R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-16-2013, 10:41 AM   #301
Tech Elite
 
oeoeo327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,343
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry P View Post
I broke an exacto trying to do it the other day. Maybe a carpet knife would work better.



Thanks Mike. I'll order one of those up and get a clamp on hub also. Being that the axle isnt changing there should be no issue with gear mesh like barry mentioned.

Leave it to Mr. "12th scale fo' life" to come up with a solution...
__________________
Founding member of the Solid Gold Racing Team - Mediocrity, redefined...
✯Jackson RC✯Horsham RC✯SJCCR✯
oeoeo327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 12:30 PM   #302
Tech Elite
 
corallyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edmonds, Wash
Posts: 4,382
Trader Rating: 99 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry P View Post
So I ran my car fairly box stock this weekend and it was pretty good. Only changes were 15k in the tubes and on the king pins. Ended up running the audi body. I'm not a fan of cutting the bsr rims so I'll be purchasing a bunch of Jaco wheels. I know every makes it sound easy to trim a wheel down but not for me. I guess I'm lame. Foam is easy to remove but plastic rim not so much. I feel like 1/12 is about being very accurate and at this point cutting a rim down in my hands will be anything but accurate. so all in all the car was good out of the box, lots of people took notice. I did end up doing the v2 AE arms.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_hfuhuhurr View Post
I'm with you on the cutting tires. Were you running the VBC or AE center shock?
Don't use an Xacto for cutting the rims, potentially too dangerous. Good for cutting the foam but not good for the rim imo. Use a tire sanding stick instead on the rim. The same stick that you use to radius the tire once cut. Mine has something called a dragon skin on it and it makes this task pretty easy. Course sand paper should work fine as well.

Steve
__________________
Team ORCA / ORCA USA / Pro Spec
Serpent America / Team Serpent S411 ERYX / On Point Racing OP12C, S120 / Xceed Products
Hangar 30 / Seattle RC Racers
Fasttrax Racing Series / NORA On Road Series
corallyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 12:38 PM   #303
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Whenever I have narrowed tires/wheels, I have done so using an xacto knife on the truer... I use safety goggles as it can potentially be dangerous, not to mention that some pieces of foam/plastic can fly up.

It is not difficult at all to get an accurate/smooth cut if you have a sharp blade and a quality tire truer.

I also recommend using the fatter xacto blades, not the standard ones... They are much less likely to break or have the tips splinter off. Like so:

JamesL_71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 12:47 PM   #304
Tech Elite
 
Jerry P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Astoria, NY
Posts: 2,436
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by corallyman View Post
Don't use an Xacto for cutting the rims, potentially too dangerous. Good for cutting the foam but not good for the rim imo. Use a tire sanding stick instead on the rim. The same stick that you use to radius the tire once cut. Mine has something called a dragon skin on it and it makes this task pretty easy. Course sand paper should work fine as well.

Steve
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesL_71 View Post
Whenever I have narrowed tires/wheels, I have done so using an xacto knife on the truer... I use safety goggles as it can potentially be dangerous, not to mention that some pieces of foam/plastic can fly up.

It is not difficult at all to get an accurate/smooth cut if you have a sharp blade and a quality tire truer.

I also recommend using the fatter xacto blades, not the standard ones... They are much less likely to break or have the tips splinter off. Like so:

Thanks guys. For now i'm going to get an irs 3mm offset hub and clamp on hub then i'll be able to adjust the width with shims. Maybe one day VBC will put out some option hubs so my car can match again.
__________________
Jerry P
Awesomatixusa - Side Piece Racing - LRP - Sweep Racing Tires - Mike L Designs - TQ Wires - Crispy Critters Raceway

www.awesomatixusa.com
Jerry P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 07:39 PM   #305
Tech Fanatic
 
ralph m's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 909
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry P View Post
Thanks guys. For now i'm going to get an irs 3mm offset hub and clamp on hub then i'll be able to adjust the width with shims. Maybe one day VBC will put out some option hubs so my car can match again.
Jerry,

Most cars have already gone to an offset pod design for brushless motors. There is a good chance that VBC already has a narrow diff hub. Measure the distance from the wheel mounting surface to the diff ring mounting surface and I'll do the same on the IRS 3mm offset hub.

You looked great at Horsham for the first time out with the VBC.

