Search

Schumacher MI4 CX vs Serpent 411 Eryx

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2014, 04:07 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default Schumacher MI4 CX vs Serpent 411 Eryx

Hi there,

I've been racing off road 1/10 and a little 1/8 for the last 12 months and I'm just starting to do some on road as well.

I recently picked up a Schumacher Mi4 CX that I've been running with an old LRP Spere TC spec with a hobbyking 13.5t motor. I've got a Tekin RS and an Orca 13.5 sorted, which I was planning to put into it.

I've just been offered a second hand Serpent 411 Eryx as a bare roller + I'm estimating $100-$150 worth in spares @ new prices (I don't have any spares for the Mi4 CX) and I'm trying to work out whether or not it's worth my while, or if I should just buy some spares for the MI4 (or buy another roller as a parts pig).

Changover price is looking to be about $200AUD under the assumption I can get $150 for the Mi4.

Very much open to opinion with keeping in mind I am extremely new to on road, but am so far loving it and can see myself sticking with it alongside off road for the foreseeable future.

Thanks very much

Matt.
Old 01-27-2014, 04:08 AM
Tech Fanatic

Oh, local parts availability is a moot point. The only hobby shop near me is the local toy shop and they only stock a very very limited range of traxxas and HPI spares. So I'm internet/mail order only regardless.
Old 01-27-2014, 04:25 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)

Id go with the Serpent particularly as its a current model car and still very well supported and raced by the team whereas the mi4 is an old car now and not the current model and so support may not be there. I run the Serpent and get on very well with the car and locally it is very popular. For sure given the choice I'd definitely go with the Serpent...
Old 01-27-2014, 04:36 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)