R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-03-2014, 10:11 PM   #601
Tech Elite
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,674
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Odin544 View Post
Will the 51mm ecs's from Roche or RSD work in the rear without binding? Or do I need to get a set of 50mm?
With the standard rear end, they should work. I have not tried with the ARS, but it could be a tight fit since it is a bit narrower.
__________________
REFLEX RACING/ RSD/ GIZMO RACING USA/ HOBBYWING/ AXON/ QTEQ/ TEAM PRIME
CristianTabush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 02:50 AM   #602
Tech Initiate
 
Raymann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: AUSTRALIA NSW
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalnut View Post
That's kinda funny, actually

It does sound like something happened to the shock parts bag QA, I'm going to assume that they were rushing to get the 2015s out the door. Anyone want to start a parts exchange? I'll have an extra cap on wednesday I can mail to whomever is missing one
lol
__________________
RAYMOND JW,
###XRAY T4 2013### IN AUSTRALIA...
@ IMCC (Illawarra model car club) http://www.imcc.org.au/
Raymann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 11:43 PM   #603
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

So, how are y'all liking the '15 vs the '14? Are you find performance improvements, or is it mostly just quality of life?

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 01:08 AM   #604
Tech Regular
 
fullout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mississauga
Posts: 316
Send a message via MSN to fullout
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grippgoat View Post
So, how are y'all liking the '15 vs the '14? Are you find performance improvements, or is it mostly just quality of life?

-Mike
Coming from a 13 it is a huge improvement. It is way more forgiving and consistent.
__________________
Daniel Weinstein
Xray T4 15, Xray XB8 14, Xray XB4 14, Kyosho TKI 3, Kyosho RB6, Sanwa M12
rcamerica.com
performancehobbies.ca
orcarc.com
fullout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 03:17 AM   #605
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 441
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Odin544 View Post
Will the 51mm ecs's from Roche or RSD work in the rear without binding? Or do I need to get a set of 50mm?
Quote:
Originally Posted by CristianTabush View Post
With the standard rear end, they should work. I have not tried with the ARS, but it could be a tight fit since it is a bit narrower.
Hmm would like to know if the ARS has enough toe change to really warrant the use of ECS's... let us know what it feels like!
__________________
Yokomo BD7 15 | Team SILVERBACK | LRP | FUTABA
Zhangesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2014, 12:06 AM   #606
Tech Elite
 
metalnut's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,726
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quick question... I know that to run the Tamiya DCJs with an Xray spool, you need tighter cups such as the Smokem ones. But is it possible to run the Tamiya DCJs with an Xray gear diff? Does someone make gear diff cups of similar smaller/tighter design?
__________________
Team Nervous | Team Scruffy | Team Orange

"If you ain't first, you're last!"
- Ricky Bobby
metalnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2014, 01:36 AM   #607
Tech Fanatic
 
daleburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 775
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalnut View Post
Quick question... I know that to run the Tamiya DCJs with an Xray spool, you need tighter cups such as the Smokem ones. But is it possible to run the Tamiya DCJs with an Xray gear diff? Does someone make gear diff cups of similar smaller/tighter design?
Get yourself a set of the Roche T4 DCJs and problem solved. They'll last forever (mine still look brand new after a season outdoors) and don't require any bodgery.

http://www.roche.hk/shopping/index.p...product_id=804
__________________
Team Xray
RC-Timing Software - http://www.rc-timing.com
Mercedes AMG F1 - http://www.mercedes-amg-f1.com/
daleburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2014, 03:31 AM   #608
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,735
Default

You have more options than that.

You can use a Tamiya spool shaft and outdrives and bolt on an Xray 38 tooth pulley from the old ball diffs (the bodgery here is to machine the locating boss and to drill the holes in the right place which is not that hard once the boss is machined).

For the diff, you can try to find Tamiya outdrives that'll fit the Xray gear diff. I think I have looked at this in the past, but can't remember what I did.

But why would you want Tamiya DCJ anyway?
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2014, 06:00 AM   #609
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: France
Posts: 86
Default

Or you can use this:
https://smokem-racing.3dcartstores.c...DCJs_p_20.html

But why?
__________________
*LAF Painting*
february is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2014, 06:07 AM   #610
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 675
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by february View Post
He's looking for outdrives for a diff. Tamyia's DCJ's are the best.

I did see the Smokem guy say he was working on cups for the diff, not sure what happened with that.
Sean B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2014, 06:33 AM   #611
Tech Master
 
oladele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: blackwood,NJ
Posts: 1,684
Default

Xray ECS's come in 50mm and 52mm what is the difference in running one over the other?
oladele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2014, 09:27 AM   #612
Tech Elite
 
metalnut's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,726
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

For those asking why... just to figure out what's available. I have and have tried Xray, RSD and Spec-R DCJs on my T4. I also have a set of Tamiya DCJs already and there was a discussion about fitting them a while ago. I have the Smokem cups for a spool, but the gear diff situation was my question.

And yes, the general opinion seems to be that Tamiya DCJs are the best quality out of the ones I've mentioned, though I'm really liking my RSD ones.
__________________
Team Nervous | Team Scruffy | Team Orange

"If you ain't first, you're last!"
- Ricky Bobby
metalnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2014, 11:19 AM   #613
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Is the pin on the tamiya DCJs larger or smaller than xray? If larger, could you just drill out some blades? I can't remember if I have a pair of the xray steel diff outdrives in my parts bag, and whether they use blades or not.

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2014, 12:11 PM   #614
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,735
Default

Marginally larger but it won't help because the outdrive ID (and the driveshaft dog bone end) on Xray is 1mm larger.

Xray has made an Aluminium spool with a smaller ID outdrive (it was in fact a one piece affair) for the T1 but you'd be hard pressed to find one.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2014, 12:18 PM   #615
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,046
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

The c-hubs on the '15 make me think there's something new coming from Xray as far as ECS go. The existing ones are really pretty mediocre compared to the other options out there. The quality is below Xray's standards honestly.

The Awesomatix has the best I've used in terms of maintenance. Tamiya is second for me.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:23 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0