R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-28-2015, 11:31 AM   #1186
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 223
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Mostly cost control haha

This car has cost me enough $$ so far!
__________________
:: Tamiya TA05 MS :: Tamiya TB04 Pro II/Exotek EXO6 :: Tamiya M05V2 :: Losi XX :: Tamiya TB01 :: Tamiya XV-01 Rally ::
ErikO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 05:19 PM   #1187
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ErikO View Post
I'm going to run my tub chassis through the winter and upgrade in the spring. Looking forward to seeing the difference!
Exotek may not have it available by then
Juan Aveytia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 09:46 PM   #1188
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,741
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Juan Aveytia View Post
Exotek may not have it available by then
Hey
Juan ,,Are you getting one as well?
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2015, 07:26 AM   #1189
Tech Master
 
vivo quevas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central, Ca.
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Mike, when are you shipping the EXO 6 conversion kits out I'm so pumped to build my EXO 6 really like to race it next weekend since I'm in California usually 2 days shipping ship midweek would be good for me.
__________________
Awesomatix A800 USGT, Awesomatix 800 VTA, , Tamiya Euro Truck, CRC WTF1

http://localrcracing.freeforums.org/
HobbyTown Fresno, Ca. McAllister Racing, Visa/MasterCard's
vivo quevas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 02:57 PM   #1190
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 51
Default No brakes

Has anyone had any issues with not having brakes on the TB04v2? I am running 73/52 ratio with a Reedy 17.5 and Hobbywing JustStock ESC on a Futaba 4PLS. Car handles great and good power from motor but I can't stop if I need to. Reset radio and esc but still no luck. Don't want to waste money getting another motor especially if I am missing something to check.
rajiex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 04:05 PM   #1191
Tech Elite
 
theproffesor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lugoff SC
Posts: 2,726
Trader Rating: 56 (100%+)
Default

Set your reverse to 100% even if you have esc set to forward brake only
__________________
Associated - Fantom - Savox - Hobbywing - Spectrum.
The brighter the picture, the darker the negative. USVTA member #112
theproffesor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 06:27 PM   #1192
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: LA/SGV SoCal
Posts: 296
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rajiex View Post
Has anyone had any issues with not having brakes on the TB04v2? I am running 73/52 ratio with a Reedy 17.5 and Hobbywing JustStock ESC on a Futaba 4PLS. Car handles great and good power from motor but I can't stop if I need to. Reset radio and esc but still no luck. Don't want to waste money getting another motor especially if I am missing something to check.
It's not your gearing. Sorry to tell you, but the brakes on the juststock speedos aren't up to par if you need a lot of braking. If you want good brakes, go to the higher end models or LRP. LRP had better brakes than anything I've used from HOBBYwing to Speed passion, Hacker, and Orion.

I run/race a TB03 and TB04R at Tamiya USA and have used all I've listed. I went back to the LRP.

I'm betting your esc is getting pretty warm if not hot, and your brakes will fade. Run a fan on the speedo if you can to see if it will make a difference, then decide on an esc from there. The fan might save you from spending money if the braking is adequate after adding a fan.
greenpea76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 03:45 AM   #1193
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenpea76 View Post
It's not your gearing. Sorry to tell you, but the brakes on the juststock speedos aren't up to par if you need a lot of braking. If you want good brakes, go to the higher end models or LRP. LRP had better brakes than anything I've used from HOBBYwing to Speed passion, Hacker, and Orion.

I run/race a TB03 and TB04R at Tamiya USA and have used all I've listed. I went back to the LRP.

I'm betting your esc is getting pretty warm if not hot, and your brakes will fade. Run a fan on the speedo if you can to see if it will make a difference, then decide on an esc from there. The fan might save you from spending money if the braking is adequate after adding a fan.
I was using a ORCA esc before I burned it out by shorting the battery. Even then it didnt have brakes.
rajiex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 06:18 AM   #1194
Tech Fanatic
 
Rodarbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 901
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Rodarbal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenpea76 View Post
It's not your gearing. Sorry to tell you, but the brakes on the juststock speedos aren't up to par if you need a lot of braking. If you want good brakes, go to the higher end models....
Agreed for the most part. My HW XTreme Stock and V2.1 both have more powerful brakes than the Justock, but the trick theproffesor said above to do works. I'm running a Justock in my TB04 for VTA. Not sure what firmware version mine is on, but I can check later this evening.

EDIT: I see now that the Proff already stated the Justock brake trick above... lol
__________________
RJ Labrador
Off Road Big: Mugen, Mugen & Mugen
Off Road Little: Losi & XRay
Rodarbal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 10:40 AM   #1195
Tech Champion
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 5,017
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rajiex View Post
I was using a ORCA esc before I burned it out by shorting the battery. Even then it didnt have brakes.
Probably the radio then- check epa, the thumb wheel and other settings.
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 10:47 AM   #1196
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chino Hills, CA
Posts: 119
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

As stated on the Exotek site, their motor adapter allows for a 37t 48 pitch pinion, my question is can I run that big of a pinion with the stock 66t spur? I'm trying to achieve an fdr around 4.xx with the least amount of spending on new parts.
speed_dmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 11:13 AM   #1197
Tech Champion
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 5,017
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speed_dmon View Post
As stated on the Exotek site, their motor adapter allows for a 37t 48 pitch pinion, my question is can I run that big of a pinion with the stock 66t spur? I'm trying to achieve an fdr around 4.xx with the least amount of spending on new parts.
That is the EXO5 note, the EXO6 top plate sits higher so you have a better range for gearing options.
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 11:53 AM   #1198
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chino Hills, CA
Posts: 119
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
That is the EXO5 note, the EXO6 top plate sits higher so you have a better range for gearing options.

Mike thank you for the response, is the motor mount only meant for the converted chassis? I'm running a completely stock TB04R
speed_dmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 12:32 PM   #1199
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,741
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
That is the EXO5 note, the EXO6 top plate sits higher so you have a better range for gearing options.
Hi Mike

Please check your Email or PM..Thanks
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 02:41 PM   #1200
Tech Champion
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 5,017
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OVA View Post
Hi Mike

Please check your Email or PM..Thanks
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:04 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net