R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-31-2013, 10:53 AM   #61
Tech Addict
 
Wade....'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: St. Paul
Posts: 565
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

This is awesome! Thanks Tekin for listening to the customers! Also looking forward to gen1 support.
__________________
Wade Huesman, TCORC Secretary/Pencil Pusher
Wade.... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 02:12 AM   #62
Tech Fanatic
 
oldrcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 761
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by viet View Post
Android isn't going anywhere. Have you seen Galaxy S3/4 sales? Get out of here Apple fanboy!
Actually as someone who programs, my comments have more to do with how the evolution of different operating systems have occurred in many years of being around them. Having worked mainly with assembly language to keep code tight and working efficiently for small embedded devices, I am not pushing the Apple Platform any more or less than the Android platform. I hope Tekin is able to use any of them since I like to use Tekin equipment. Please don't base quality of a programming language on sales of hardware, especially since there are a lot of games being played to get it into use. Too complex an argument for here. Just happy to see Tekin improving racing for all of us. Thanks Tekin.
__________________
Alxd - Seattle RC Racers - AWESOMATIX - Having Fun :-)
oldrcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 02:20 AM   #63
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 382
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Back on subject, I bought a very cheap "GDiPPO" model number ceo401w

It shipped with os 4.1.1 and the otg was in the box and the app worked with no problems

Ed
Edwin Pibal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 11:36 AM   #64
Tech Champion
 
snoopyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tunnel Hill GA
Posts: 5,043
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I managed to get the Tekin HW onto the kindle fire HD. My RS and RS Pro are both gen 1 so I won't be testing it until G1 support comes out or when I get my spec RS.
__________________
www.battlefieldraceway.com Racing videos at http://www.youtube.com/snoopyrc
snoopyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 12:30 PM   #65
Tech Addict
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

At the moment my biggest stumbling block is the Samsung S4 I have. Its on 4.3 and seems to be blocking the USB. The OTG fires up perfect for memory devices. TBH I'm getting sick of being stuck with a carrier and their BS. Next stop a SIM free Nexus or root the G4 to Cyanogen or something so it will actually be useful

Last edited by hana166; 01-01-2014 at 12:52 PM.
hana166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 01:04 PM   #66
Tech Adept
 
rramjet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Everett WA in the Summer Mesa AZ in the Winter
Posts: 116
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Great work Tekin.

It seems to me that phones running Windows 8, (there are few), should be able to handle the normal Tekin App. Am I missing something? Maybe they won't with the RT version.
rramjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 01:15 PM   #67
Tech Addict
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rramjet View Post
Great work Tekin.

It seems to me that phones running Windows 8, (there are few), should be able to handle the normal Tekin App. Am I missing something? Maybe they won't with the RT version.
I'd be interested to know the answer to that question also. Seriously considering a Lumia
hana166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 02:14 PM   #68
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,239
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hana166 View Post
I'd be interested to know the answer to that question also. Seriously considering a Lumia
I have a htc 8X and would love for this app to work on it. Does the hotwire app show the data logging to? I'm going to step out today to find a cheap tablet and otg cable dedicated just for the pits
goots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 11:27 AM   #69
Tech Regular
 
Barry_Hughes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ipswich, England
Posts: 425
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goots View Post
I have a htc 8X and would love for this app to work on it. Does the hotwire app show the data logging to? I'm going to step out today to find a cheap tablet and otg cable dedicated just for the pits
NO data logging option that I can see on my Samsung Tablet ruuning the app.

I have just bought a 10.1" netbook running windows 8 that runs with the normal program so I have it all
__________________
Built it !
Raced it !
Wrecked it !
Barry_Hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 01:42 PM   #70
Tech Addict
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

It looks like win8 phones won't be able to run it for the same reason as apple. Its android but only up to 4.1. Google have done something and it won't work on 4.2 or 4.3 so in effect all the large corporations have blocked it.
hana166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 01:54 PM   #71
Tech Elite
 
theproffesor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lugoff SC
Posts: 2,723
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Well glad I opted for the free galaxy 3 instead of getti g the newer fancy 4. It works great. So easy to use. As far as data logging it would be nice, but I am sure that is a huge programing issue. Ill just down load at home at the end the day and use that info for the next race.
__________________
Associated - Fantom - Savox - Hobbywing - Spectrum.
The brighter the picture, the darker the negative. USVTA member #112
theproffesor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 12:24 PM   #72
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,593
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rramjet View Post
Great work Tekin.

It seems to me that phones running Windows 8, (there are few), should be able to handle the normal Tekin App. Am I missing something? Maybe they won't with the RT version.
We haven't tested on a Win phone but I can tell you Win RT is missing some requirements and will not run the application.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,KoPropUSA,JConcepts,Avid RC,MIP,SikLidz,ImagineItGraphx, FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 01:02 PM   #73
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 343
Default

Hi, Randy.

For a long time I used the 212 software no issues, now a changed to 223 software and i have a problem (RS Pro).
When I switched of the dual mode and used the sensor mode only, and push apply its stay in dual mode while in version 212 you can switch it on or off and no problem, could this a software mistake or must I stay in version 212.
Hoped to see your reaction, and if no reaction I stay in 212.

Thanks
eded1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 02:21 PM   #74
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

I wasnt expecting a gen 1 RS/Pro support for the app.

But if it comes then kudos to Tekin for supporting their fanbase!

I will get a cable for my Sony Xperia S as and when gen 1 officially gets app support
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 02:51 PM   #75
Tech Elite
 
tksnobords's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: N-Dub
Posts: 2,706
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tksnobords
Default

I received my OTG Cable today. I plugged it into my Samsung Note II and it powered up my RX8 Gen1 but wouldn't populate any of the settings. So looks like it will work when the app offers Gen1 support. I can't wait for the Gen1 support. Thanks Tekin, you guys are awesome!
__________________
Check Out My YouTube @ www.YouTube.com/tksnobords

Pure-Tech Products - Best Velcro On The Market
www.facebook.com/pages/PureTech-Products/94999677710
tksnobords is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:58 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net