R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-02-2013, 08:07 AM   #16
Tech Master
 
yokemad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,150
Default

yokemad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 08:18 AM   #17
Tech Elite
 
mkiiina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Frisco TX
Posts: 2,316
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the visual! It looks like the arms could be ground down a little (or spacers removed depending on your setup) on the front to work with the older cars. Looks like you could even retrofit the stiffeners over....
mkiiina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 08:19 AM   #18
Tech Elite
 
mkiiina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Frisco TX
Posts: 2,316
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
2mm longer front to rear....not in hinge pin to hinge pin length. Look at the picture. You can see the part where the inner hinge is is longer. The suspension mounts were moved farther apart and instead of having to use 4mm of shims on the hinge pin they made the arm thicker in this area.

EA
Yup I see that now thanks to yoke's post.
mkiiina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 08:21 AM   #19
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yokemad View Post
I see what you mean (didn't notice that when I originally looked at the picture )
Could still use old arms though, just add 2mm of shims.

Pity the pivot pins aren't the same.

I bought some as spares when I first moved over to Xray (just before the '008 came out) and I've used.... one!
__________________
Xray T4'16, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2016
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RD Disco
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 08:30 AM   #20
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,049
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Interesting, so that top deck that showed up on RCMARKET must be some option part? Presumably there's some corresponding mount that attaches somewhere in front of the motor?



Edit: "Top deck allows installation of optional aluminum stand which changes the car’s flex characteristics."

Doesn't look like the stock top deck allows for that unless I'm missing it in the pics.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 08:32 AM   #21
Tech Master
 
yokemad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
I see what you mean (didn't notice that when I originally looked at the picture )
Could still use old arms though, just add 2mm of shims.

Pity the pivot pins aren't the same.

I bought some as spares when I first moved over to Xray (just before the '008 came out) and I've used.... one!
True but you know those new arms has some Screw holes for CF Arm Stiffener parts
But on the other hand it might me a marketing gimmick which we will never gonna use
yokemad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 08:34 AM   #22
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 8,864
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
I see what you mean (didn't notice that when I originally looked at the picture )
Could still use old arms though, just add 2mm of shims.

Pity the pivot pins aren't the same.

I bought some as spares when I first moved over to Xray (just before the '008 came out) and I've used.... one!
Yes you can use the old arms. Just add a 2mm shim. That's the only difference other than the holes. No geometry differences.

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Interesting, so that top deck that showed up on RCMARKET must be some option part? Presumably there's some corresponding mount that attaches somewhere in front of the motor?

That's the top deck that comes with the car with that weird open hole in the back for the standoff or belt tensioner.
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | Apex RC | ProSpec America | Killer Concepts | AVID | Futaba.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 08:34 AM   #23
Tech Master
 
yokemad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Interesting, so that top deck that showed up on RCMARKET must be some option part? Presumably there's some corresponding mount that attaches somewhere in front of the motor?

if you remove some screws from top deck you can use a post like the way on Yokomo Bd7 ...
yokemad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 08:36 AM   #24
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 8,864
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yokemad View Post
True but you know those new arms has some Screw holes for CF Arm Stiffener parts
But on the other hand it might me a marketing gimmick which we will never gonna use
Nope. Not a marketing gimmick. I've already used them and other factory drives used them as far back as snowbirds this year and they do exactly what they say. You'd be really surprised at how much it does on a high grip track.
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | Apex RC | ProSpec America | Killer Concepts | AVID | Futaba.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 08:37 AM   #25
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,049
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Edit...

Last edited by syndr0me; 10-02-2013 at 08:42 AM. Reason: Derp
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 08:38 AM   #26
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Interesting, so that top deck that showed up on RCMARKET must be some option part? Presumably there's some corresponding mount that attaches somewhere in front of the motor?

Edit: "Top deck allows installation of optional aluminum stand which changes the carís flex characteristics."

Doesn't look like the stock top deck allows for that unless I'm missing it in the pics.
Probably the pics are slightly out of date;
__________________
Xray T4'16, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2016
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RD Disco
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 08:41 AM   #27
Tech Master
 
yokemad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
Nope. Not a marketing gimmick. I've already used them and other factory drives used them as far back as snowbirds this year and they do exactly what they say. You'd be really surprised at how much it does on a high grip track.
thats why I said "maybe"
Many thanx for the info ...
This new kit really deserve a new name =T5 ! Fantastic looking car I must say again...
yokemad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 08:50 AM   #28
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,049
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I can't tell from the spec sheet what's new to the 14 and what was new to the T4. It talks about bulkheads being closer together, the motor being moved in, the ability to adjust belt tension and diff height independently, etc.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 08:51 AM   #29
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
I can't tell from the spec sheet what's new to the 14 and what was new to the T4. It talks about bulkheads being closer together, the motor being moved in, the ability to adjust belt tension and diff height independently, etc.
It seems that there is the slightly opaque '2014' moniker in the corner when it's something new to the '14 model.
That caught me out at first. It seems it's basically the first half of those pages is the latest car.
__________________
Xray T4'16, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2016
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RD Disco
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 08:55 AM   #30
Tech Initiate
 
Ron-Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 20
Default

I found a very nice upgrades! Can be used in the new xray t4 on!
http://www.zzracing.net/zzracing-t4-...7f3b09d8a0edab

http://www.zzracing.net/http://www.z...rnb-p-401.html

Last edited by Ron-Z; 10-03-2013 at 08:46 PM.
Ron-Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:18 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0