R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-12-2014, 12:05 AM   #316
Tech Regular
 
R1wurks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Toby, Yes 13.5 Ultra Premium will be available.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tobyzhang View Post
Will you have certified 13.5 in stock also?
__________________
r1wurks.com
r1wurks at gmail.com
R1wurks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 12:39 AM   #317
Tech Regular
 
tobyzhang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: chino hills/Irvine
Posts: 460
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by purple haze View Post
I just ordered my R1 21.5 , for our VTA , blinky class . Does 4.0 FDR and 30 degrees of timing for a 80x36 foot carpet track , sound like a reasonable starting point ? thanks .
Agreed, 3.5 is a good starting point. But also try 20 timing or lower first. My experience in tamiya gt3 says r1 21.5 do not like very high timing.
tobyzhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2014, 09:21 PM   #318
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 337
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default cogging

this is my first R1. I bought a 17.5 with premium 1500++ rotor. Timing is set at 20 degree. Tekin RS esc. I was adviced to increase the throttle min at my speedo. Increased at diff minimum level and now I am at Max but it still cogs. Am I getting a bad motor? Please help
__________________
www.ActivRc.com ARC
fx35rc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2014, 10:18 PM   #319
Tech Adept
 
jdawg81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 166
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fx35rc View Post
this is my first R1. I bought a 17.5 with premium 1500++ rotor. Timing is set at 20 degree. Tekin RS esc. I was adviced to increase the throttle min at my speedo. Increased at diff minimum level and now I am at Max but it still cogs. Am I getting a bad motor? Please help
Both of my R1 motors cog a bit with my Tekin RS ESC. Once it gets going it's fine so I'm not sure what causes it because I don't have this issue with any of my other motors.
jdawg81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 08:14 AM   #320
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 337
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdawg81 View Post
Both of my R1 motors cog a bit with my Tekin RS ESC. Once it gets going it's fine so I'm not sure what causes it because I don't have this issue with any of my other motors.
I change sensor wire twice. All my buddies' R1 are fine too. The motor is fast. My motor cogs and the car wont get going. When I hold it in my hand the motor will go, before I max out the throttle min on my esc it won't even run if I held it up in my hand.
__________________
www.ActivRc.com ARC
fx35rc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 08:16 AM   #321
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,539
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

I've had similar cogging issues with a Tekin RS as well, not just with R1 motors

LRP, same motor, no cogging
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 08:18 AM   #322
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 337
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
I've had similar cogging issues with a Tekin RS as well, not just with R1 motors

LRP, same motor, no cogging
Thanks Dave, time to switch esc then.
__________________
www.ActivRc.com ARC
fx35rc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 10:12 AM   #323
Tech Master
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 1,991
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Had major issues with tekin esc's in past. Cogging, settings getting wiped out. Getting a 21.5 for usgt now so I can play around and give better feedback after testing.
Josh-n-ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 10:46 AM   #324
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 337
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh-n-ya View Post
Had major issues with tekin esc's in past. Cogging, settings getting wiped out. Getting a 21.5 for usgt now so I can play around and give better feedback after testing.
Time to sell my tekins then...LOL
__________________
www.ActivRc.com ARC
fx35rc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 11:12 PM   #325
Tech Master
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 1,991
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Great run today with both 17.5 and 21.5. First outing with the 21.5 in USGT I was geared at 3.45 using a 88 spur. Started timing at 20* and was ok but went to 25* and was money. Plenty of infield speed and straight. My 17.5 was geared at 3.75 and I was timed at 35*. I was passing people on the outside in the infield and straight. These are the PREMIUM motors.
Josh-n-ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 10:27 AM   #326
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 337
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh-n-ya View Post
Great run today with both 17.5 and 21.5. First outing with the 21.5 in USGT I was geared at 3.45 using a 88 spur. Started timing at 20* and was ok but went to 25* and was money. Plenty of infield speed and straight. My 17.5 was geared at 3.75 and I was timed at 35*. I was passing people on the outside in the infield and straight. These are the PREMIUM motors.
Thanks for the feedback
__________________
www.ActivRc.com ARC
fx35rc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 08:24 PM   #327
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 337
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default R1 17.5 with premium rotor

Help Please,

I am using a Hobbywing V 3.1 speedo for an R1 17.5 with premium rotor. The motor ran slow. Its set up on blinky mode. I switch motor to Thunder power 13.5, Orca 17.5 TX and the ran fine.

Before a hobbywing I had a tekin RS pro. The motor ran fine fine for 3 batteries, then the motor cog very bad that it wont run.

I wonder if I got a bad motor.

Thanks
__________________
www.ActivRc.com ARC
fx35rc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 11:28 PM   #328
Tech Master
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 1,991
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fx35rc View Post
Help Please,

I am using a Hobbywing V 3.1 speedo for an R1 17.5 with premium rotor. The motor ran slow. Its set up on blinky mode. I switch motor to Thunder power 13.5, Orca 17.5 TX and the ran fine.

Before a hobbywing I had a tekin RS pro. The motor ran fine fine for 3 batteries, then the motor cog very bad that it wont run.

I wonder if I got a bad motor.

Thanks
Did you put the rotor in? When the motor is out of the car does it feel smooth when you turn it? Your best bet is to spend $6 bucks and send it back to R1 and have him look it over for you. Then you will know if its the problem.
Josh-n-ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2014, 09:25 AM   #329
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 337
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh-n-ya View Post
Did you put the rotor in? When the motor is out of the car does it feel smooth when you turn it? Your best bet is to spend $6 bucks and send it back to R1 and have him look it over for you. Then you will know if its the problem.
Yup, Steve said I might have a bad sensor board. He asked me to send it in. Fast respond from Steve. I can't wait to run it again. Its freakin fast...LOL
__________________
www.ActivRc.com ARC
fx35rc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2014, 12:56 PM   #330
Tech Elite
 
mtveten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,633
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

so how does an ultra premium motor differ from the r1 I bought last winter?
mtveten is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:41 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0