Community
Wiki Posts
Search

need advice/opinions

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2014, 11:04 PM
Tech Fanatic

Default need advice/opinions

I have been racing short course off road for about he last three years. The track that I have been racing at for the last year is being rebuilt and by the time they get it done it will be 2 months of racing. So we are considering moving to plan B. I've never raced on road and don't know much about the equipment and am considering getting rid of my off road stuff. What would the recommendation for a first time on road car be. Around here they run a mini and some touring car stuff.
Old 06-03-2014, 12:50 AM
Tech Elite

Get a Tamiya mini and take it from there. Upside you can get it for very little money (heck you can even buy an XB kit ready to go). That'll give you a taste of on road and if you don't like it you will not be out of pocket a lot. It will also give you a chance to see what the locals run, what is best supported in your area/at your club and you'll be better informed to make a decision later if and when you decide to go for a TC.

Factor in some big initial expenditure if you want to go top of the range TC car and radio gear (not much change from about 3k$ including tools - you will need to get some stuff you may not have needed in off road).

Second hand stuff can be quite cheap though, but again, you're in a better position to decide once you go to the club, you might even find someone selling their gear there.

Good luck and enjoy.
Old 06-03-2014, 07:30 AM
Tech Fanatic

thank you for the advice. It's exactly what I was thinking, but was hesitant because of my previous experience and thought I might be bored off the bat.
Old 06-03-2014, 07:34 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 165 (100%+)