R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-21-2013, 08:22 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default Tekin RS GEN2 SPEC

New product from Tekin:

Tekin Link

From the Tekin Web Site:

The RS GEN2 SPEC is designed for Spec racing and offers professional performance at an affordable price. True ROAR Spec mode only, no timing or boost features are available. The RS SPEC brings racer-friendly tuning and flawless operation to the world of Spec racing.

Packed with new features, the RS GEN2 SPEC provides an EZ Access Port for HotWire communication and Datalogging capabilities in a small sized package. Rated for 13.5 turn motors and higher, the GEN2 is the perfect ESC for both experienced and new racers. Couple the RS GEN2 SPEC with a Redline GEN2 brushless motor for the ultimate package in Spec racing equipment.
__________________
Wheeling an Xray T4 and T4 14 using a Ko Propo, powered by EA motors and Speed Passion Speedo, paid for by my wife.

Digi3Dworks - 3D printing for the medical Field.
bvoltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 09:44 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: lost...
Posts: 2,829
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I wonder what the "affordable price" will be?

Anyone know when the 1s esc is coming out?
RoyU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 04:18 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
evochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney AU
Posts: 1,530
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyU View Post
I wonder what the "affordable price" will be?

Anyone know when the 1s esc is coming out?
on the right of the page

TT1155 - RS GEN2 SPEC ESC

Street Price - $135
__________________
UnRetired
evochick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:07 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
mkiiina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Frisco TX
Posts: 2,321
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

Interesting. Should be a shoe-in for USGT and VTA.
mkiiina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:13 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
b20btec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sugar Land
Posts: 1,008
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Tekin is falling behind on the stock spec classes, they should've released this ahead of the competition with a price point under $100.00
b20btec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:18 AM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

I'd still take a Hobbywing Justock over it. Half the cost for a Justock and easier to program? Done deal.
__________________
Xray | Airtronics | R1Wurks LiPo | Hobbywing
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:53 AM   #7
Moderator
 
Clegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside doing things in places... Denver, CO
Posts: 4,608
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

That and the justock is for sale for $50 or less most of the time. Unless the actual price to market is close to that, I'd say the Spec Tekin is dead in the water except for Tekin fanbois out there.
__________________
Joe Kelly - JK720.net
5280 Raceway |5280raceway.com | 5280 Raceway Facebook
Clegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:58 AM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Even if the price were $99, I still think it would fail against the Justock. Look at the Novak Edge. It used to dominate VTA until the Justock came out. The price/performance of a Justock is just too good. There's really no reason to pay more for a no-timing ESC.
__________________
Xray | Airtronics | R1Wurks LiPo | Hobbywing
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:20 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
patorz31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 1,362
Default

It will have to work way better than my Hobbywing for that kind of money. The Justock is one of the biggest surprises I have had in this hobby. A $49 speedo shouldn't work this well.
patorz31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 10:21 AM   #10
Tech Regular
 
BadPanda818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Camp Pendelton
Posts: 345
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I like how companies are coming with "blinky" esc's. Save people money from buying expensive esc's that comes with features they won't use. On the other hand, $99 is not that bad compared to orion's $150 esc. Still a little high for its purpose but, that's what you get from a well established company.
__________________
Capricorn Lab TE-01 Orion R10 Pro, Orion VST2X 17.5, KO RSX One
Capricorn Lab TE-03 Orion R10.1, Fantom Ion V5, KO RSX One
Xray XB4 2017, Orion R10.1, Fantom FR-1 13.5, Protek 160T
Axial RR10 Bomber, MMP, Reline Pro4 4000Kv,Protek 150T
Futaba 4PKS R All sponsored by Visa

Last edited by BadPanda818; 08-22-2013 at 01:58 PM.
BadPanda818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 10:33 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
jlfx car audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jackson,tn
Posts: 3,290
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

It does have data loging but what info does it log ?
Tx input
Voltage
Temp (ESC?)
Rpm
I would like to see
amperage /current
Motor temps . (not that it don't )
With the user able to zoom in on the data on a real time graph and overlap different runs onto same graph would be well worth the extra money to me if the ESC was smooth with good breaks ....
Think vta would be out since u can hook it up to PC to make changes . could be wrong tho
__________________
Justin & Matt Lyons
Awesomatix USA, EA motorsports, Sanwa, Protoform, Avid, Gravity Rc , TSR!
a800s sanwa m12s
jlfx car audio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 11:58 AM   #12
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,520
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

The RS Spec logs:

Throttle input
Esc Temp
Motor Temp
Motor RPM
Voltage

We are working on other ways to view the info, overlap runs,etc. For stock racing these are some nice "streams" to view how efficient your setup is. Voltage drop over time is just as important as amp draw which can throw off random spikes here and there.

Note that not all motors have a temp sensor internal to them so some don't register motor temps.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,KoPropUSA,JConcepts,Avid RC,MIP,SikLidz,ImagineItGraphx, FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 01:06 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
94_snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 322
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post

Note that not all motors have a temp sensor internal to them so some don't register motor temps.
Is there an easy way to find out what motors have the sensor in them? Tekin, Trinity, Novak, etc..

Thanks
94_snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 02:13 PM   #14
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 94_snake View Post
Is there an easy way to find out what motors have the sensor in them? Tekin, Trinity, Novak, etc..

Thanks
Connect an ohmmeter between pins 1 (usually a black wire) and pin 5 (usually a blue wire) on the sensor cable (unplugged from the ESC). If it's around 10k ohms, it's got a sensor.

Novaks have them, Trinitys generally don't (haven't checked every model, too many to count ).
Kevin Marcy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 06:00 PM   #15
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,520
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Kevin is correct. Most have them but some companies do omit them.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,KoPropUSA,JConcepts,Avid RC,MIP,SikLidz,ImagineItGraphx, FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:34 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net