Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
new to r/c drifting, help with components >

new to r/c drifting, help with components

new to r/c drifting, help with components

Old 04-24-2014, 10:12 PM
Tech Rookie

Default new to r/c drifting, help with components

Hi All,

I've been looking into rc drift cars recently as a hobby to get into and then my friends surprised me for my birthday with the sakura cs sport D3A chassis (came with rims and tyres) and a Savox sc-1252MG servo. Now I don't know much about these or any other components but could I get some advice on which receiver, ESC, battery and charger I should get? As I'm just starting out I'd like to go for the cheaper options. Also if there are any other things I'd need to purchase, point me in the right direction. And lastly where are the better places to purchase from as I am in australia? (ebay would be a good option as long as postage is reasonable)

Thanks
Old 04-25-2014, 12:39 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)

For a motor and esc anything sensored in the 10.5-13.5 range is usually good. I like hobbywing and tekin electronics, but it you are really on a budget a brushed setup with brushed motor and esc will give very similar performance. Get either a futaba 3plor airtronics Mxv. Both are great and will keep budget spending to a minimum. As for batteries anything hardcase 2s lipo with 3000+ mah will work fine. Many people like turnkey nanotechnology batteries.

The servo you have will work just fine.

The chassis might not. It is a cs chassis and comes with a rather high cs ratio as well. Since you Are new I would say that you should start with a 50:50 and then move to the d3, as until you get the feel for drifting a cs chassis can be a real handful to control.
Old 04-25-2014, 12:45 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)