Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
To balance or not to balance that is the question (1/12) >

To balance or not to balance that is the question (1/12)

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

To balance or not to balance that is the question (1/12)

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2013, 06:02 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default To balance or not to balance that is the question (1/12)

I'm currently running a Kyosho Plasma Ra and I'm fairly new to this 1/12 game. For the longest time, I've been racing sedans, and I know a thing or two about chassis tweak and balance. However, 1/12 is a slightly different breed when it comes to chassis tweak and balance. I've combed through Mark Payne's website and followed everything to his instructions. However, there isn't a whole lot about pod balancing and the use of static weights.

Sooo, here we go. This is what I've done to attain rear pod balance.

I've detached the rear pod assembly and placed it on two balancing pins. The rear pod is "race ready" with motor, pinion gear and equally weighted tires.

When placed on the balancing pins the non-drive side was heavier. I thought this was rather strange, however, I placed 9 grams of weight on the motor side and this roughly corrected the overall pod balance. In addition to the pin setup, I placed two digital scales underneath the tires while the pod was still resting on the pins. I did this in order to get a 'visual reading' of what the weight balance was like for both sides. Yes, the tires are the same size diameter (to eliminate any errors) . The process is pretty simply, I would let the non-drive side tire rest on the scale and take its reading (2.2 grams), and I would do the same for the motor side (0.5 grams). Then I would add some weight to correct for this difference until both sides are reading equal values. The value for both sides came to 1.7 grams.

Does it make sense to add static weight to the rear pod to attain such balance?