Wiki Posts
Search

setting shock rebound for a beginner ...help

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2014, 06:26 AM
Tech Addict

Default setting shock rebound for a beginner ...help

So I'm new at setting up on road and need some help
For a beginner how much rebound should I have?
For m-05 or sakura zero s?
Any help would be great tried to Google it but didn't really find answer.
Thanks for any help
Old 02-17-2014, 06:31 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

A lot depends on the application. Are you running on carpet or asphalt? Foams or rubber? Slower (VTA) or faster class? Once we know the application, we can guide you.
Old 02-17-2014, 06:44 AM
Tech Addict

Originally Posted by nubie-wan
A lot depends on the application. Are you running on carpet or asphalt? Foams or rubber? Slower (VTA) or faster class? Once we know the application, we can guide you.
Carpet larger track . vta , stock 17.5, super stock 13.5, tamiya mini m-05 all rubber
Old 02-17-2014, 06:57 AM
Tech Elite

Just build the shocks the way the instructions tell you. It is a lot easier that worrying about rebound which makes a tiny, tiny difference to the car.
Old 02-17-2014, 06:58 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

I don't have a lot of carpet experience but i think you want semi stiff shocks. A rough guess would be to get approximately 50% rebound. If you find that a bit soft, set for 75% or conversely 25%. A lot depends on the amount of bite the carpet has. Just be sure to make them equal in front and also in back.

I run on asphalt and rubber so I set for about 25% rebound, if that gives you any idea. Sometime I want things a bit stiffer for the faster classes. but that can be tuned with springs.
Old 02-17-2014, 07:02 AM
Tech Addict

Originally Posted by TeamThibault
Carpet larger track . vta , stock 17.5, super stock 13.5, tamiya mini m-05 all rubber