R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 10-05-2001, 07:15 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
Default newbie here have some quick ???'s

ok i have a 9turn triple motor on my hpi sport2 and some guy said that i had to cut my comm. my question is what is a comm and why do i have to cut it. also i was wondering what is the best spur and pinion combo. i was informed that with my sport2 a 93/21 combo was best. is this true. also will i notice a difference in speed if i change my pinion and spur. lastly, and i appreciate all the help guys, what is some tire recommendations for running in cali around 6pm. the sun is still out but its not as hot as during the day. also i will be dragging with a friend on normal blacktop. not the best surface. with my cars stock tires(slicks) when i floor it i just start to go in circles. i am not even controlling the car and it just does it. either that or i just pitch to the side really bad. so what tires and foam u guys suggest. i just want the best for dragging on this poor surface. peace. thanx again
prelude19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2001, 07:40 AM   #2
Tech Fanatic
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Well, let's start with the tires:

Foam tires generally get the best traction, but they don't last long. I would get some belted rubber tires. For just messing around I like the HPI Advan tires. They have good traction, and last pretty long.

The piece on the left of the pic, the round cylinder shapped copper piece is the comm. You need a lathe to do it. If you don't have one, ask at your local hobby shop or at the local track. I'm sure someone there has one.

As for the spur/pinion combination, that sounds a little high to me. Once HPI's web site gets back up (www.hpiracing.com) they will have some setup info and gear ratio charts there. You will notice a difference if you change your pinion and/or spur.