R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 08-15-2005, 04:53 PM   #1
Tech Master
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Help me choose?

I am relatively new to the RC circuit but have gotten totally hooked on the sport. I am looking to find a new on-road car to replace my Yokomo SSG special but can't seem to decide on what to get.
I entered a race this weekend where both Barry Baker and Peter Robinson raced. Needless to say, I was impressed with both Barry's Factory Team TC4 as well as Peter's new X-Ray.
However with their driving skills as well as the best of the best of equipment it is hard to chose a car for me.
I am trying not to spend too much money as I am still new to the sport but want a nice car which you don't have to put too much hop-up money into as well as decent parts support in the local circuit.
The cars i have considered so far are the Factory Team TC4, HPI Pro 4, Losi JRX-S and X-Ray FT05.
Any opinions to a rookie?

Last edited by nordheim; 08-15-2005 at 08:34 PM.
nordheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2005, 08:36 PM   #2
Tech Elite
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

To tell you the truth you already have one of the best cars on the market. The SSG for me is one of the best shaft drive cars out there. When i was activly racing touring car i ran one in stock and one in 19T. I loved them both. Since you list TC4 and PRO4 i would say keep your car and invest in good batteries,tires and spare parts. IF your just looking for somethign new maybe consider the CGM tub conversion. Assuming you already have a quality charger(peak detection with discharge) a quality high speed servo? And maybe an FM radio?

But lets say your done with shafts(since i would not flip your ssg for either of the 2 u listed) The belted cars you list are equally capable.

If the xray is attractive also consider the other dual belt batteries down the right side cars:
-HOT BODIES CYCLONE(use hpi suspension)
-TAM 415