Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Motor tuning for a newbie........ >

Motor tuning for a newbie........

Motor tuning for a newbie........

Old 07-09-2005, 06:46 PM
Tech Apprentice

Default Motor tuning for a newbie........

Have read a couple of posts, and would like to know more about engine tuning. Due to a recent health diagnosis (need a kidney transplant) I am unable to do things like before(like race go karts, lift heavy things), and I'm only 23. I would like to get back into R/C and race Dirt Oval. I would also like to do my own motors. I'm new at this especially, and dont even know all of the terminology of the electric motors just yet. Any tutorials, or guides would be great, or basically instructions This is something I would love to learn, and get good at. What kinda tools would I need, whats inside an electric motor(proper terminology)?????? Any help would be great guys, I can build a Briggs, and an OHV engine , so this couldnt be that hard to learn, not to mention, I build Cummins Turbo Diesels everyday at work.
Old 07-09-2005, 07:00 PM
Tech Elite

Try this for stock motors. Since you're new, I'm assuming that's what you'll be running. Good luck.
http://www.motortuningsecrets.com/tunestockmotor.html
Old 07-09-2005, 07:34 PM
Tech Apprentice

Default Thanks

That was a great article, no if I could just understand as to why you have to do some of these steps, and which tools I would need, or should I say where to get them(like a lathe) I would be good to go. Great Link, thanks again
Old 07-09-2005, 08:38 PM
Tech Fanatic

Dave you can get all of the materials and tools you need for motor tuning at about any of the main online hobby shops,Speedtech probably has everything you need.don't know how deep your pockets are but get hudy lathes and tools if possible they are of a very high quality and you won't need to replace them, ever probably.I'm still using wrenches I bought 10 +years ago.
Old 07-09-2005, 10:39 PM
Tech Master