R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-29-2014, 04:53 PM   #2206
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 441
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
Interesting, so why would anyone bother with an alu chassis that flexes more?
I've always thought that in low grip conditions the extra weight, slightly more flex and lower cg would help
__________________
Yokomo BD7 15 | Team SILVERBACK | LRP | FUTABA
Zhangesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 12:01 PM   #2207
Tech Elite
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,676
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

While in the discussions of the Aluminum chassis, this is our prototype RX4.5 Chassis, which will be available soon. It lies somewhere in between the flex characteristic of the TT and the XRAY chassis, with the flex isolated more towards the center of the chassis. This, we have found makes a car easier on tires and more stable in high speed sweepers.

Our focus though is for all T4 '14 owners who don't necessarily want to dump their previous year car and feel like upgrading it to the new motor mount and attach the ARS as well. We will also offer an engraving service on the chassis, where we can engrave your name on it for a minimal fee.

Our plan is to anodize the chassis Dark Gray, as it has a nice contrast with the XRAY Orange. All chassis are machined in house, and are made from materials made in the USA, for a 100% American product.

A carbon version will follow in limited numbers for those of you that prefer it over the Aluminum.



__________________
REFLEX RACING/ RSD/ GIZMO RACING USA/ HOBBYWING/ AXON/ QTEQ/ TEAM PRIME
CristianTabush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 08:35 PM   #2208
Tech Elite
 
jlfx car audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jackson,tn
Posts: 3,154
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

So Christian ,why is it you put groves in bottom of chassis instead of the top? If the top had the groves in it you could incorporate a tungsten wight plate that could be installed into them to alter setup and/or add weight
jlfx car audio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 11:50 PM   #2209
Tech Elite
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,676
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Mostly because mounting the electronics with the grooves at the top was somewhat of an issue on the RSD7 (not huge though) and personally, I think it looks cool.

I understand what you say about the weights, although my car is at 1365g with some really light spec tires (as pictured ready-to-run), I would think that the tungsten weights would be better suited for a car with a carbon chassis perhaps? In any case, the chassis is a prototype and any changes that you would want made to it to personalize it, we could make easily. Maybe if you want to do insert weights, we do a full slot that can have some threaded holes to mount them up? I don't know, just thoughts...
__________________
REFLEX RACING/ RSD/ GIZMO RACING USA/ HOBBYWING/ AXON/ QTEQ/ TEAM PRIME
CristianTabush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 04:06 AM   #2210
Tech Master
 
idbdoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Above FltLevel300
Posts: 1,460
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone started a thread on converting a T4'14 to a T4'15? I need a new chassis and I would like to install the ARS system only for now, later I would install motor mount.
Thanks
idbdoug
__________________
www.fantomracing.com
www.falconsekido.com
www.reflexracing.net
www.gizmoracingusa.com
idbdoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 09:12 AM   #2211
Tech Elite
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,676
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Hey Doug! I have not seen a thread for it, but I can get you a parts list when I get the to the shop today. We should have all the parts in stock, with the exception of the motor mount right now, it's not many pieces though. Basically, it is the stand offs, arms, caster blocks, steering bushings, turnbuckles and steering hubs.
__________________
REFLEX RACING/ RSD/ GIZMO RACING USA/ HOBBYWING/ AXON/ QTEQ/ TEAM PRIME
CristianTabush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 11:48 AM   #2212
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I don't think the 14 servo mount fits the 15 chassis.

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 11:54 AM   #2213
Tech Elite
 
metalnut's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,726
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grippgoat View Post
I don't think the 14 servo mount fits the 15 chassis.

-Mike
Is the 14 mount same as the 13 mount? If so I can check tonight, but I think you're right. The 13 mount has a little notch on the bottom in the middle, between the screws, while the 15 has three screws.
__________________
Team Nervous | Team Scruffy | Team Orange

"If you ain't first, you're last!"
- Ricky Bobby
metalnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 03:03 PM   #2214
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalnut View Post
Is the 14 mount same as the 13 mount? If so I can check tonight, but I think you're right. The 13 mount has a little notch on the bottom in the middle, between the screws, while the 15 has three screws.
'13 and '14 are the same. The alignment nub is the issue.
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 03:14 PM   #2215
Tech Master
 
idbdoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Above FltLevel300
Posts: 1,460
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CristianTabush View Post
Hey Doug! I have not seen a thread for it, but I can get you a parts list when I get the to the shop today. We should have all the parts in stock, with the exception of the motor mount right now, it's not many pieces though. Basically, it is the stand offs, arms, caster blocks, steering bushings, turnbuckles and steering hubs.
Thanks
idbdoug
__________________
www.fantomracing.com
www.falconsekido.com
www.reflexracing.net
www.gizmoracingusa.com
idbdoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 04:36 PM   #2216
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Marietta, Ga
Posts: 2,087
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

The screw spacing between the 14 and 15 are also different. Even if you grind the nub off the 14 mount it would still only be held by 1 screw.
PROMODVETTE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 10:27 PM   #2217
Tech Fanatic
 
alecladanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Manila
Posts: 806
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CristianTabush View Post
Hey Doug! I have not seen a thread for it, but I can get you a parts list when I get the to the shop today. We should have all the parts in stock, with the exception of the motor mount right now, it's not many pieces though. Basically, it is the stand offs, arms, caster blocks, steering bushings, turnbuckles and steering hubs.
looking forward to this as well, thanks
alecladanga is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 05:56 AM   #2218
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 292
Default

I am going to a race with my T4 14, and the class is 13.5 blinky mode. I run 64pitch spur and pinion, and is wondering if the combo of an 92T pitch64 and an 36-37T pinion can fit in the car. I am trying to get an 4.7gearing. The setup book dosen't help much.
Shock Tower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 10:35 AM   #2219
Tech Elite
 
metalnut's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,726
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shock Tower View Post
I am going to a race with my T4 14, and the class is 13.5 blinky mode. I run 64pitch spur and pinion, and is wondering if the combo of an 92T pitch64 and an 36-37T pinion can fit in the car. I am trying to get an 4.7gearing. The setup book dosen't help much.
I think that wouldn't leave you much wiggle room if it did fit. I think you want the spur in the 100+ range.
__________________
Team Nervous | Team Scruffy | Team Orange

"If you ain't first, you're last!"
- Ricky Bobby
metalnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 12:38 PM   #2220
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Yea I think with a 92 spur, you MIGHT be able to get like a 42 pinion in there or something, but I'm not sure how much smaller you can go. You'll need a bigger spur.
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:59 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0