R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-25-2014, 08:11 PM   #346
Tech Elite
 
metalnut's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,726
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pphaneuf View Post
I've got one of these on order, after a long time away from R/C...

Is it difficult to mount shorty packs on the T4s?

I like the idea of saving some weight and putting ballast where I want to make the minimum...
The chassis is designed around a full size 2S lipo, so the cutouts wouldn't be made for a shorty... though you could probably run one if you really wanted. But, as light as the T4 is, I don't see the advantage there given class weight requirements.
__________________
Team Nervous | Team Scruffy | Team Orange

"If you ain't first, you're last!"
- Ricky Bobby
metalnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 12:36 AM   #347
Tech Fanatic
 
Salkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 882
Default

Saw two very new assembled T4'15's at my club last evening.

Looks very nice.
__________________
Yokomo BD7 2016 Black Series - MuchMore Fleta Pro / MuchMore ZX - Highest DLP650 - Sanwa M12
Salkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 03:09 AM   #348
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,030
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chensleyrc1 View Post
It is all the same, just different countries way of speaking and writing.
Here is a interesting comparison
Agree on colour/color.

Tire vs tyre not so much.

More importantly, where are the pictures of this car!!
cplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 09:09 AM   #349
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,381
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Who's in stock with it first and when?!
__________________
X-ray T4'16 stock TC, Xray T4'15 mod sedan, Xray xb4. Xray, Motiv, Team debit card.
Boostinswifty38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 11:12 AM   #350
Tech Addict
 
chasingthepack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: hanworth uk
Posts: 728
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalnut View Post
The chassis is designed around a full size 2S lipo, so the cutouts wouldn't be made for a shorty... though you could probably run one if you really wanted. But, as light as the T4 is, I don't see the advantage there given class weight requirements.
agreed,i tried the shorty packs and soon went back to std size lipo's,dont waste money on the shortys,i have 290 gm lipos and still come in under weight,i have added about 15/20 gms,with a std weight shell
__________________
yokomo bd7 16_lrp works team-trinity d4 17.5_futaba 4pks_futaba bls
wet/damp car xray t4-14-r10 pro-team wave 17.5 savox 1251
chasingthepack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 01:12 PM   #351
Tech Regular
 
pphaneuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 400
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chasingthepack View Post
agreed,i tried the shorty packs and soon went back to std size lipo's,dont waste money on the shortys,i have 290 gm lipos and still come in under weight,i have added about 15/20 gms,with a std weight shell
I got a stick pack after all, albeit one of moderate capacity (Reedy 5000 mAh), should do the trick just fine, thanks for the tip!
pphaneuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 01:56 PM   #352
Tech Elite
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

5000 mah will work fine to get you going. The biggest difference in the higher mah packs is they don't fall off as much during the run and retain a higher average voltage during that time.

The down side is the additional weight can sometimes make it difficult to balance your car properly.

Even with a 7000mah pack in my T4'14 I still needed to add weight to make minimum.
__________________
Xray - ORCA - Avid RC - MaxFX Paint
TriCitiesRC.com
Odin544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 10:45 AM   #353
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,487
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone tried the ARS system? I am asking specifically about the durability of it. There has been mention of ARS systems being fragile.
thecaptain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 03:24 PM   #354
Tech Adept
 
millbank's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: uk
Posts: 162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thecaptain View Post
Has anyone tried the ARS system? I am asking specifically about the durability of it. There has been mention of ARS systems being fragile.
That all depends if you crash much 😁
__________________
Xray T2009 / hobbywing v3 120amp /LRP x12 6.5 / wet car
Xray t4'14 / Hobbywing v3 120amp / 13.5/ boost car
Xray t4'15 / Orca Vxx / Orca Rx3 17.5 / blinky car
TEAM DRIVER FOR MMR FLUX
millbank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 05:13 PM   #355
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,529
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thecaptain View Post
Has anyone tried the ARS system? I am asking specifically about the durability of it. There has been mention of ARS systems being fragile.
Well, look on the bright side, being Xray it will be stronger than any other manufactures if they try the same thing
__________________
Xray T4'16, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2016
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RD Disco
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 05:42 PM   #356
Tech Regular
 
pphaneuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 400
Questions?? where to apply thread lock?

I'm building mine here, and I'm finding something strange in the instructions...

At the beginning, they say you'll need thread lock, and give an "apply thread lock" symbol, but I've been putting up the bulkheads, and there wasn't any appearance of that symbol, despite putting in machine screws into metal parts? That's when you normally use thread lock, right?

I went through the whole manual, and I couldn't find a single instance of the "apply thread lock" symbol!

It's been a long time since I last built a kit (>20 years!), and they were RC-10s and Junior-2s that, unlike the T4'15, barely had any screws into metal, so I'm not so sure about this one... Advice?
pphaneuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 05:55 PM   #357
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Skip the thread lock.
Andrew S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 06:08 PM   #358
Tech Elite
 
metalnut's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,726
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pphaneuf View Post
I'm building mine here, and I'm finding something strange in the instructions...

At the beginning, they say you'll need thread lock, and give an "apply thread lock" symbol, but I've been putting up the bulkheads, and there wasn't any appearance of that symbol, despite putting in machine screws into metal parts? That's when you normally use thread lock, right?

I went through the whole manual, and I couldn't find a single instance of the "apply thread lock" symbol!

It's been a long time since I last built a kit (>20 years!), and they were RC-10s and Junior-2s that, unlike the T4'15, barely had any screws into metal, so I'm not so sure about this one... Advice?
I've learned the hard way to not put thread lock on most screws in a TC kit. I would build it dry, tighten firm but not tight, and see what comes loose. On my T4'13, I've never had the screws back out of the bulkheads, so I wouldn't worry about those.
__________________
Team Nervous | Team Scruffy | Team Orange

"If you ain't first, you're last!"
- Ricky Bobby
metalnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 06:13 PM   #359
Tech Elite
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

I agree with the above posters. Skip the thread lock. It will do nothing but cause issues when you need to get something apart. I've not had any screws come loose on my cars.
__________________
Xray - ORCA - Avid RC - MaxFX Paint
TriCitiesRC.com
Odin544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 09:38 PM   #360
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 185
Default On track

Hi

Got mine t4 2015 on track yesterday and it goes fantastic. Started without ARS and on the 3 run i did my 2 Best run ever on our Permanent track. Changed to ARS and the car felt a little loose in the rear , 1mm inside , none outside and still same toein. But I did my Best single lap with the ARS mounted.
We run on track with wodden planks as track markings. And I hit the outside on the straight at full trottle on corner exit and nothing moved on the ARS.

Regarding tread lock. I only use it on the drive shafts on the small shrews
__________________
Xray T4 2014 / Orca VXX / Orca 5t
Team Xray-shop.dk
johnsen-dk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:31 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0