R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-13-2014, 03:59 PM   #361
Tech Addict
 
mtbboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winnipeg. Igloo. Hockey. Beer.
Posts: 715
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc car guy View Post
For my track the car has too much traction with jaco blues and kevens set up unfortunately but its a great starting point if only it was on a 6.2 set up sheet
What is it that you feel the new setup sheet will aid you in?
__________________
Team Associated Reedy factory team driver.
B5M Factory lite $ B44.3 Factory $ TC6.2 $ RC12R 5.1
Reedy 410 Speedos $ Reedy Mach Series motors
204 Raceway Winnipeg 1/10-1/8 Offroad. Owner.
mtbboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 04:10 PM   #362
Tech Addict
 
rc car guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 647
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbboy View Post
What is it that you feel the new setup sheet will aid you in?
It will at least tell me I have everything in the right position for the ackerman its not really spesified it would just be a lot better and easier to follow
rc car guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 04:26 PM   #363
Tech Champion
 
DARKSIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nashville-Memphis
Posts: 7,670
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

He is going to repost it under tc6.2
__________________
Myron "BATTMAN" Kinnard
Team Associated/Reedy Powered/PROTOform/RockStar Paint, LLC
THUNDER JAM IX Snowbirds Warm-up
January 21, 2017 Thunder RC Raceway
http://events.rcsignup.com/events/displayEvent.cfm?id=5313
DARKSIDE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 04:29 PM   #364
Tech Addict
 
mtbboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winnipeg. Igloo. Hockey. Beer.
Posts: 715
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Kool.
Just curious.

Ackerman is .5mm on a short ball stud.
__________________
Team Associated Reedy factory team driver.
B5M Factory lite $ B44.3 Factory $ TC6.2 $ RC12R 5.1
Reedy 410 Speedos $ Reedy Mach Series motors
204 Raceway Winnipeg 1/10-1/8 Offroad. Owner.
mtbboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 11:35 AM   #365
Tech Regular
 
Adonis_mp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 371
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

what would be the best way to tape the battery to this car, use the mounts or tape it to the chassi? if using the mounts, why not use velcro?
__________________
I have Job Security, nobody wants my Job!!!!!
Losi 22-4 - MMP - Tekin Gen2 5.5 * Losi SCTE - RX8 - Tekin Pro4 4600 * 22SCT - MMP - Tekin Redline Gen2 6.5T * Losi 22B 2.0 - Tekin RS - Novak 8.5T * TC6.2 * TC6.1 VTA * Wraith - CC Sidewinder - HH TorqueMaster 35T * E-max - Rustler - Slash - 1/16 Revo
Adonis_mp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 01:57 PM   #366
Tech Champion
 
John Tag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 8,911
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madulla View Post
I broke my servo (stripped gear) first run with the stock horn. I also run the larger RSD bumper. I put a large Kimbrough saver on and have the same lack of throw problem. I can only get 20 degrees, not the 27 I am looking for. I will have to do some more testing.

Also both cars at our club had extreme traction roll problems. I was running Kevin's setup, the other guy a completely different stock one. Any ideas to tame the extra steering with the car ?
With AE servo saver..2mm Ackerman spacer(1mm added to stock set up) I'm able to get 30* at each wheel if needed. That's using the smaller servo shim with Spektrum 6070 servo.
__________________
www.express-motorsports.net for all your motor needs
Multi time National Champions,Reedy Champs,Vegas Champs,Birds, Champs,Tagstime@hotmail.com

Team Associated-Express Motorsports-Trinity-Reflex Racing-A Main Hobbies-ProtekRC
John Tag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 02:08 PM   #367
Tech Addict
 
rc car guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 647
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adonis_mp View Post
what would be the best way to tape the battery to this car, use the mounts or tape it to the chassi? if using the mounts, why not use velcro?
The 6.2 doenst allow you to tape it to the chassis you have to use the mounts as for the tape vs velcro I would imagine the tape held it in a bit better and is a few grams lighter and maybe has something to do with thr chassis flex but im not entirely sure we could tell the difference between the two for chassis flex for the velcro using the stock battery miunts you would need a fairly narrow velcro strap have only seen the wides ones being used or cut a thicker one to fit
rc car guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 05:11 PM   #368
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,591
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adonis_mp View Post
what would be the best way to tape the battery to this car, use the mounts or tape it to the chassi? if using the mounts, why not use velcro?
I have found the tape to be the most reliable method. It sticks to the battery which doesn't require so much tension to keep the battery in place.
__________________
R-Factor RC Products
AE- TC6.1WC, TC6.2, RSD6, B5M
CRC- GenX10 WGT & Pro10 Prototype, WTF1, Xti 1/12
R-Factor RC- TC4-R, P8 PanCar
Not as Fast as I want to be but too old to Whine about it... 8-)
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 07:18 PM   #369
AE-Reedy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 751
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If you use a good quality tape you can reuse the tape over and over.
I use 3m and have had the same piece in the car for 3 track days.
Sean Cochran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 07:43 PM   #370
Tech Champion
 
