R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree34Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-11-2016, 11:55 AM   #1351
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PHI2 View Post
Hey guys. I justgot the new front moulded wing(ets) for my x1. What size bolts did you use to mount it?
Thanks
I have the ETS approved adjustable front aero wing (XRay part #371202) if that's the one you're referring to. I haven't mounted it yet but reckon M4x20 countersunk screws will be needed.
atg849 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 01:22 AM   #1352
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 240
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by atg849 View Post
I have the ETS approved adjustable front aero wing (XRay part #371202) if that's the one you're referring to. I haven't mounted it yet but reckon M4x20 countersunk screws will be needed.
That's it thanks
__________________
XRAY T14
www.wingsoverthedowns.com.au
PHI2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2016, 03:25 AM   #1353
Tech Addict
 
acutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 507
Default

Guys building a X-ray X1 16 for low grip outdoor racing and was wondering if the 2mm optional chassis would be a better starting point than the kit 2.5?

Also do you seal only the chassis with CA glue or is it worth doing the upper deck parts and suspension arms as well?
acutts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2016, 08:38 AM   #1354
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,508
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by acutts View Post
Guys building a X-ray X1 16 for low grip outdoor racing and was wondering if the 2mm optional chassis would be a better starting point than the kit 2.5?

Also do you seal only the chassis with CA glue or is it worth doing the upper deck parts and suspension arms as well?
Yes it will help especially if the track in not sprayed/prepped with a traction additive, but I don't think it's necessary. You can make the stock chassis work under the same conditions.
__________________
Team I'm Over It
racenut123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2016, 07:30 AM   #1355
Tech Initiate
 
Toyota Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 39
Default No body in the x1 2016

Just picked up a Xray x1 16. No body was in the kit. Is there supposed to be?
__________________
SoCal
P12/17
M-07
Toyota Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2016, 07:47 AM   #1356
Tech Champion
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,466
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toyota Tom View Post
Just picked up a Xray x1 16. No body was in the kit. Is there supposed to be?
separate from kit box, mine was shipped in a big box, chassis in kit box and body just bubble wrapped.
I posted the same thing, "where's my body?" then I checked the shipping box.

BTW, I'm a Toyota guy too, I wrench their forklifts as a road tech.
__________________
Craig Hammon
F N CUDA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2016, 09:04 AM   #1357
Tech Initiate
 
Toyota Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 39
Default

bought mine yesterday from Sean at TQ. I'll have to ask him about the body.
I was bugging you at the last winter series race about your set up. Been a 1/12
scale racer forever (almost). One more question, what caster do you run at TQ?

Tom
__________________
SoCal
P12/17
M-07
Toyota Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2016, 01:07 PM   #1358
Tech Champion
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,466
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

I think I'm at 3* caster, if not it's 6*
__________________
Craig Hammon
F N CUDA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2016, 02:12 PM   #1359
Tech Adept
 
theflyingrc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 207
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Congratulations to Jan Ratheisky (Xray X1) for winning the 2nd round ETS F1 in Germany .... Hands up!!!
theflyingrc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2016, 06:13 PM   #1360
Tech Adept
 
RoyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Manteca. CA
Posts: 208
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I have a 15 X1 with Tamiya tube. Would there be any benefit to add the new braces and using 2 Tamiya tubes?
RoyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2016, 07:18 PM   #1361
Tech Elite
 
ta04evah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,612
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I've been reading that some people have been replacing the small side shock in the X1 '15 with a Tamiya damper tube.
The small Xray shock is one of the easiest shocks I have ever built, and can usually change the oil in the shock in around 10-15 minutes, and have no air bubbles.

Is there an advantage changing to a a damper tube, and what are the advantages?
I use a Tamiya damper tube on a F113, because the small shock in that was difficult to build without getting air bubbles, and leaked oil no matter what I done to it.

The track I race on is a low grip "painted asphalt" surface, and we use Shimizu soft's front & rear.
If I changed to a damper tube, what weight oil would be good to start with? I use 350cst oil in the small shock atm.

Cheers
__________________
Castle Hill RC On Road Facebook https://www.facebook.com/groups/121817254587521/
FatBear RC Videos https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjiAhwa-rk5Vas2rv5IBD4A
ta04evah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2016, 07:31 PM   #1362
Dan
Tech Elite
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,339
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Takes me only 2-3 minutes to switch to different grease on my Tamiya tube. If you can build the shock consistently all the time, then more power to you.

I just feel the damper tube is a lot easier to be more consistent and quicker to change settings. I use the Tamiya soft and medium damper grease. Rarely will I use the hard grease.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2016, 07:39 PM   #1363
Tech Elite
 
ta04evah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,612
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
Takes me only 2-3 minutes to switch to different grease on my Tamiya tube. If you can build the shock consistently all the time, then more power to you.

I just feel the damper tube is a lot easier to be more consistent and quicker to change settings. I use the Tamiya soft and medium damper grease. Rarely will I use the hard grease.
Thanks for your reply, and yes the tube is quicker to change grease/oil.
I just follow the instructions in the manual for the small shock, and 99% of the time it works, but it can get messy with the excess oil coming out.

Cheers
__________________
Castle Hill RC On Road Facebook https://www.facebook.com/groups/121817254587521/
FatBear RC Videos https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjiAhwa-rk5Vas2rv5IBD4A
ta04evah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2016, 08:44 PM   #1364
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,508
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

The guy winning at your track Roy has one tamiya tube.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyB View Post
I have a 15 X1 with Tamiya tube. Would there be any benefit to add the new braces and using 2 Tamiya tubes?
__________________
Team I'm Over It
racenut123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2016, 09:09 PM   #1365
Tech Elite
 
ta04evah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,612
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Just finished changing mine to the Tamiya tube.
I used 3 Racing ball cups, & ball studs which sit at the same height as the Xray ones, (Xray had spaces under ball studs).
Will see how the car performs at my track tomorrow night.
__________________
Castle Hill RC On Road Facebook https://www.facebook.com/groups/121817254587521/
FatBear RC Videos https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjiAhwa-rk5Vas2rv5IBD4A
ta04evah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:09 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net