and on and on, and by the time you finished, you'd have probably built the space shuttle.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2014, 11:24 PM   #372
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,029
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

No of course you wouldn't be able to tell if it was done properly. I'd just prefer something solid rather than relying on a loctite screw.

But, if it's a flex point anyway then probably doesn't matter.
cplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 08:44 AM   #373
Tech Initiate
 
Electr0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 42
Default

Motormount 2 parts ! Could be worse

Tamiya clone in 3 parts ?




Or ?

Easier to change spur

Andre
__________________
M-03, M-05, TB 03 (R+), TB-04 Pro (R), TT-02 S, TRF 417X, TRF 417V5, TRF 418, TRF 419, All TB EVO Chassis, TRF 414 and .....
Electr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 04:48 PM   #374
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,029
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

No 4 (let alone 5) axis CNC mill in the Capricorn factory obviously
cplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 07:43 PM   #375
Tech Master
 
Burlap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,255
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Burlap
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cplus View Post
What email are you using? It changed at one point.
The Yahoo one they have on their website
Burlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:37 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0