R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-05-2013, 06:07 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
xrayracer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Under your bed.
Posts: 1,176
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Tekin Gen2 redline 21.5 turn motors

Hey guys, I've been racing a Tekin 21.5 turn motor for a while at my club and I just ordered a Tekin Redline Gen2 21.5 turn motor. (I got the torque version not the rpm version) I would jut like to know: apart from the kv rating, are there any notable differences between the Gen1 and Gen2 motors?
xrayracer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 11:02 PM   #2
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,520
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

The whole design is different. The Gen2 makes more power, has more timing adjustment in it, easier to work on since it can be disassembled from either side, sensor board requires no soldering to replace, lighter weight,etc.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,KoPropUSA,JConcepts,Avid RC,MIP,SikLidz,ImagineItGraphx, FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 11:10 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
xrayracer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Under your bed.
Posts: 1,176
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
The whole design is different. The Gen2 makes more power, has more timing adjustment in it, easier to work on since it can be disassembled from either side, sensor board requires no soldering to replace, lighter weight,etc.
Cool, thanks for the info.
xrayracer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 12:16 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
vivo quevas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central, Ca.
Posts: 1,104
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Xrayracer1, I too Have the same motor Gen2 21.5 torque model. I race it in GT class I was wondering what do you think about this motor?
__________________
Awesomatix A800 USGT, Awesomatix 800 VTA, , Tamiya Euro Truck, CRC WTF1

http://localrcracing.freeforums.org/
HobbyTown Fresno, Ca. McAllister Racing, Visa/MasterCard's
vivo quevas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 12:25 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
xrayracer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Under your bed.
Posts: 1,176
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivo quevas View Post
Xrayracer1, I too Have the same motor Gen2 21.5 torque model. I race it in GT class I was wondering what do you think about this motor?
I haven't received it yet, but going on my Gen1 redline 21.5 and how well it performs, i'm guessing it's going to be a little screamer.
xrayracer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 07:19 AM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Regina, Canada
Posts: 172
Default

I bought this motor in september; now it kinda sputters as if the sensor wire has gone. Friends at the track suggested something is very wrong and the motor is gone? Perhaps the sensor is gone on the motor? it really sounds bad under load is the main issue.

Is it worth rebuilding? buying a sensor (TT2473) and seeing if that works? Just looking for advice.
__________________
TC7 TC6.2 Tamiya Mini RC12r5.2 Reedy FUTABA RSD
irvinew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 07:26 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
EDWARD2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kagoshima, Japan
Posts: 1,975
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Mine did the same thing, just buy a new sensor board. The first batch of motor sensors were junk all the Hal sensors were way off. The new sensor boards are much better and your motor should be fine once you instal one.
EDWARD2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 11:26 AM   #8
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,520
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

If you use a Tekin esc you can test the sensor output.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,KoPropUSA,JConcepts,Avid RC,MIP,SikLidz,ImagineItGraphx, FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:27 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net