Wiki Posts
Search

Eagle Tree Systems Car Data Recorder

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2004, 10:39 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default Eagle Tree Systems Car Data Recorder

I was looking for a review of some sort of this product before I bought it but, couldn't find one other than what's in the magazines and online, I wanted a review from a normal R/C racer type. Just in case I am not the only one who considered this product, here is my short take on it.

First off, I am a novice racer that is a "tech geek" so this is something that I just had to have. I use it mainly to verify my gearing is correct. This allows me to view the temperature of the motor throughout a 5 minute run. At the end of the run, I can see if the motor is too hot therefore overgeared, or vice versa. I can also see my steering and throttle inputs, RPM of my spur gear, a calculated MPH, and with the optional expansion unit, I can also measure battery pack voltage and amp drain.

I like the unit, it puts numbers in my head, I have hard facts (Temp, RPM, amp draw, etc) of what's going on with the car.

Combine the data from this unit with an Orion Lap Counting System... almost like I have onboard telemetry on my R/C cars. I have to admit, I'm such a tech geek!

So to sum up...

Is this a WANT or NEED? Want
Did this make me faster? Nope
Did it make me smarter? Yes

Now some pics:

THE DATA DECK

The data recorder is the black receiver looking piece strapped down to the upper deck of a Yokomo SD SSG. You can also see all the wiring the recorder comes with. The purple tronsponder is the Orion LCS. The way I use it is, during practice, I screw the top deck onto my Yokomo CGM. Before a race, I remove the deck (4 screws) and it's back to it's race trim:

The sensor in the middle of the picture is the current draw sensor: