R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-05-2014, 06:11 PM   #376
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 123
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh-n-ya View Post
I checked my puller and its like yours. I used it for trinity motors as well. Mine will not fit inside endbell to safely press up against outer bearing. Maybe using a smaller spacer might work but might damage bearing. I see no problem installing bearings though.
Thanks for checking. Maybe we will eventually get the answer.
napolean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 06:04 AM   #377
Tech Master
 
Benzaah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,966
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

After some gearing advice on this motor in 13.5. Running blinky tourer on a twisty track with a 60ft straight. I've been gearing my HW v10 with timing at 40 at 3.8 and my d4 with timing at 35 at 4.2. I hear these motor like to rev. Should I consider starting around the 4.8 range? I've also heard there is a lot of timing built into this motor. Anyone's thoughts on turning up the can?

I picked one of these up as a I guy know was raving about the 21.5 version. Can't wait to hit the track.
__________________
AERCCC - ARCR - RRCSA

Adelaide RC

Walter Rc Hobby
Benzaah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 04:56 PM   #378
Tech Master
 
EDWARD2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kagoshima, Japan
Posts: 1,919
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Check my video out for timing settings on the R1. Please use this video as a reference.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MzE39EdYvnc

I would first start out with the timing set around 15-20 degrees on the can. Then go from there.
EDWARD2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 06:56 PM   #379
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 415
Default

benny I used a 21.5 and race with 17.5. your gearing sounds about right for hobby habbit. I don't over 38. timing. don't be afraid to drop a tooth. they like to rev.
trevor waye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 09:53 AM   #380
Tech Regular
 
Rugspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Palm Deset California
Posts: 493
Default

In 1/12th scale many of us run the R1-Ultra Premium in 17.5 Motor Timing set to 0 with around a 105 rollout. My current gearing is 72spur 57pinion.
__________________
Steve Burgess
Rugspin Graphix http://www.rugspingraphix.com
FB http://facebook.com/rugspingraphix
Email rugspinner@aol.com
Rugspin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 11:40 AM   #381
Tech Elite
 
CraigMBA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Valley of the Dirt, CA
Posts: 2,832
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torg View Post
After having a closer look inside the R1 and a killshot (and from talking to Mr R1 in person this weekend - I finally get what you were trying to explain ). "Timing" is not "built in" at all. In fact it is retarded in the classical "timing" sense and there is something non-electronic that is occurring, throwing the motolyser algorithm off completely. How, I don't know, writing the motolyser guys now to see their take on it.

Posted my findings here.

As I said... still learning... learned even more over the weekend.
I'm going to keep my comments very brief.

I'm a recovering oval racer. When it comes to gear and timing, amps don't lie.
__________________
* Cee Lo Dizzle, the Secizzle * Red Bull * Team Homies * Pintura de Negro Mate * USVTA #152
CraigMBA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 07:27 PM   #382
Tech Elite
 
jlfx car audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jackson,tn
Posts: 3,143
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

So basically the $140 is a waste of $ compared to the 90 one?
jlfx car audio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 07:55 PM   #383
Tech Fanatic
 
Madulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Calgary
Posts: 982
Default

Where can I find a new sensor board? My new motor came with a sensor board DOA. No wonder it was so slow. I put it on my new motor tester and it would not even light up the sensor lights for ABC.
__________________
Hobbywing North America Team Driver
hobbywingdirect.com

CARCAR VP carcar.ca
Madulla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 08:22 PM   #384
Tech Master
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 1,991
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madulla View Post
Where can I find a new sensor board? My new motor came with a sensor board DOA. No wonder it was so slow. I put it on my new motor tester and it would not even light up the sensor lights for ABC.
I will try and find that out for you.
Josh-n-ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 08:33 PM   #385
Tech Master
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 1,991
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madulla View Post
Where can I find a new sensor board? My new motor came with a sensor board DOA. No wonder it was so slow. I put it on my new motor tester and it would not even light up the sensor lights for ABC.
So actually he said he just added it to the R1 website. Under motor lab then click on motor parts. $16
Josh-n-ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 08:36 PM   #386
Tech Fanatic
 
Madulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Calgary
Posts: 982
Default

I checked and it wasn't there 5 min ago and now it is, thanks. Will another companies sensor work or does it have to be a R1?
__________________
Hobbywing North America Team Driver
hobbywingdirect.com

CARCAR VP carcar.ca
Madulla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 12:43 PM   #387
Tech Master
 
Professor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 1,023
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

this may have been asked & answered previously, but can someone tell me the difference between the 21.5 r1 & the 21.5 r1 ultimate version (apart from price)
thanks in advance
__________________
DESTINY RX--10S-R1 WURKS AUS--HOBBYWING--SILVERBACK--MAD GRAPHICS--BLITZ
Professor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2014, 02:12 AM   #388
Tech Elite
 
NOFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,116
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

When are 17.5s going to be back in stock please?
__________________
Castle Hill - The Home of Vintage Racing in NSW
2015 - Biggest vintage festival ever!!! Congrats everyone!
2016 Vintage Festival - 29th & 30th October 2016
@cassovintage www.hillsoffroadrc.com
NOFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2014, 06:04 AM   #389
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,215
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Professor View Post
this may have been asked & answered previously, but can someone tell me the difference between the 21.5 r1 & the 21.5 r1 ultimate version (apart from price)
thanks in advance
originally from R1Works...

ULTRA PREMUIM is basically an updated version of the previous motor.(updated version approved by Roar & has passed tech at Roar events)

same parts:
rotor
endbells
bearing
sensor

updated:
-Stator-
New stator has two front rings (makes your motor power more consistent throughout the run)
End wind (wire) is bonded in place to reduce vibration (improves initial acceleration & top end)

(no change in dimension,just improved performance) We also applied improved manufacturing techniques (proprietary) on both the same stator material & same wires (made in USA)

Compared to the previous motor based on beta user feedback, the motor improved acceleration,top end & power consistency throughout a race even at extreme temperatures (extreme temperatures not recommended,this will shorten the life of the stator).
__________________
www.teamgravityrc.com
Leisure Hours Raceway
Troy Carter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2014, 09:38 AM   #390
Tech Elite
 
jlfx car audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jackson,tn
Posts: 3,143
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

What kind of Rings have been added? Plastic ? Anyone got a picture to show the differences... Don't see how plastic parts would change performance. Being sensor and stator are still same
jlfx car audio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:04 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0