Ralph
__________________
tqwire.com
ralph m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 08:30 PM   #306
Tech Elite
 
mike ivy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Comin at ya from a distant galaxy
Posts: 2,792
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Hey Jerry,

You wont have any Problems at All. Just re shim the axle that all ya have to do. I've used these 3mm off set hubs on my 12r5 when I ran CRC/BSR tires and had no issues at all.






Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry P View Post
I broke an exacto trying to do it the other day. Maybe a carpet knife would work better.



Thanks Mike. I'll order one of those up and get a clamp on hub also. Being that the axle isnt changing there should be no issue with gear mesh like barry mentioned.

__________________
[-eXpress motorsports-] [-TQ Wire-]

1/12th Fo' Life!!! R.I.P Mike Reedy, R.I.P John Williams

[-Horsham RC-] [-Jackson RC-] [-RC Car World-] [ Black Out Free 2015 ]
mike ivy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 09:14 PM   #307
Tech Adept
 
ApexRCProshop's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ralph m View Post
Jerry,

Most cars have already gone to an offset pod design for brushless motors. There is a good chance that VBC already has a narrow diff hub. Measure the distance from the wheel mounting surface to the diff ring mounting surface and I'll do the same on the IRS 3mm offset hub.

You looked great at Horsham for the first time out with the VBC.

Ralph
ok i just ordered one of these hubs... If jerry can drive it so can i...
__________________
Apex RC Exclusive North & South American Pro-Spec Distributor

Share & Like Our Page:https://www.facebook.com/ApexRCProshop
ApexRCProshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 04:17 AM   #308
Tech Elite
 
Jerry P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Astoria, NY
Posts: 2,436
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ApexRCProshop View Post
ok i just ordered one of these hubs... If jerry can drive it so can i...
thanks danny..
__________________
Jerry P
Awesomatixusa - Side Piece Racing - LRP - Sweep Racing Tires - Mike L Designs - TQ Wires - Crispy Critters Raceway

www.awesomatixusa.com
Jerry P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 07:57 AM   #309
Tech Elite
 
MAD916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: La Center Seca
Posts: 3,117
Default

Check out the holiday special on the Lightning..... while they last.

http://www.timezonehobbies.com/index...roducts_id=819
__________________
Timezone Raceway Park " on-road outdoor european style road course.
Timezone II 60'x100' indoor carpet track. Host of the ROAR 2011 Carpet Nat's.
Timezonehobbies.com your new source for online RC products.
MAD916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 02:25 PM   #310
Tech Adept
 
corally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: italy
Posts: 118
Default

Hello

a small question...what servo fit ?
corally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 02:36 PM   #311
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 131
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default servo for Lightning 12

I am running an Airtronics 94145 servo in my Lightning 12. I know that the JR servo, Savox servo, as well as the Futaba 9650 will also fit in the car

Hope that helps,

Robert
robert s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 02:46 PM   #312
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 701
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Max K
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAD916 View Post
Check out the holiday special on the Lightning..... while they last.

http://www.timezonehobbies.com/index...roducts_id=819
thats an awesome deal! good job Mark!
__________________
RC America - XRAY - HUDY - Trinity - ORCA - Sanwa - ULTI - PROTOform - MaxFX - Slapmaster Tools - ApexRC - SXT
Max K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 04:47 AM   #313
Tech Adept
 
corally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: italy
Posts: 118
Default

thks Robert
but more servo fit between the mount...problem is axe ...i have one servo,fit between mount..BUT the spline is slight offest to center of car..
This is why ask this info...
corally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 07:42 AM   #314
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 701
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Max K
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by corally View Post
thks Robert
but more servo fit between the mount...problem is axe ...i have one servo,fit between mount..BUT the spline is slight offest to center of car..
This is why ask this info...
What servo are you using? Ive used both the KO Propo and the JR3650 servo with no problem. Spline is centered perfectly. Ive seen on other cars with Savox servos and the spline is not centered.
__________________
RC America - XRAY - HUDY - Trinity - ORCA - Sanwa - ULTI - PROTOform - MaxFX - Slapmaster Tools - ApexRC - SXT
Max K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 09:18 AM   #315
Tech Adept
 
corally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: italy
Posts: 118
Default

Hello
I nave some servos..but any fit without offset ...JR servo no found in Italy.
i think futaba 9650 is ok...what lo fit?
corally is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:57 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net