R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   On Road Gyros...which to buy and how much to spend? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/807519-road-gyros-buy-how-much-spend.html)

lemonader83 04-16-2014 01:09 PM

On Road Gyros...which to buy and how much to spend?

Hey all, I'm new to the on road world and I didn't see too many threads specifically about gyros, so I thought it might be helpful to all to start one.

I see there are very few gyro's on the market specifically designed for surface vehicles and those that are available for cars seem to be very inexpensive, and they are EXTREMELY expensive for flying. Does anyone have a recommendation on what to use? I drive oval occasionally, but typically I just like to drift it and go way too fast on smooth surfaces and it gets quite out of control, even with new tires and the servo turned down. My friends are telling me I need a gyro, but there are so many available at a variety of prices, I have no idea which to buy. thetoyz.com has a "stabilizer" for $20, seems like a good price for what I need???? ...OR....do I even need one? Benefits/Advantages? I know how to drive, just heard the gyro is even better when you're really moving fast or drifting.

for the sake of full disclosure... TC3, Castle Sidewinder v3/5700kv, 2s LiPos, Savox 1258TG

Thanks!

mkiiina 04-16-2014 01:36 PM

If you are racing a gyro is not allowed, same rules applied with drifting as it is an outside aid.

Spend your money on a setup station instead to get your car working how you want it.

MikeXray 04-16-2014 01:39 PM

Originally Posted by lemonader83 (Post 13189996)
Hey all, I'm new to the on road world and I didn't see too many threads specifically about gyros, so I thought it might be helpful to all to start one.