R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-22-2014, 07:54 AM   #16
Tech Elite
 
jlfx car audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jackson,tn
Posts: 3,342
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Looks heavy to me ... needs to be innovative ... like wire tabs on other end of motor or the ability to flip the rotor or something so us onroad guys dont have our wires hanging out the side
__________________
Justin & Matt Lyons
Awesomatix USA, EA motorsports, Sanwa, Protoform, Avid, Gravity Rc , TSR!
a800s sanwa m12s
jlfx car audio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 08:24 AM   #17
Tech Fanatic
 
d16dcoe45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Armonk, NY
Posts: 947
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I love the wire tabs!! Very thick, looks like they can take some serious current. Whats the point of thousand strand 12g wire, heavy duty 5mm battery plugs and 90c lipos if the motor wire tabs aren't able to take the current?

I don't know if any other motors currently have these thick tabs (New Peak/Orion motors maybe?) but I bet you will start seeing them on new generation motors.
__________________
Jay Lestingi

Tamiya 419x/Associated TC7.1/Sanwa M12s/Xpert servos
d16dcoe45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 02:13 PM   #18
DBM
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Posts: 630
Default

We aren't drawing enough current to justify the weight of tabs like those. But whatever helps to sell motors I suppose.
The tabs on the current crop of motors still isn't the smallest link in the chain. ...it is the little leads on the FETs in the esc, and the traces on the PCB between the fets and the terminals.
__________________
VBC D08, D07, D06 Dynamics, Ghost EVO, Lightning 12v2, Serpent S100LT, Speed Passion SP1, Tamiya M05v2
DBM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 05:33 AM   #19
Tech Fanatic
 
d16dcoe45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Armonk, NY
Posts: 947
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBM View Post
We aren't drawing enough current to justify the weight of tabs like those. But whatever helps to sell motors I suppose.
The tabs on the current crop of motors still isn't the smallest link in the chain. ...it is the little leads on the FETs in the esc, and the traces on the PCB between the fets and the terminals.
In 17.5 no, we aren't drawing a lot of current-maybe 25a max. A 4.5 mod TC can draw 100a + at peak draw though.

Each FET only has to deal with a small percentage of the total load since there are a number of FETs to share the current. Same with the traces on the board--if you have 8 FET each trace only has to carry maybe 3 amps total if running 17.5.

The 2-3 gram weight penalty of the thicker tabs will at least lower the total resistance if they do nothing else.

I appreciate the fact they they (Trinity) are trying new things and pushing the envelope. There are SO MANY competitive motors at this point that you have to innovate just to be able to stay in the game.
__________________
Jay Lestingi

Tamiya 419x/Associated TC7.1/Sanwa M12s/Xpert servos
d16dcoe45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 06:59 AM   #20
Tech Elite
 
howardcano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,584
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d16dcoe45 View Post
In 17.5 no, we aren't drawing a lot of current-maybe 25a max.
At peak horsepower and 8V, a 17.5 motor draws about 90 amperes. Of course, the gearing is set so the average draw is much less.
__________________
Howard Cano
When race results are re-calculated using the IOF (Index Of Fun), I always win.
1993 ROAR 1/8 Pan National Champion
howardcano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 02:59 PM   #21
Super Moderator
 
racer1812's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 14,774
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

solder tabs...It's a pre-production prototype test motor, you'll lkiely never see those in production, and they're not needed. Some of you get all excited and I just laugh.
__________________
Stand for the flag, kneel for the fallen.

Thank you to all of our service men and women!

racer1812 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 03:02 PM   #22
Tech Master
 
patorz31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 1,406
Default

Looks like the solder tabs came over in the production one.
http://www.rcnews.net/2014/06/23/tri...ps-the-new-d4/

__________________
Northern Alberta Scale Car Auto Racers Pres. and Promotions
SCHUMACHER RACING Canada,TEAM POWERS, Mon-Tech,Sanwa
patorz31 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 03:02 PM   #23
Tech Master
 
joelwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,853
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default





__________________
HEART OF A HUSTLER RACING TEAM

Trick Graphics--see spdrac430 on this forum for all your painting needs

Team Pit Racers-Fastest Guys In The Pits!
joelwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 03:22 PM   #24
Super Moderator
 
racer1812's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 14,774
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by patorz31 View Post
Looks like the solder tabs came over in the production one.
http://www.rcnews.net/2014/06/23/tri...ps-the-new-d4/

True. When I looked at the eBay pic with the brass tabs, they blended into the fiberglass insulator, making it look thicker than it was.

Nothing special then, on either the pre-production or production version. Simply a slightly larger soldering surface, nothing new there, it's the same as a tab.
__________________
Stand for the flag, kneel for the fallen.

Thank you to all of our service men and women!

racer1812 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 03:47 PM   #25
Tech Master
 
Jerz616's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas,TX
Posts: 1,045
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by patorz31 View Post
Looks like the solder tabs came over in the production one.
http://www.rcnews.net/2014/06/23/tri...ps-the-new-d4/

That article tells us that the new D4 is using the Killshot series stators. I wonder if we are going to see some go up in smoke right out of the box. I never had any issues with my KS, but I got rid of it before it could. When I did have it, it ran like a beast. Looking forward to seeing the new D4.
__________________
Ryan Gracey

XRAY T4'14/ORCA VXX/ORCA TX 5.0
XRAY XB8'14
Jerz616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 04:13 PM   #26
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 108
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

"The new D4 is 8 grams lighter than the D3, and features an all-new stator design. Equipped with high temperature copper wire, infinite actual timing adjustment, new 3-piece can, new endbell, and increased venting, this is the most technologically advanced Trinity motor yet. The D4 motor uses KillShot series stators, and is available in both Spec and Modified versions."

I find it funny that there are comments that are not even remotely based on fact...
mosssman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 04:16 PM   #27
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 108
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Additional information from Trinity's website:

Meets all ROAR Specs
New Stator Design
High Temperature Pure Copper Wire
Certified Wire Guage
Infinite Actual Timing Adjustment
New 3 Piece Can
New Style Endbell For Better Bearing Alignment
Easy To Solder Silver Plated Tabs
Increased Venting For Better Cooling
NdFeB Neodymium Magnets
Grade 5 Ball Bearings
Uses All D3.5 KillShot Stators
mosssman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 04:21 PM   #28
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,265
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mosssman View Post
"The new D4 is 8 grams lighter than the D3, and features an all-new stator design. Equipped with high temperature copper wire, infinite actual timing adjustment, new 3-piece can, new endbell, and increased venting, this is the most technologically advanced Trinity motor yet. The D4 motor uses KillShot series stators, and is available in both Spec and Modified versions."

I find it funny that there are comments that are not even remotely based on fact...
That quote contradicts itself. Is it an all-new stator design or a KillShot series stator?
__________________
www.teamgravityrc.com
Leisure Hours Raceway
Troy Carter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 04:25 PM   #29
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 108
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

http://www.rcnews.net/2014/06/23/tri...ops-the-new-d4

I did not write it, the post that lists the source of the information is above, and quotes the source as Trinity.
mosssman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 04:42 PM   #30
Tech Master
 
evochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney AU
Posts: 1,537
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I am guessing that last line is probably a typo,

probably should say

Uses All D3.5 KillShot Rotors
__________________
Unretired

2017 ACT Rally champion :)
evochick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:30 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net