R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-09-2015, 09:37 AM   #2131
Tech Addict
 
Bubblehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portsmouth, VA
Posts: 705
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3srcracing View Post
So I'm running the Tc6.1, but I was wondering. Still trying to figure out my car, but it's so loose. I think it's the wrong tires(asking what kind we need currently), but still it should be decent.

Running #2 piston w/ 37.5wt all the way around, no idea what rate (springs are silver). Front end seems really god with plenty of steering and traction, but the rear end slides out easy, and seems to have little to no traction. Tried moving in the shocks 2 holes on the shock tower, helped but still was pretty bad.

Spool in the front, gear diff in the rear. I only have 3000wt oil, should I run that or keep whats in it(no idea whats in it), or what shock oil should I have (got 25-37.5, and 80wt).

Was trying 28sweeps "stiff" wheel, and no gusta.

Thanks in advance.
What is your droop front/rear?
Bubblehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2015, 03:15 PM   #2132
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,652
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3srcracing View Post
So I'm running the Tc6.1, but I was wondering. Still trying to figure out my car, but it's so loose. I think it's the wrong tires(asking what kind we need currently), but still it should be decent.

Running #2 piston w/ 37.5wt all the way around, no idea what rate (springs are silver). Front end seems really god with plenty of steering and traction, but the rear end slides out easy, and seems to have little to no traction. Tried moving in the shocks 2 holes on the shock tower, helped but still was pretty bad.

Spool in the front, gear diff in the rear. I only have 3000wt oil, should I run that or keep whats in it(no idea whats in it), or what shock oil should I have (got 25-37.5, and 80wt).

Was trying 28sweeps "stiff" wheel, and no gusta.

Thanks in advance.
Could you provide your complete setup including your intended class? At what point does the rear break loose... corner entry, mid corner or corner exit?
A common thing I see a lot is incorrect droop settings are causing the suspension to be too locked down and introducing strange problems. Now that we know your shock and diff setup, we need to know where all of your other setting are at, along with track conditions. Now, the reason you have good steering is because your rear is loose so we just need to find a balance to make the car work well on both ends. You will lose some steering with a fix but the car will be more predictable.
Something you can try just for S&G... back out all 4 droop screws so that they don't touch the chassis when you suspend the car off your table. Put the car on the track and see what happens. If it's suddenly drivable, droop was you primary problem. Go back and reset your droop screws according to the manual. If your arms won't hang low enough to get the droop settings you require, simply unscrew the lower eyelets 1 full turn on each shock shaft equally as this will give you more potential droop. It's always a good idea to measure the length of each shock from the top of the eyelet shaft to the bottom of the Shock body to be sure they are all the same length.

The stock Diff oil is 40wt shock oil I think. If you are running a stock class, the 80wt is not a bad choice but the 3000cst may be too stiff unless you are running Mod. With a well balanced car, the tires won't be so critical.
__________________
R-Factor RC Products
AE- TC6.1WC, TC6.2, RSD6, B5M
CRC- GenX10 WGT & Pro10 Prototype, WTF1, Xti 1/12
R-Factor RC- TC4-R, P8 PanCar
Not as Fast as I want to be but too old to Whine about it... 8-)
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 11:55 AM   #2133
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,456
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

Chris has had his camera phone out and taken some videos of certain aspects of his car - might be of interest to some people.

http://www.cmldistribution.co.uk/rc-...ips/0000002655
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 02:37 PM   #2134
AE-Reedy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 778
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattW View Post
Chris has had his camera phone out and taken some videos of certain aspects of his car - might be of interest to some people.

http://www.cmldistribution.co.uk/rc-...ips/0000002655
Thanks for the link
Sean Cochran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 03:30 PM   #2135
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,452
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

I tried to search and I never have luck getting the results I need so I'm going to have to be that guy and ask...

Trading my X1 for a 6.2 because USGT is the biggest class and F1 is almost non-existent.

I'm a decent driver but out track has a big wall at the end of the straightaway leading into the sweeper and if you clip the pipe you end up smacking it wide ass open.

Other than some arms, caster blocks, and hubs is there anything else I should look into ordering for spares?

I've seen some posts about running TC4 rear arms but would like to run the car for a week or two so I can get a feel for it with the factory setup.

Maybe just do the Reflex RC suspension conversion rather than getting spares...
__________________
If you build it I will break it!
EB48.4 - B6 - B64 - TC7.1 - F6
iTz Nicholas72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 03:54 PM   #2136
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iTz Nicholas72 View Post
I tried to search and I never have luck getting the results I need so I'm going to have to be that guy and ask...

Trading my X1 for a 6.2 because USGT is the biggest class and F1 is almost non-existent.

