R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-26-2015, 09:16 AM   #1261
Tech Regular
 
SpidarX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 432
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgrobe2112 View Post
what spurs are you running?
Currently, I'm using the panaracer spurs.
http://www.amain.com/rc-cars/yokomo-...7-6496/p242268
__________________
RC America - XRAY USA - Hudy
Maclan Racing
Alamo City Racing Club - San Antonio, TX
SpidarX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 10:00 AM   #1262
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,897
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salkin View Post
Xray have previously announced that the T4 name will stay, no T5's or T6's. A 2016 version will eventually appear.

As for things I like to have differently on the next version is a motor mount that does not only allow you to secure the motor in the bottom with two screws.

On a mod motor there are some serious force on the motor, and I would like to secure the motor with more than two screws in the bottom relatively close to each other.

On my previous TRF418 you could secure the motor in the top, bottom and side, allowing you to secure the motor better. I have had the motor move in the Xray upon hard crashes that did not happen on the TRF.
I use the longest screws that will not touch the rotor with spring washers under the heads. No motor of mine ever moved in 20 years of racing.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 09:55 PM   #1263
Tech Fanatic
 
alecladanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Manila
Posts: 824
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I know this has been asked before but I cant seem to find it in the thread -

which other brands that produce DCJs fit the T4'15?

does the Spec R1 fit or is did they make one specific for the kit? Team C?

Thanks in advance.
alecladanga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 10:14 PM   #1264
Tech Elite
 
Dusttt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lake Forest
Posts: 2,299
Trader Rating: 123 (100%+)
Default

Are people using the spec R motor mount with success now?
__________________
"Whiskey Tango Foxtrot"
Dusttt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 10:23 PM   #1265
Tech Regular
 
SpidarX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 432
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alecladanga View Post
I know this has been asked before but I cant seem to find it in the thread -

which other brands that produce DCJs fit the T4'15?

does the Spec R1 fit or is did they make one specific for the kit? Team C?

Thanks in advance.
There is also the RSD version
http://www.reflexracing.net/RSD-XRAY...cs_p_1673.html
__________________
RC America - XRAY USA - Hudy
Maclan Racing
Alamo City Racing Club - San Antonio, TX
SpidarX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 11:40 PM   #1266
Tech Fanatic
 
alecladanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Manila
Posts: 824
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpidarX View Post
thanks dude
alecladanga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 01:56 AM   #1267
Tech Fanatic
 
daleburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 841
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alecladanga View Post
I know this has been asked before but I cant seem to find it in the thread -

which other brands that produce DCJs fit the T4'15?

does the Spec R1 fit or is did they make one specific for the kit? Team C?

Thanks in advance.
The Roche (now called Radtec) are the best I've encountered:

http://www.rocherc.com/index.php?rou...&product_id=85

My set are now over a year old and still look like new with zero slop.
__________________
Team Xray
RC-Timing Software - http://www.rc-timing.com
Mercedes AMG F1 - http://www.mercedes-amg-f1.com/
daleburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 03:15 AM   #1268
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alecladanga View Post
I know this has been asked before but I cant seem to find it in the thread -

which other brands that produce DCJs fit the T4'15?

does the Spec R1 fit or is did they make one specific for the kit? Team C?

Thanks in advance.
The RadTec DCJ's are very good indeed and not expensive.
Thaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 04:19 AM   #1269
Tech Fanatic
 
alecladanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Manila
Posts: 824
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thaan View Post
The RadTec DCJ's are very good indeed and not expensive.
Quote:
Originally Posted by daleburr View Post
The Roche (now called Radtec) are the best I've encountered:

http://www.rocherc.com/index.php?rou...&product_id=85

My set are now over a year old and still look like new with zero slop.
Thanks guys
alecladanga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 04:37 AM   #1270
Tech Elite
 
R Dodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dusttt View Post
Are people using the spec R motor mount with success now?
I tested the Spec R motor mount on medium and high bite carpet and felt like the stock motor mount was better. To my surprise, I felt the stock motor mount gave more forward bite.

