R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree8Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-14-2017, 02:34 PM   #556
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 19
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serzoni View Post
Don't use the upper section of the wing, and for the body post just use the post and longer screw that comes with the body.
Do you happen to have a picture?
russellnyg745 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2017, 07:44 PM   #557
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 839
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by russellnyg745 View Post
Do you happen to have a picture?
http://racepf.com/images/howtos/F1-A...Insert-web.pdf
Serzoni is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2017, 08:07 PM   #558
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,546
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blues Hockey View Post
I am just getting back into the on road racing after years away from it. I bought a new CRC F1 car and I am trying to figure out where the front suspension mount shims need to go. I am using a protoform front wing and the wing is way to tall to fit under the suspension mount as shown. I assume that I will have to dremel the front wing but do I need to run both suspension mount shims? If so, where do they go? On top of the carbon fiber? Thanks in advance for any healp.
The suspension mount shims control ride height, but you may also use them to change the height of the upper arms as well.

Ride height - under the entire front end assembly

Upper arm angle - on top of the carbon fiber, under the upper arm mount
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2017, 09:27 PM   #559
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 170
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Thank you sir.
Blues Hockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 08:08 PM   #560
Tech Elite
 
TT_Vert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Streamwood, IL.
Posts: 3,972
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

Can someone explain what "micro" servos fit in the laydown position on this? I don't have one yet but doing my research on them. Is the change in center of gravity significant enough to ensue I do this or is it more of a tuning thing? I'd think if it was better on all surfaces then they would be designed that way. Perhaps it was a packaging thing?

Dave
TT_Vert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 04:09 PM   #561
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 984
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Personal Message

There is a PM in the mailbox for Blues Hockey
davidl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 08:35 AM   #562
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 839
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TT_Vert View Post
Can someone explain what "micro" servos fit in the laydown position on this? I don't have one yet but doing my research on them. Is the change in center of gravity significant enough to ensue I do this or is it more of a tuning thing? I'd think if it was better on all surfaces then they would be designed that way. Perhaps it was a packaging thing?

Dave
I think it's more of a "we use this servo in our 12th scales and WGTs, so let's use it in the F1" thing. If you look at the team drivers cars, most have moved to using shorty servos in the upright position. When I looked at the Sanwa servo, I couldn't find one anywhere in the states.
Serzoni is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 08:40 AM   #563
Tech Elite
 
TT_Vert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Streamwood, IL.
Posts: 3,972
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

Ok so the typical position is the SOP as of now then. I don't currently have this car, can you tell me the max servo dimensions that'll fit in this thing? Shockingly the manual only states one servo that they state can be screwed in on page 8 but nothing on servo maximum dimensions or the like.

Quote:
If installing an Airtronics/Sanwa 94761 or SRGHR, then no graphite plates or aluminum mounts are needed. Bolt down the servo to these two holes.
.

Thanks
Dave
TT_Vert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 11:33 AM   #564
Tech Elite
 
TT_Vert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Streamwood, IL.
Posts: 3,972
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

After doing some research I'm having issues finding a setup station for this. The vendors I speak to say theirs won't work w/ F1 kits. Is there one out there that works?

Thanks
Dave
TT_Vert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 11:39 AM   #565
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,140
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default

Most any made for a Pan Car. Here is a cheap one.

https://hobbyking.com/en_us/tracksta...up-system.html
Chris Furman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 11:40 AM   #566
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,168
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TT_Vert View Post
After doing some research I'm having issues finding a setup station for this. The vendors I speak to say theirs won't work w/ F1 kits. Is there one out there that works?

Thanks
Dave
I use the Hudy Setup Station for Pan Cars for F1, WGT and WGT-R. A used one should go for around $75.

The Hobbyking one above looks acceptable.

Bill
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 11:42 AM   #567
Tech Elite
 
TT_Vert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Streamwood, IL.
Posts: 3,972
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

Forgive my ignorance. I thought these required 12mm hex hubs not bearing in wheel? Maybe there is a different kit for Touring car and Pan car?? At least the HUDY and YR ones.

Dave
TT_Vert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 11:45 AM   #568
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,168
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TT_Vert View Post
Forgive my ignorance. I thought these required 12mm hex hubs not bearing in wheel?? At least the HUDY and YR ones.
Dave
All are bearing in wheel and just go on the front end of the car.

Bill
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 11:45 AM   #569
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,140
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TT_Vert View Post
Forgive my ignorance. I thought these required 12mm hex hubs not bearing in wheel?? At least the HUDY and YR ones.
Dave

No, for the PAN CAR versions, its requires you to install bearings.
Chris Furman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 11:51 AM   #570
Tech Elite
 
TT_Vert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Streamwood, IL.
Posts: 3,972
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

Ok great thanks. So there appear to be different kits which have different machining for pancar and touring car wheel retention designs..
TT_Vert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:11 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net