R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-25-2015, 12:11 PM   #631
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,549
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

Stock shock leaks oil worse than an old car.
RBLove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 01:32 PM   #632
Tech Master
 
LonnyJ1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ. USA
Posts: 1,140
Default

When HB shock became impossible to find, I switched to Silva shocks and never had a problem with leaks. My Serpent shocks however need rebuilding after nearly every heat.
__________________
Lonny
LonnyJ1950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 01:58 PM   #633
Tech Elite
 
DesertRat's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sniffin the 'Sauce Fumes
Posts: 2,377
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

You could get a CRC shock and a little brake cleaner takes the anodizing off.
__________________
I race toy cars for fun. If I need to explain, you'll never understand.
If everything is under control... go faster.
WTB: Carpet racing in Arizona.
It is obvious and intuitive to the most casual of observers that RC racing is better than golf.
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 04:53 PM   #634
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 734
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

The stock shock is fine.

I've heard the complaint of the rubber o ring vs the silicone one in the HB. You can use the same o ring as the HB one in the silva shock you just need to add some shims to get the right pinch on it to seal it properly as its slightly smaller than the stock rubber one.
JoelV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 09:41 PM   #635
Tech Master
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 1,991
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Finally finished the build. I was missing the center spring and a few shims. The ball studs that hold the tubes were to short. Other than that I cant wait to run it.
Josh-n-ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 08:33 AM   #636
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,539
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Cool

TQ & Win at the Roar Region race Hosted by TQRC

13.5 SS

Rev8 was just awesome to drive on this twisty little circuit
Will post setup this week

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

Attached Thumbnails
Speedmerchant Rev 8-rr15-13.5.jpg  
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.

Last edited by RedBullFiXX; 02-10-2015 at 09:53 PM. Reason: added setup sheet
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 10:36 AM   #637
Tech Elite
 
DesertRat's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sniffin the 'Sauce Fumes
Posts: 2,377
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Makes me wish I had made the drive out, even with work on Monday.
__________________
I race toy cars for fun. If I need to explain, you'll never understand.
If everything is under control... go faster.
WTB: Carpet racing in Arizona.
It is obvious and intuitive to the most casual of observers that RC racing is better than golf.
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 10:48 AM   #638
Tech Master
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 1,991
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Anyone know what servo will mount up in front of battery on inline position? My 9650 will only mount on opposite side with hole provided. Thx
Josh-n-ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 12:34 PM   #639
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,549
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh-n-ya View Post
Anyone know what servo will mount up in front of battery on inline position? My 9650 will only mount on opposite side with hole provided. Thx
Quite a few of us use shoe goo to keep our servos in place. . No need for mounts and it holds. I have always done it this way.

Interested to hear people's thoughts on inline vs. transverse. Do you find that transverse provides more steering, but inline is faster in the corner? Do you run one over the other based on grip level?
RBLove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 12:36 PM   #640
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 734
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

The cars are drilled the same on both sides to accept a s9650.
JoelV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 12:52 PM   #641
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: chaska minnesota
Posts: 1,690
Trader Rating: 85 (99%+)
Default

Rob,
In low grip you want to run the car transverse. In high grip you want to run the car inline.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RBLove View Post
Quite a few of us use shoe goo to keep our servos in place. . No need for mounts and it holds. I have always done it this way.

Interested to hear people's thoughts on inline vs. transverse. Do you find that transverse provides more steering, but inline is faster in the corner? Do you run one over the other based on grip level?
__________________
Sponsors
Awesomatix USA, Roche USA, LRP USA, EA MOTORSPORTS, Ko Propo, TQ wire, GENESIS RC, Serpent USA
tony block is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 03:17 PM   #642
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 321
Trader Rating: 11 (92%+)
Default

Ive tried inline vs transverse several times. I've found that the car transfers more weight while cornering in transverse. Currently my 17.5 car is transverse and 13.5 is inline. Both cars are setup identically except tires and they drive very similar. I raced the regionals at tq last weekend and it was easier to switch between cars than I thought.

Congrats to Dave, well deserved win
__________________
Dillon Hoffman
Dillon71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 04:15 PM   #643
Tech Master
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 1,991
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelV View Post
The cars are drilled the same on both sides to accept a s9650.
Actually it's not. Not on this new chassis. Even this new chassis I have with a recent purchase does not have any holes drilled so I can rotate the center shock mount. Tried to flip servo and holes don't even line up plus they are offset. I'm beginning to think I got a defect.
Josh-n-ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 04:19 PM   #644
Tech Master
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 1,991
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

I had a rev 8 not to long ago that had holes drilled to move center shock and different shock top plates. This new kit did not include those. Like the car but this sucks.
Josh-n-ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 04:19 PM   #645
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 321
Trader Rating: 11 (92%+)
Default

The holes are differnet on my cars aswell. The left fit my rsx12 and futaba on the right.
__________________
Dillon Hoffman
Dillon71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:02 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0