R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-23-2015, 12:36 AM   #361
Tech Master
 
evochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney AU
Posts: 1,536
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aussierevo View Post
well I think I've found the problem but not sure how to fix.

Why would I have almost 1 degree rear camber on right rear?. Bend standard axle maybe or hub carrier. The car has never been run so just bad luck? Spacers are the same both side, using the 2.0 axle holders.

I've ordered a carbon one anyway and hope that solves the issue, but by the process of elimination and and entire rebuild that's the only thing I can point to that isn't quite right.
If you had a bent axle when you spin the wheels one or both the wheels would wobble dramatically, it would be unrideable. If you remove the pinion and spin the axle assembly what does it look like ??
__________________
UnRetired
evochick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 02:09 AM   #362
Tech Fanatic
 
aussierevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 904
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

to me the axle seems ok. I've rolled it along the setup board and it doesn't appear to have a wobble.

I rebuild the entire rear pod and checked a few other things and no matter what I do it sit's 'tweaked' on tires and the setup station.
__________________
Speed Passion F1.
Hobbywing ESC and Motor, SMC Batteries
Meakin Park Club Member
Team ARGO RC - Like us on Facebook
aussierevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 02:39 AM   #363
Tech Master
 
evochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney AU
Posts: 1,536
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aussierevo View Post
to me the axle seems ok. I've rolled it along the setup board and it doesn't appear to have a wobble.

I rebuild the entire rear pod and checked a few other things and no matter what I do it sit's 'tweaked' on tires and the setup station.
if it doesn't wobble then its probably not bent then. If you had camber on one side then you would have had the opposite value on the other side if the axle was out. Which also doesn't make sense.

If all the front shims are equal and you haven't missed any can you do me a favour and wind the front springs nearly all the way in on the kingpin so there is almost no suspension travel but still make them equal. Then check the tweak chassis tweak. To me it still sounds like something is not right in the front end of the car.
__________________
UnRetired
evochick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 04:03 AM   #364
Tech Adept
 
InZane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default New ride



Everything went together smoothly - decided to keep the kit shocks as they feel OK. A very pleasant build - first tests will be later this week.
The Street Jam F120-14 Body Set fits snugly over the chassis - low but still adequate room for links, shocks and wiring.



Special thanks to Evochick for your splendid support!
Does anyone have a decent starting set up for carpet (medium/good grip, tight layout, 21.5 blinky & Ride R1)?

more pics ...




Last edited by InZane; 02-23-2015 at 11:30 AM.
InZane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 12:34 PM   #365
Tech Fanatic
 
aussierevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 904
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

well I slept on it and after waking up it is what I thought. The chassis is tweaked at the front end.

i rebuilt the entire front end last night and just checking the height of the axles afterwards it was clear it couldn't be anything more.

guess I'll have to get another chassis in due course and for the time being stick to the exotek F1R2.

thanks everyone for your suggestions.
__________________
Speed Passion F1.
Hobbywing ESC and Motor, SMC Batteries
Meakin Park Club Member
Team ARGO RC - Like us on Facebook
aussierevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 01:24 PM   #366
Tech Master
 
evochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney AU
Posts: 1,536
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Sigh, typical StreetJam quality, its a shame they are so hit and miss....
I would still be putting the chassis on the setup board to confirm its twisted.

InZane the body doesn't look bad at all.
__________________
UnRetired
evochick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 03:29 PM   #367
Tech Fanatic
 
aussierevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 904
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

i've order a new chassis and fingers crossed I get a decent one. If not, then I'll part it out.

Cheers
__________________
Speed Passion F1.
Hobbywing ESC and Motor, SMC Batteries
Meakin Park Club Member
Team ARGO RC - Like us on Facebook
aussierevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 03:31 PM   #368
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,842
Default

are you sure you didn't screw in the kingpins different amounts left and right?
__________________
MOD: A800 R1 Digital-2 MM Fleta ZX 5.0T|||VTA: A700 Orca VX3 R1 25.5V16 |||F1:
Roche 2016 R1 Digital-2 R1 21.5V16|||Sanwa M12S|||iCharger 406Duo
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 03:47 PM   #369
Tech Fanatic
 
aussierevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 904
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

it's the chassis. you can see the twist when laid flat on the setup board. The left hand side sits up just enough to annoy.
__________________
Speed Passion F1.
Hobbywing ESC and Motor, SMC Batteries
Meakin Park Club Member
Team ARGO RC - Like us on Facebook
aussierevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 12:21 AM   #370
Tech Adept
 
InZane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by evochick View Post
InZane the body doesn't look bad at all.
If you mount it really low the rear wing will get clean air.


Last edited by InZane; 02-24-2015 at 12:41 AM.
InZane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 06:36 AM   #371
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 7
Default Got this recently

I have gotten this kit recently. I have a question about the reaer wing. I noticed that there are three levels of holes you can insert the wing, what are the differences that the different wing height make toward the car's performance?
arekpowalan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 09:12 AM   #372
Tech Elite
 
mtveten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,668
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arekpowalan View Post
I have gotten this kit recently. I have a question about the reaer wing. I noticed that there are three levels of holes you can insert the wing, what are the differences that the different wing height make toward the car's performance?
Rear downforce, the higher the wing the more efficient the wing should be.

In my testing however when running running hard plastic wings I haven't encountered a noticeable difference between the settings
mtveten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 05:05 AM   #373
Tech Apprentice
 
CFRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 76
Default

Test and tune sesión yesterday went great , now really flying, changed to tamiya front w exotec upper
arms ,1200 weight shock oil,(4 hole v2 shocks)yellow springs,black front springs,7°caster,2°camber,
4mm ride height, tamiya soft rear,hard front, best lap 12.04. Then changed the rear upper link to the stock
Position and even the 1/12 guys coudn't belive the results, 11.6s average with fast lap of 11.42, that's w
Practice trackstar motor,not geared right to the track.(undergeared).
__________________
kyosho tki 4
Kyosho M3 evo
SpecR R1
Exotek F1R3
CFRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 10:17 AM   #374
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,842
Default

Where did you have the rear upper link before you changed it to 'stock' position?
__________________
MOD: A800 R1 Digital-2 MM Fleta ZX 5.0T|||VTA: A700 Orca VX3 R1 25.5V16 |||F1:
Roche 2016 R1 Digital-2 R1 21.5V16|||Sanwa M12S|||iCharger 406Duo
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 03:52 PM   #375
Tech Apprentice
 
CFRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 76
Default

it was above the rear mount like hara,s setup. now it rotates way better,we run carpet on foam tires,will try harder compound rear tires or springs to try to free up the rear a little bit more.
__________________
kyosho tki 4
Kyosho M3 evo
SpecR R1
Exotek F1R3
CFRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:32 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net