R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-30-2014, 08:33 AM   #76
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 8,864
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

I use one of these buckets at the top of my spring (You'll need to remove all the excess shims from top of the kingpin to keep the correct preload on the spring). It will remove the slop from the ball moving inside the lower arm and it will also keep the spring centered on the kingpin for super smooth action. I know I use them along with Alexander, Paul and others.

http://www.mcpappyracing.com/store/p...t-springs.html

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | Apex RC | ProSpec America | Killer Concepts | AVID | Futaba.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 09:18 AM   #77
Tech Master
 
CraigX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,166
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to CraigX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haywood View Post
My car is race ready with the optional graphite axle and titaninium screws kit and tips the scale at 707 grams without a body. My body will be about 40 grams so I will be almost 20 grams heavy. My wiring is very clean and short so I'm a little concerned. What are most others finding?
Do you have a pic of your car or what electronics you are running? I had to add weight to my car at IIC as well. Added 13g
__________________
RC America, Xray, Hudy, KO Propo, Motiv RC, Gravity RC, Max Power America, Protoform, Avid, EA Motorsports, TQ Wire, Prolevel RC, Ulti, 5 Nines
CraigX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 12:32 PM   #78
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Beverly Hills
Posts: 517
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
I use one of these buckets at the top of my spring (You'll need to remove all the excess shims from top of the kingpin to keep the correct preload on the spring). It will remove the slop from the ball moving inside the lower arm and it will also keep the spring centered on the kingpin for super smooth action. I know I use them along with Alexander, Paul and others.

http://www.mcpappyracing.com/store/p...t-springs.html

EA
Thank you Eric. That was what was looking for.
I found a way to remove the slop in the arm, I boiled the arm an then squeezed this part a bit. this would remove slop, but wehn you over do it the ball is not free.
Anyway I will order these shims.
I have another question.
I like to try out the Xenon racing sterring knuckles, but which one is the best starting point?

Thank you
silden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 12:39 PM   #79
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 8,864
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silden View Post
Thank you Eric. That was what was looking for.
I found a way to remove the slop in the arm, I boiled the arm an then squeezed this part a bit. this would remove slop, but wehn you over do it the ball is not free.
Anyway I will order these shims.
I have another question.
I like to try out the Xenon racing sterring knuckles, but which one is the best starting point?

Thank you
In order to use the Xenon ones you will need the steering blocks, King pins, front axles and Upper and lower balls. The xray kingpin is 3mm and the Xenon one is 1/8th inch and will have way too much slop. If you decide to try them use the 2 degree blocks. It will smooth the car out.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | Apex RC | ProSpec America | Killer Concepts | AVID | Futaba.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 12:57 PM   #80
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Beverly Hills
Posts: 517
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
In order to use the Xenon ones you will need the steering blocks, King pins, front axles and Upper and lower balls. The xray kingpin is 3mm and the Xenon one is 1/8th inch and will have way too much slop. If you decide to try them use the 2 degree blocks. It will smooth the car out.

EA
I will try this on my sons X12, this one is already changed to AE kingpins and sterring knuckles.
Thank you
silden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 02:32 PM   #81
Tech Elite
 
haywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,732
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigX View Post
Do you have a pic of your car or what electronics you are running? I had to add weight to my car at IIC as well. Added 13g
Here it is... A picture of your car would be great! We have three of these kits running locally and all have weight issues.
Attached Thumbnails
XRAY X12 - 2015 Specs-photo-5.jpg  
__________________
/ Roche Rapida 2015-2016 / Hobbywing / Team Scream / Rc Painting By Mikey / Ko Propo / MMR / Dri-Fit Mafia /
haywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 02:50 PM   #82
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 8,864
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haywood View Post
Here it is... A picture of your car would be great! We have three of these kits running locally and all have weight issues.
I am not sure how its heavy other than the speedo. If thats the alumn hobby wing I know its pretty heavy compared to others. How big are the tires?