I was excited about the Spec R mount when I got it, but quickly became disappointed by the quality. I mounted a brand new RW spur, as well as a brand new Panaracer spur and both wobbled about 1mm on the Spec R pulleys. It was pretty noticeable. I've never seen RW or Panaracer wobble like this before, which led me to believe it was something with the pulley setup. I tried adjusting tightness of the 4 screws to compensate and that helped, but ultimately I ended up with a wobbly spur and gear mesh that I was not entirely confident in. I didn't ever strip a spur, but I also did not ever reuse the spur that I had on that mount when I finished testing it.

Also, I would recommend if you are going to try the Spec R mount, to only use PanaRacer spurs as the RW is too thick. I tried to mount a LeeSpeed spur as well, but the holes did not line up for this mount (4-holes). All gears that I tried were 96T. Maybe a LeeSpeed will work if you use 114 or something for Modified. I never tested the motor mount in Mod or 13.5.
__________________
★RCAmerica •Xray •Hudy •Motiv •PROTOform •Gravity •Avid •TQ Wire •Sanwa •BSR •ProLevelRC •2mmDesigns •Timmy •5Nines★
R Dodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 04:58 AM   #1271
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 390
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daleburr View Post
The Roche (now called Radtec) are the best I've encountered:

http://www.rocherc.com/index.php?rou...&product_id=85

My set are now over a year old and still look like new with zero slop.

Are you sure they are the same?

I used roche last year in my BD7 which were great but the radtec is slightly different. The radtec outdrive shaft also has a lot of play on the bearings which appears to be due to the outdrive shaft diameter being too small.
DamianW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 05:00 AM   #1272
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 390
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by R Dodge View Post
I was excited about the Spec R mount when I got it, but quickly became disappointed by the quality. I mounted a brand new RW spur, as well as a brand new Panaracer spur and both wobbled about 1mm on the Spec R pulleys. It was pretty noticeable. I've never seen RW or Panaracer wobble like this before, which led me to believe it was something with the pulley setup. I tried adjusting tightness of the 4 screws to compensate and that helped, but ultimately I ended up with a wobbly spur and gear mesh that I was not entirely confident in. I didn't ever strip a spur, but I also did not ever reuse the spur that I had on that mount when I finished testing it.
What was the cause of the wobble, was it not possible to shimming the spur to reduce play?
DamianW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 05:12 AM   #1273
Tech Elite
 
R Dodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamianW View Post
What was the cause of the wobble, was it not possible to shimming the spur to reduce play?

I can only figure it had something to do with the way the gear sat between the two plates. I guess it could've been possible to place shims around the screws next to the gear inside the plates, but that's a whole lot of effort for something that should already spin relatively true from the factory IMO.

I don't have mine anymore. A friend asked to borrow it and I never bothered to ask for it back, so I can't really double check or test the shimming theory.
__________________
★RCAmerica •Xray •Hudy •Motiv •PROTOform •Gravity •Avid •TQ Wire •Sanwa •BSR •ProLevelRC •2mmDesigns •Timmy •5Nines★
R Dodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 06:55 AM   #1274
Tech Fanatic
 
daleburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 841
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamianW View Post
Are you sure they are the same?

I used roche last year in my BD7 which were great but the radtec is slightly different. The radtec outdrive shaft also has a lot of play on the bearings which appears to be due to the outdrive shaft diameter being too small.
I don't have the Radtec ones, so can't say for sure. Clearly the same company, but maybe they've changed suppliers.

My Roche ones had a fair amount of axle play at first, but this was due to the narrow 3mm inner bearing having lots of play. Using a higher quality bearing and some spacers ('crush tubes') to lock the inner and outer bearing centres together solved the issue.

Another option are the genuine Xray ones. They've got a new design now which should solve the previous reliability issues. Cost quite a bit more than the Radtec ones though.
__________________
Team Xray
RC-Timing Software - http://www.rc-timing.com
Mercedes AMG F1 - http://www.mercedes-amg-f1.com/
daleburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 03:37 PM   #1275
Tech Adept
 
sgp-chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 153
Default

Hi Guys,

I have just had my first laps with my new '15...

I am looking for a bit more steering, especially in high speed corners, and I would like the car to be a tiny bit more "responsive" in the slower ones.

My setup is the basic carpet setup, and im running graphite arms. I have the optional blocks both front and rear, but I have not mounted those yet.

Running 17.5 on high bite carpet.
sgp-chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:19 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net