R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-24-2014, 08:31 PM   #2086
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 8,862
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrayaustin View Post
Well the Tamiya uses a floating mount. Not sure about the screw spacing? Couldn'tI just run the servo with my current servo mount
Yes you can use the Normal servo (the 149.00 version) and it has normal ears just like any other servo.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | Apex RC | ProSpec America | Killer Concepts | AVID | Futaba.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 10:49 AM   #2087
Tech Elite
 
metalnut's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,726
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Smokem Racing T4’14-IIX chassis

__________________
Team Nervous | Team Scruffy | Team Orange

"If you ain't first, you're last!"
- Ricky Bobby
metalnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 11:15 PM   #2088
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 675
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by veecee View Post
I run the Smokem spool cups in mine. These let you use the Tamiya DCJ's which are absolutely bulletproof, buttery smooth and are the least expensive DCJ's around (~$35). The Smokem cups are really durable as well (pretty sure they are spring steel). Win-win in my opinion.
Are blades used with this setup?
Sean B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 09:32 AM   #2089
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Marietta, Ga
Posts: 2,087
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean B. View Post
Are blades used with this setup?
No.

PROMODVETTE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 09:58 AM   #2090
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,624
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Nice job on all the wins in TC at the nats
__________________
Jackson RC Raceway, Home of the 2011 Paved On Road Nats!
Horsham RC Raceway,Home of the 2013 and 2015 Carpet On Road Nats!

Awesomatix USA/ Side Piece Racing / TQ Wire / CR Graphics / R1 Wurks / LRP /Jackson RC Raceway / Horsham RC Raceway/RIP Jon Williams
Al Sodano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 12:32 PM   #2091
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,127
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

XRAY New product release !
Attached Thumbnails
Xray T4'14-xr-301351-o.jpg   Xray T4'14-xr-302570.jpg   Xray T4'14-xr-306191.jpg  
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 06:34 PM   #2092
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,067
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC MARKET View Post
XRAY New product release !
Ordered. Thanks.
__________________
https://www.gofundme.com/ncontrol
Joe Maxey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 06:47 PM   #2093
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 675
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I'm still trying to understand the Alu body post stops. It doesn't change the fact that the body clip holes are set positions. What makes it adjustable?
Sean B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 07:07 PM   #2094
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,067
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean B. View Post
I'm still trying to understand the Alu body post stops. It doesn't change the fact that the body clip holes are set positions. What makes it adjustable?
It had a top cap with a small o ring that you can screw and unscrewed to adjust the body height.
__________________
https://www.gofundme.com/ncontrol
Joe Maxey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 09:03 AM   #2095
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 675
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Maxey View Post
It had a top cap with a small o ring that you can screw and unscrewed to adjust the body height.
I understand that part, but it's not like you can change the body clip height as well. It seems that if you lower the stops, the body would be slopping around on the posts.
Sean B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 09:49 AM   #2096
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Iceland
Posts: 25
Default

Isn't the body held down by the downforce anyways with the clip just being there to keep it in place in case of impact?
halldor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 10:00 AM   #2097
Tech Elite
 
theproffesor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lugoff SC
Posts: 2,410
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

I dont run xray, but for this topicnit doesnt matter. I place small pieces of 1/16 thick foam on top of the body mount platform, some run them on the body, but then you have to make new one with every body. This keeps the body held down tight by the pins and you dont get any shaking of the lexan on the plastic mounts.
__________________
Tamiya EVO 6 with EXOSIX conversion
Tamiya TA07
tamiya box stock Mini (M05)
SMC - Motiv motors - Savox - Spectrum - Exotek.
The brighter the picture, the darker the negative. USVTA member #112
theproffesor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 10:19 AM   #2098
Tech Elite
 
metalnut's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,726
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theproffesor View Post
I dont run xray, but for this topicnit doesnt matter. I place small pieces of 1/16 thick foam on top of the body mount platform, some run them on the body, but then you have to make new one with every body. This keeps the body held down tight by the pins and you dont get any shaking of the lexan on the plastic mounts.
You're actually supposed to let the body move freely on the mounts. That means slightly oversized body holes, and some play between the clip and the mount platform. If your body is on tight, you're tweaking the car. The body has to move around freely to let the car twist as intended.
__________________
Team Nervous | Team Scruffy | Team Orange

"If you ain't first, you're last!"
- Ricky Bobby
metalnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 10:38 AM   #2099
Tech Elite
 
theproffesor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lugoff SC
Posts: 2,410
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

The body is still free to move. Its extreamly soft foam.
__________________
Tamiya EVO 6 with EXOSIX conversion
Tamiya TA07
tamiya box stock Mini (M05)
SMC - Motiv motors - Savox - Spectrum - Exotek.
The brighter the picture, the darker the negative. USVTA member #112
theproffesor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 02:18 PM   #2100
Tech Master
 
heretic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: europe
Posts: 1,059
Default

Actually, leaving the body loose on the vertical axis is also a good idea. This way, the body can touch a corner marker and move without taking the car with it. It really works. I will never run my body "pinched" ever again.

Coucou Georges !
__________________
I love wedge bodies. I love dish wheels.
heretic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:54 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0