R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-18-2013, 04:01 PM   #1
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,599
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Thumbs up Tekin Hotwire App! It's here now!

That's right, download the Tekin Hotwire Android app today!



Click Here
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,KoPropUSA,JConcepts,Avid RC,MIP,SikLidz,ImagineItGraphx, FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com

Last edited by Randy_Pike; 12-18-2013 at 05:14 PM.
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 04:35 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
big al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Olympia,Wa
Posts: 1,025
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Just Downloaded! Can't wait to try it out!!

Many Thanks!
big al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 04:37 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Csaari77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,490
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

I've downloaded the app, but I'm running into a problem. As soon as I connect the hotwire, the app launches and I get a popup box stating "Android 4.2/4.3 has disabled the Hotwire". I get the option to select demo or OK but no option to enable the Hotwire. It will only go into demo mode and will not access my ESC.

I'm using the app on a Dell Venue 8 that's running stock Android 4.2.2. Any suggestions on how to solve this problem?
__________________
Half-A$$ Racing - Problem solved, problem staying solved!
Awesomatix - Serpent - Tekin - Futaba - Cooper Motorsports.
Csaari77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 04:45 PM   #4
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,660
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Csaari77 View Post
I've downloaded the app, but I'm running into a problem. As soon as I connect the hotwire, the app launches and I get a popup box stating "Android 4.2/4.3 has disabled the Hotwire". I get the option to select demo or OK but no option to enable the Hotwire. It will only go into demo mode and will not access my ESC.

I'm using the app on a Dell Venue 8 that's running stock Android 4.2. Any suggestions on how to solve this problem?
From the Google Play store page for this app:

Requirements:
-Android OS 3.1 to 4.1.2*
-Tekin HotWire (TT1450)
-Tekin Gen2 Speed Control (Rx8 Gen2, RS Gen2, RS Spec, RSX)
-USB OTG Cable (varies with device)
-HotWire App runs in Demo Mode without HotWire device

*Android OS 4.2+ has a known issue with USB connectivity. Future Android OS updates are rumored to correct this issue.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 7 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 04:45 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
SavageCanadian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kelowna BC Canada
Posts: 1,768
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to SavageCanadian
Default

Does this only work for the gen2 stuff?
__________________
CR Performance Custom RC Parts (PM for details)
Colin Roussel
2013/2014 WCICS CTA Champ
Awesomatix | Roche | Trinity/Revtech | SANWA | ORCA
SavageCanadian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 05:02 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Csaari77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,490
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
From the Google Play store page for this app:

Requirements:
-Android OS 3.1 to 4.1.2*
-Tekin HotWire (TT1450)
-Tekin Gen2 Speed Control (Rx8 Gen2, RS Gen2, RS Spec, RSX)
-USB OTG Cable (varies with device)
-HotWire App runs in Demo Mode without HotWire device

*Android OS 4.2+ has a known issue with USB connectivity. Future Android OS updates are rumored to correct this issue.
Well that's a big pile of crap on a cracker! So much for my hopes of not dragging my laptop to the track.
__________________
Half-A$$ Racing - Problem solved, problem staying solved!
Awesomatix - Serpent - Tekin - Futaba - Cooper Motorsports.
Csaari77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 05:07 PM   #7
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,599
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Csaari77 View Post
I'm using the app on a Dell Venue 8 that's running stock Android 4.2.2. Any suggestions on how to solve this problem?
The issue is the 4.2.2 AOS. As of 4.2 there's some missing "structure" for OTG cable support. Rumor is Android has a fix in 4.4. We're not the only developer fighting this issue. Stay tuned for more info when we have it.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,KoPropUSA,JConcepts,Avid RC,MIP,SikLidz,ImagineItGraphx, FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 05:07 PM   #8
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,599
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SavageCanadian View Post
Does this only work for the gen2 stuff?
Yes.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,KoPropUSA,JConcepts,Avid RC,MIP,SikLidz,ImagineItGraphx, FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 05:08 PM   #9
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,599
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Csaari77 View Post
Well that's a big pile of crap on a cracker! So much for my hopes of not dragging my laptop to the track.
You may have the option to roll back your device to 4.1 if you chose to. I realize it's not "the" best option but it's an option none the less.

What device is it?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,KoPropUSA,JConcepts,Avid RC,MIP,SikLidz,ImagineItGraphx, FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 05:11 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
Csaari77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,490
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
You may have the option to roll back your device to 4.1 if you chose to. I realize it's not "the" best option but it's an option none the less.

What device is it?
Its a Dell Venue 8. It come from the factory with 4.2.2, so I'm not sure if I can roll it back. Dell is supposed to release a 4.4 update in the near future. Hopefully that will fix the USB issue.
__________________
Half-A$$ Racing - Problem solved, problem staying solved!
Awesomatix - Serpent - Tekin - Futaba - Cooper Motorsports.
Csaari77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 05:13 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,900
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Yes.
__________________
Kyosho Inferno MP9 TKI4
TLR 22 3.0
Apex RC Proshop
inpuressa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 05:32 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,239
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Any news if coming to ios and wp8 phone users
goots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 05:42 PM   #13
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,660
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SavageCanadian View Post
Does this only work for the gen2 stuff?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Yes.
Will there ever be support for first gen RS/RS Pro? Since the Hotwire hardware itself works for both, it's strange that there is no support for the older ESCs.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 7 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 09:54 AM   #14
Team Tekin
 
TY@TEAMTEKIN's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tekin
Posts: 2,461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goots View Post
Any news if coming to ios and wp8 phone users
iOS isn't going to happen unless Apple opens up the USB host controller portion of the system. We are pretty much locked out.
__________________
Ty Campbell
TEKIN / TLR / SOR GRAPHICS / MIP / PROTEK / KALGARD / AVID
TY@TEAMTEKIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 10:17 AM   #15
Tech Addict
 
rc car guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 647
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TY@TEAMTEKIN View Post
iOS isn't going to happen unless Apple opens up the USB host controller portion of the system. We are pretty much locked out.
oh boy just another reason i dislike apple thanks apple for making me want an android even more
rc car guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:01 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net