John Tag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 8,911
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

You can also try Reflex Racing X Ray battery hold downs.
Attached Thumbnails
Team Associated TC6.2 Touring Car-tags-ride.jpg  
__________________
www.express-motorsports.net for all your motor needs
Multi time National Champions,Reedy Champs,Vegas Champs,Birds, Champs,Tagstime@hotmail.com

Team Associated-Express Motorsports-Trinity-Reflex Racing-A Main Hobbies-ProtekRC
John Tag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 09:27 PM   #371
Tech Addict
 
rc car guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 647
Default

question? are there any upgrade parts other than ae site, for the 6.2?

in particular im looking for longer front body mounts i mount my body as high as it could go then added 2mm of shims under it and i still had to cut the front of the body pretty short, i am running the mazda speed 6 with a stiffer set up than kevens on ae site

Last edited by rc car guy; 01-14-2014 at 09:54 PM.
rc car guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 09:27 PM   #372
Tech Fanatic
 
rc pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Airdire, AB, Canada
Posts: 756
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I broke a set of servo gears as well after tapping a board on my 2nd run with the car.

Solved that by:
- replacing it with a full metal low profile servo. I had the XPert on hand: http://www.xpert-rc.com/product_view...area=2&dcat=83
- adding some flex into the servo mounting. First make sure you get the bottom steering post screws tight, then take out the top 2 screws from the steering posts which will give the servo mount just a bit of flex when you do have impact. Next, mount the servo on the rubber grommets (most servos come with those) to again give it a little give. Note: you have to use slightly longer screws with the grommets.

Done! Worked great for me all weekend running the standard 6.2 (1/8 scale) servo horn with all of the steering you need.
This setup probably still provides a more direct steering feel than a servo saver, which can really soften that up.
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy - Pro-Line - RC Depot - OS Engines - 110% Racing - LD Graphics
rc pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 11:24 PM   #373
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bendigo
Posts: 146
Default

Can anyone help, what is with the 1mm vent hole in the shock caps ??
Can someone put up a photo please
__________
TC6.1 WC TEKIN THUNDERPOWER
TC6.2
SPEKTRUM
SAVOX
onroad racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 04:29 AM   #374
Tech Champion
 
John Tag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 8,911
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc car guy View Post
question? are there any upgrade parts other than ae site, for the 6.2?

in particular im looking for longer front body mounts i mount my body as high as it could go then added 2mm of shims under it and i still had to cut the front of the body pretty short, i am running the mazda speed 6 with a stiffer set up than kevens on ae site
Sounds like your body is really to high. Front should be 4th hole up and rear 3rd hole up in body mount hinge location on Speed 6. LTC Front 1 down..Then is running a GX those are 1 down in rear from Speed 6 settings.. I actually had to cut my mounts.
__________________
www.express-motorsports.net for all your motor needs
Multi time National Champions,Reedy Champs,Vegas Champs,Birds, Champs,Tagstime@hotmail.com

Team Associated-Express Motorsports-Trinity-Reflex Racing-A Main Hobbies-ProtekRC
John Tag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 07:04 AM   #375
Tech Addict
 
rc car guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 647
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Tag View Post
Sounds like your body is really to high. Front should be 4th hole up and rear 3rd hole up in body mount hinge location on Speed 6. LTC Front 1 down..Then is running a GX those are 1 down in rear from Speed 6 settings.. I actually had to cut my mounts.
You cut the body on the lines where your suppose to cut it? And yes its really high... but it barelly clears stuff I butched the first body but I have a replacement coming but even with the body mounted all the wayat the top its not really tall my rear body posts can go up like 6 holes maybe I got the wrong front body posts?

As fof the hole in the shock cap it allows the air above the bladder to escape and makes the car more consistent is what im told from the experienced tc guys
rc car guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:20 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0