At IIC my car was 13 grams under weight with a race painted body and full decals. Thats with Futaba servo, futaba receiver and orca speedo. Tires at 40 and 41mm. Graphite rear axle. Hiro Seiko screw kit. Everything else was stock

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | Apex RC | ProSpec America | Killer Concepts | AVID | Futaba.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 03:01 PM   #83
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,548
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kave
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
I am not sure how its heavy other than the speedo. If thats the alumn hobby wing I know its pretty heavy compared to others. How big are the tires?

At IIC my car was 13 grams under weight with a race painted body and full decals. Thats with Futaba servo, futaba receiver and orca speedo. Tires at 40 and 41mm. Graphite rear axle. Hiro Seiko screw kit. Everything else was stock

EA
It is the V3.1 HW that is alumn, weights 48g I believe but does not have an external cap.
__________________
Kevin Van Ert | RC^2 | CRC Racing | Team Scream Racing | McFactory | Lake Superior RC Car Club | www.lsrcc.com
Kave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 03:08 PM   #84
Tech Master
 
CraigX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,166
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to CraigX
Default

I posted a pic of my car a few pages back.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/13611371-post60.html

The ORCA 1S speedo is 41 grams so there's a bit of weight. I also use the newer smaller transponder which could count for a tiny bit more. Other than that...just aluminum screws where ever possible and as little wire as possible. I did have magnesium hubs on my car tho.
__________________
RC America, Xray, Hudy, KO Propo, Motiv RC, Gravity RC, Max Power America, Protoform, Avid, EA Motorsports, TQ Wire, Prolevel RC, Ulti, 5 Nines
CraigX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 03:21 PM   #85
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 8,864
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kave View Post
It is the V3.1 HW that is alumn, weights 48g I believe but does not have an external cap.
Thats 7 extra grams over my ORCA with cap there. Not sure where the rest is though.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | Apex RC | ProSpec America | Killer Concepts | AVID | Futaba.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 03:53 PM   #86
Tech Elite
 
haywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,732
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default X12 2015

Who makes the hubs? What is the weight savings over the stock hubs?
__________________
/ Roche Rapida 2015-2016 / Hobbywing / Team Scream / Rc Painting By Mikey / Ko Propo / MMR / Dri-Fit Mafia /
haywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 03:54 PM   #87
Tech Master
 
R Dodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,934
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigX View Post
I posted a pic of my car a few pages back.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/13611371-post60.html

The ORCA 1S speedo is 41 grams so there's a bit of weight. I also use the newer smaller transponder which could count for a tiny bit more. Other than that...just aluminum screws where ever possible and as little wire as possible. I did have magnesium hubs on my car tho.
Those were a gift!
__________________
★RCAmerica •Xray •Hudy •Motiv •Orca •PROTOform •Gravity •Avid •TQ Wire •2mmDesigns •BSR •ProLevelRC★
R Dodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 04:44 PM   #88
Tech Master
 
CraigX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,166
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to CraigX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haywood View Post
Who makes the hubs? What is the weight savings over the stock hubs?
I got them from EA...he knows the guy that makes them.

They use a standard D diff ring and since I needed a graphite axle as well, I used them with an Irrgang axle. Which of course, uses a standard D diff ring as well. Lightweight diff rings and ceramic balls...all adding to weight savings. I never weighed either for comparison. I will see if i can get a comparison.
__________________
RC America, Xray, Hudy, KO Propo, Motiv RC, Gravity RC, Max Power America, Protoform, Avid, EA Motorsports, TQ Wire, Prolevel RC, Ulti, 5 Nines
CraigX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 07:30 PM   #89
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 446
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

I got mine back out for practice today with my new orca 13.5. Thanks to a blend of CraigX's setup, my own tweaking and some great input from EA Ive got it pretty well dialed in. Fantastic car, my TC is seeing a lot less use.
branover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 05:50 AM   #90
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 69
Smile gear ratio

Quote:
Originally Posted by branover View Post
I got mine back out for practice today with my new orca 13.5. Thanks to a blend of CraigX's setup, my own tweaking and some great input from EA Ive got it pretty well dialed in. Fantastic car, my TC is seeing a lot less use.
hello guys, what will be the gear ratio for the x12 with an 13,5 . 8,5 and 6,5 motors, thanks brothers
chachotu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:41 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0