I'm a decent driver but out track has a big wall at the end of the straightaway leading into the sweeper and if you clip the pipe you end up smacking it wide ass open.

Other than some arms, caster blocks, and hubs is there anything else I should look into ordering for spares?

I've seen some posts about running TC4 rear arms but would like to run the car for a week or two so I can get a feel for it with the factory setup.

Maybe just do the Reflex RC suspension conversion rather than getting spares...
I would suggest carrying a rear shock tower and one each shock tower mount(bearing cap. It wouldn't hurt to have a couple of spare shock tops.

These items can break or bend if you hit the wall backwards.
__________________
www.reedypower.com
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2015, 07:55 AM   #2137
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Regina, Canada
Posts: 180
Default

I bought the reflex rsd arms, they are supposed to be similar to the TC4 arms.

I am supposed to shim these arms and my question is what size do I shim them too.

I figured out the best way is to measure the width of the stock setup with the recommended shims, 2mm back, 1mm front.
This gives I figured about 41.8 mm for the front arms (I haven't done the back yet)

The new arms are 32.36 mm without shim so the difference is 9.44mm

If you try to eye ball it and position the new arms parallel to the old arm you get about 6mm rear of arm and 3.5 mm front.
This first try binded somewhat so I went to 6mm rear of arm and 3mm front which is smooth but gives some slop but no more than the original front. I figure I can put a .1 mm shim tonight and it should be gold. It looks like the drive cup is in the same spot as the original arm as I left one AE arm on for comparison.

Is the 6/3 a good idea with a tiny slop?, what are the pros doing; if the shimming puts the arm at a slightly different spot further back or front on the chassis matter? I race on carpet if that matters.
__________________
TC7 Tamiya Mini M05 Motiv 17.5 R1Wurks 21.5 FUTABA
irvinew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2015, 08:22 AM   #2138
Tech Elite
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,795
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Typically, I add 3mm on the Front and Rear from stock spacing and I adjust from there.
__________________
REFLEX RACING/ RSD/ GIZMO RACING USA/ HOBBYWING/ AXON/ QTEQ/ TEAM PRIME
CristianTabush is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2015, 09:31 AM   #2139
Tech Fanatic
 
Skip109's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Wisconsin via Illinois
Posts: 843
Default TC4 arms

So what do the TC4 / RSD arms in rear do. Are they shorter?
Skip109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2015, 12:50 PM   #2140
Tech Master
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,227
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Not sure about the length (I remember them to be shorter), but the effect is that the rear stays very planted, while the car rotates much better.
__________________
/// CAUTION: Rogue robot \\\
wtcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2015, 11:27 PM   #2141
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 43
Default setup

You can find a new setup of Grainger with TC5 front arm and TC4 rear arm on CML distribution UK or petitrc.

Thank a lot CML, .....it is the first official driver setup since the Reedy race of 2014 ....!

Help a lot.

Fred
fredB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2015, 05:52 AM   #2142
Tech Fanatic
 
Castradamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Qboro / Columbus, IN
Posts: 859
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fredB View Post
You can find a new setup of Grainger with TC5 front arm and TC4 rear arm on CML distribution UK or petitrc.

Thank a lot CML, .....it is the first official driver setup since the Reedy race of 2014 ....!

Help a lot.

Fred
Actually the sheet says TC6 front arms and TC4 Rear.
__________________
Destiny | Xenon USA | Speedzone | High Velocity RC | TQ Wire | dIgItS pAiNt

He who is not courageous enough to take risks will accomplish nothing in life. - Muhammad Ali
Castradamus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2015, 06:09 AM   #2143
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,456
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

Which would be because the TC5 and TC6 use the same front arm.........
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2015, 06:54 AM   #2144
Tech Fanatic
 
Castradamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Qboro / Columbus, IN
Posts: 859
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

TC6.2 are not the same. TC6.2 arm has more clearance for the TC6.2 Caster block and I believe it is a shorter distance from the inner pin to the outer pin. This is the reason that most people have been change the arms. I run TC5 arms on the front of my car and I had to dremel the bottom rear of a TC6 caster block in order for it to fit and maintain the full movement in the suspension travel.
__________________
Destiny | Xenon USA | Speedzone | High Velocity RC | TQ Wire | dIgItS pAiNt

He who is not courageous enough to take risks will accomplish nothing in life. - Muhammad Ali

Last edited by Castradamus; 06-18-2015 at 12:23 PM. Reason: Clarification
Castradamus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2015, 07:34 AM   #2145
Tech Master
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,227
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Don't mix up the TC5/6 parts with the TC6.1.
__________________
/// CAUTION: Rogue robot \\\
wtcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:47 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net