R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-26-2015, 08:52 PM   #166
Tech Master
 
evochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney AU
Posts: 1,471
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhopper View Post
I have my car built. I am running narrow front and rubber tires. How many spacers should be in the front bulkhead? I built it according to the narrow instructions but the front wing is dragging the ground!

http://www.rctech.net/forum/attachme...etup-12114.pdf

try this spacer setup for Pit tyres.
__________________
UnRetired
evochick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 04:37 PM   #167
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 59
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Uuuuggghhhhh! The nose is still on the ground!
mhopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 11:22 PM   #168
sbd
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhopper View Post
Uuuuggghhhhh! The nose is still on the ground!
Check the front lower arms. Sounds like the flex part is broken. You can harly see it from outside though.
sbd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 11:32 PM   #169
Tech Master
 
evochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney AU
Posts: 1,471
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Are you using the V1 or the V2 front suspension mount with the 10 grub screws ?

you should have almost no clearance from the top flex arm to the upper suspension mount running shimizu tyres.

ill post photos tonight If I remember
__________________
UnRetired
evochick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 10:41 AM   #170
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 59
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

v2 front end. Pictures would be AWESOME!
mhopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 02:46 PM   #171
Tech Master
 
evochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney AU
Posts: 1,471
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Here is my front end from the last time I drove the car at our Nationals last year, I think I had ride height at about 4mm,

Looks like I was using 4.25mm shims under the arm, and on the kingpin 0.25 below and 2.25 above the arm.

I usually just play around with spacers to get the ride height I needed.
Attached Thumbnails
Yokomo F1 YRF-20150129_072706.jpg  
__________________
UnRetired
evochick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 03:39 PM   #172
Tech Adept
 
CHRISz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 229
Default

Can you run rubber tires on the "W" car or does have to be the "N"?
__________________
DE Racing
CHRISz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 06:59 PM   #173
Tech Regular
 
Ph3nyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nantes, France
Posts: 329
Default

you can use rubber tires for f103 (pit 541 545 for exemple) on the W
__________________
the first F1 RC resource in french : www.rcf1.fr
Ph3nyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 07:34 PM   #174
Tech Master
 
EDWARD2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kagoshima, Japan
Posts: 1,919
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Troubles with rear ride height?

Well you can bolt on the Yokomo R12 rear bulkhead if need be. I spoke with the designer of the chassis about foam tire setup and he said "If you're running small foam tires 48-49 mm diameter, you can use the R12 rear bulkhead for this."
EDWARD2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 10:08 PM   #175
Tech Apprentice
 
AZ Wolfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 58
Default

For anyone else that might be curious, the new PROTOform bodies do not fit properly on the YRF. These bodies have side pods that get really low at the rear of the car, and that just doesn't mix with the Yokomo's high body mount location. This means the body sits really high in the rear, and looks just plain wrong.

Is there anyone who makes a replacement shock mount and rear brace that would allow the body post to be mounted at the lower rear brace height, but still at the stock position? Basically something similar to how the body post are situated on the VBC Lightning F1.
AZ Wolfie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 07:53 PM   #176
Tech Adept
 
jamminjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Edmonchuk AB, Canada
Posts: 206
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Hey Guys, what sofness tires would you recommend for carpet on the front and rear? I was going to guess hard or medium front and soft rears. Thanks
__________________
Know racing, know life. No racing, no life.
jamminjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 12:42 AM   #177
Tech Master
 
ford_racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,479
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to ford_racing
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AZ Wolfie View Post
For anyone else that might be curious, the new PROTOform bodies do not fit properly on the YRF. These bodies have side pods that get really low at the rear of the car, and that just doesn't mix with the Yokomo's high body mount location. This means the body sits really high in the rear, and looks just plain wrong.
Thank you so much for this, was going to order one on payday
ford_racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 12:43 AM   #178
Tech Master
 
ford_racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,479
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to ford_racing
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamminjim View Post
Hey Guys, what sofness tires would you recommend for carpet on the front and rear? I was going to guess hard or medium front and soft rears. Thanks
Really depends on the carpet,
I run mine with medium fronts for good turn in and super soft rears for the necessary traction out of the corners
ford_racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 12:06 PM   #179
Tech Adept
 
jamminjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Edmonchuk AB, Canada
Posts: 206
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Just trying to decide on wheels. I've seen some with grooves in the wheels and some without. Can the non-grooved wheels be used for rubber tires? ( I will be running rubber tires. )
__________________
Know racing, know life. No racing, no life.

Last edited by jamminjim; 02-10-2015 at 01:01 PM.
jamminjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 02:54 PM   #180
Tech Master
 
ford_racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,479
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to ford_racing
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamminjim View Post
Just trying to decide on wheels. I've seen some with grooves in the wheels and some without. Can the non-grooved wheels be used for rubber tires? ( I will be running rubber tires. )
This depends on the tyres you choose to run. Pit Schmitzu (spelling may be incorrect) use the foam rims (non grooved) and the majority of others use the one with the groves in the wheels.
I hope this helps
ford_racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:18 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0