R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-20-2013, 07:00 PM   #121
Tech Master
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lifeguy View Post
Ran my torque version from Express Motorsports today at Lou's speedway TQ'd and won, carpet track, geared at 3.65 and 53 degrees of timing! Car was fast lots or low end power!

Grant
yup
I was running a Killshot "TT" too and Adam was running the stock broad power band rotor with torque stator.

All were very quick. I was at 3.8FDR with around the same can timing as you. 53ish. The acceleration with a fresh battery really surprised me. It launches out of the corners. Next time I'm going to try a bit lower FDR. With all the reports of people smoking them, I wanted to err on the conservative side.

Liking this motor so far.

Grant, next time we race, I'm going to push it a bit harder and maybe put some new 28s on, so look out buddy.
locked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 01:10 AM   #122
Tech Elite
 
B00t13g's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,040
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lifeguy View Post
Ran my torque version from Express Motorsports today at Lou's speedway TQ'd and won, carpet track, geared at 3.65 and 53 degrees of timing! Car was fast lots or low end power!

Grant
Any idea what you were at when using a d3.5 with a 12.5 torque rotor? Track size?
__________________
Mackenzie Meyercord
Rc America, Xray, MOTIV, Avid, Team EAM, Apex Rc Pro Shop, Pro Spec USA, Sanwa, RSD
B00t13g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 06:33 AM   #123
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cambridge, Ontario Canada
Posts: 82
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B00t13g View Post
Any idea what you were at when using a d3.5 with a 12.5 torque rotor? Track size?
Lou's track is 50x95 I believe, I ran the D3.5 with broad band rotor, straight out of the package, just installed bearings! I ran full timing with a 3.88 FDR two fans...

Grant
__________________
XRAY T3'12 17.5, Spec R R1 13.5, CRC GenXL, Grant Galloway Designs ( Painter )
lifeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 10:33 PM   #124
Tech Elite
 
B00t13g's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,040
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Ok, what's the trick to getting this motor to fit in a t4?


I can get it to thread in, but it tweaks the crap out of the chassis. Literally indents it. This t4 has never been run, doesn't even have electronics in it yet.


__________________
Mackenzie Meyercord
Rc America, Xray, MOTIV, Avid, Team EAM, Apex Rc Pro Shop, Pro Spec USA, Sanwa, RSD

Last edited by B00t13g; 05-21-2013 at 11:21 PM.
B00t13g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 10:42 PM   #125
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B00t13g View Post
Ok, what's the trick to getting this motor to fit in a t4?
Putting in a mod motor instead!

You're too fast for stock now, Mackie.
__________________
Xray | Airtronics | R1Wurks LiPo | Hobbywing
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 10:49 PM   #126
Tech Elite
 
B00t13g's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,040
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyujmn View Post
Putting in a mod motor instead!

You're too fast for stock now, Mackie.
That's my stock car for eos this summer. Mod car is still together
__________________
Mackenzie Meyercord
Rc America, Xray, MOTIV, Avid, Team EAM, Apex Rc Pro Shop, Pro Spec USA, Sanwa, RSD
B00t13g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 11:43 PM   #127
Tech Elite
 
B00t13g's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,040
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default



Great job trinity! The end bell is flat out drilled wrong and will not go in a t4 in any position.
__________________
Mackenzie Meyercord
Rc America, Xray, MOTIV, Avid, Team EAM, Apex Rc Pro Shop, Pro Spec USA, Sanwa, RSD
B00t13g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 11:52 PM   #128
Tech Elite
 
Racing4Evo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,118
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Racing4Evo
Default

You cant pin all the blame on Trinity! That's xrays fault for having that mounting design. Two independent design compromises= unfortunate and unlucky f*uck up.
Racing4Evo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 12:07 AM   #129
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,111
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B00t13g View Post


Great job trinity! The end bell is flat out drilled wrong and will not go in a t4 in any position.
Not sure how but I watched 6 guys buy killshot motors this past Saturday and put them directly into their T4's. I would've put one in but they were all bought before I got to the track. Warren Weaver, a page or 2 back was one of them. Maybe PM him and ask, I'm sure he'll have no problem helping you out, he helps me when I need it with no questions asked
JOE SI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 04:22 AM   #130
Tech Apprentice
 
Penz316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B00t13g View Post
Ok, what's the trick to getting this motor to fit in a t4?


I can get it to thread in, but it tweaks the crap out of the chassis. Literally indents it. This t4 has never been run, doesn't even have electronics in it yet.




I got the same problem as you. What I did : put a 2mm shim in front of the motor mount. You will need a longer screw for the hex.

After that, You will not regret your motor
__________________
Alex Fournier
Team ORCA
Penz316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 04:37 AM   #131
Tech Elite
 
Potoczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 3,501
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

I'm having a problem adjusting the timing, no matter how loose the screws are it just won't turn. What am I doing wrong??
__________________
Pete Potoczak

Home entertainment specialist
Secure Technologies/ www.stiworldwide.com
Potoczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 04:56 AM   #132
Tech Elite
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: VA Beach
Posts: 3,457
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Great! and I just ordered a KS motor for my T4. Does anybody have pics of KS motor in a T4. I know people are using them.
Jamison R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 06:59 AM   #133
Tech Elite
 
Warren Weaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NASCAR COUNTRY
Posts: 2,342
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

I switched to the revtech plate from the original motor if you dont have any pm me i have a bunch of them problem solved for now until somethings done about it
__________________
R1 WURKS-AWESOMATIX USA-LRP-TQ WIRE-PROTOTYPE RACING-MCFACTORY MOTORSPORTS-SWEEP RACING-TXDSKINGRAPHIX-HOBMAX-THE RUG-TEAM EZDUZIT
R.I.P. MY FRIEND JDUB MISSED BUT NEVER FORGOTTEN
Warren Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 07:19 AM   #134
Tech Addict
 
thisguy2849's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 568
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

To address the 2 problems of the motor not fitting and not being able to adjust the timing do these 2 steps. If it wont fit switch to a revtech endbell if you have one. On some motors the manufacturer misdrilled the holes. And timing you will have to take off the timing end remove the ring and sand it a little bit so it will turn.
thisguy2849 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 07:43 AM   #135
Tech Master
 
Autocratic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,690
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Mackie,

I have a faceplate if you need it.
__________________
Thanks to my sponsors for 2015!
XFactory RC | Proline Racing | Fantom Racing | Avid RC | Speed Passion USA | Factory1 | Hy-Traction Juice | Mike's Hobby Shop
Autocratic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:25 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0