Search

Estimated Run Time

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2014, 05:47 AM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Estimated Run Time

Hi,
Just need to clarify some figures as I'm new to this R/C car scene. I am getting a 4400 mAh battery and pairing it with a 7.5 T motor from Speed Passion, bundled with an ESC that draws 40 A on normal load. Based on my calculations, the battery will last 6 minutes before running flat, is it true? Thanks!

Battery: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...case_Pack.html

Motor & ESC: http://www.rcmart.com/speed-passion-...o-p-27270.html
Old 06-11-2014, 07:14 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 66 (100%+)

The esc does not draw the amps, the motor does. The esc just controls the flow of power from battery to motor. You should get a more than 6 min just based on experiance. Off road guys run 4600 shorties with 6.5/7.5 motors and make 10 minute mains. Run time is going to depend on gearing, time spent at full throttle and braking. Excessive wheel spin will also cause a decrease in runtime, as does a heavy car and a bound up drivetrain.

But may I ask if your that new to the RC scene that you are unsure of run time, why would you get one of the fasfest motors you can buy right from the start?
Old 06-11-2014, 07:20 AM
Tech Apprentice

Originally Posted by theproffesor
The esc does not draw the amps, the motor does. The esc just controls the flow of power from battery to motor. You should get a more than 6 min just based on experiance. Off road guys run 4600 shorties with 6.5/7.5 motors and make 10 minute mains. Run time is going to depend on gearing, time spent at full throttle and braking. Excessive wheel spin will also cause a decrease in runtime, as does a heavy car and a bound up drivetrain.

But may I ask if your that new to the RC scene that you are unsure of run time, why would you get one of the fasfest motors you can buy right from the start?