Wiki Posts
Search

Hardware issues!

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2013, 03:00 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Hardware issues!

So I am building 3racing's sakura zero s kit and I have had nothing but issues with the hardware. I have stripped 6+ screws because it seems that my tool (the right size Allen key) wont go in all the way or it strips when I turn it. I'm not doing anything crazy to the screws they just seem to be cheap so I ordered all new hardware to replace it (better quality) but I just lost 4 of those due to stripping the head. It seems as it becomes harder to turn into the plastic parts my tools begins to slip out of the head for some reason. Should I not be using an Allen key? I feel like an idiot with this issue but I just don't get it. This is not my first rc car but it is my first build kit. Is there some better tool I should be using to prevent this? Thanks guys.

Sean
Old 07-24-2013, 03:19 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

A L wrench works but a hex driver is much better and one with hardened tips will last many years and much less rounded out screws. What happens is the tip of the wrench starts to round then it rounds the head of the screw. Or the kit has really soft metal screws. For kits that come with sub par hardware I would tap the holes with a good hard screw you have then use the kit hardware. I had to do this when assembling a FGX F1.

But on a side note if your in the hobby for a bit look into MIP, Hudy or other quality drivers. You don't need the whole kit typically you only use a few sizes.
Old 07-24-2013, 04:05 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)

Welcome to 3Racing...