R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   Good Hop-Up's For My TC3? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/80392-good-hop-ups-my-tc3.html)

terryk2003 08-09-2005 04:14 PM

Good Hop-Up's For My TC3?

ok...i'm wanting to know what the best mods are for my TC3?...i havent got to race it yet, but i bought the RTR version a couple years ago...i ran it a couple times then took a break from the hobby for a while...now, i'm back...and there's now a TC4 out :mad: ...so, anywayz, i plan on racing my tc3 this sunday to see how it does but i'm wondering if the motor that comes in the RTR kit is even legal to race?...and what are some good mods to do to my car because i'm a beginner and i'm figuring i'm gonna get smoked my first time out!...i'm also hoping to run on carpet as soon as i find the cleveland area carpet track!...so, any good parts for carpet would be good to know as well...thanx for any & all help...and, FWIW: i did a quick search and didnt come up with anything!

Big Rigg 08-09-2005 04:35 PM

Hopups you should get to race with

stock motor (the 15 turn that comes with the rtr is not race legal, and stock is most likely the class you should start with)

at least 3 packs of GP3300 batts (good runtime/lifetime, pretty cheap now too!)

Graphite chassis with droop settings (the plastic chassis is probably already tweeked just by looking at it...)

version2 A arms (they have an extra hole further out on the arm for the lower shock mount)

bearing set (the strength of the tc3 in stock is it's free drivetrain, bearings are a big part of that)

get a setup from a top guy at your track and copy the whole thing onto your car... don't just put on 1/2 the setup or you'll only get 1/2 way there...)
(BTW: whatever the setup is, it will probably involve putting a rear shock tower onto the front)

To help prevent breaking:
RPM or BRP extra wide front bumper