R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-26-2013, 11:26 PM   #166
Tech Adept
 
whityboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 168
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

well yesterday my sone won rond 3 of the belgium nationals with his EA mototrsport killshot rpm version. We drove a FDR of 3.28 and 55 on the can. out of the corners the motor was very fast. on the straight (50m) he was a little bit slower than others. motor came of the track at 75 celsius.
I like the motor a lot
__________________
VBC support team manager EU
whityboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 11:14 AM   #167
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JOE SI View Post
In 2 different race days I watched 4 kills hot motors die. They didn't overheat or smoke, just lost power and wouldn't run anymore.
The one today was from a seasoned guy that it very rarely happens to if ever
Quote:
Originally Posted by vivo quevas View Post
Joe did you hear why those motors Failed since there was no smoke? I have overheated motors and they didn't smoke but they did unsolder the Stator and they were as dead as can be! They were fast before they went I will give you that!
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOE SI View Post
Mop , they just stopped working. When I'm at a race I'm in my own world, LOL so I hear things and just pay no mind but it happened a few times with these and it's a known problem so run it at your own risk, that's what I say..

From what I have heard, the solder tabs are deceptively close together on this motor. Much more so than the D3.5 or the original Revtech. It could very well be the cause of these failures... perhaps a shunt/hit to the side caused the tabs to make brief contact, etc.
JamesL_71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 06:13 PM   #168
Tech Master
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 1,991
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesL_71 View Post
From what I have heard, the solder tabs are deceptively close together on this motor. Much more so than the D3.5 or the original Revtech. It could very well be the cause of these failures... perhaps a shunt/hit to the side caused the tabs to make brief contact, etc.
Wouldnt that just make the motor glitchy instead of poof?
Josh-n-ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 11:50 AM   #169
Tech Elite
 
B00t13g's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,040
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Ran a stock torque stator kill shot at 96/46 in my t4. Definitely feels better to me than a d3.5, but does not have the pull down low. Ill be trying out a torque rotor for the next race.
__________________
Mackenzie Meyercord
Rc America, Xray, MOTIV, Avid, Team EAM, Apex Rc Pro Shop, Pro Spec USA, Sanwa, RSD
B00t13g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 12:01 PM   #170
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,065
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan-Dan Team-X View Post
Wats The Difference Between The Killshot & Fantom Racing APEXv2
Quote:
Originally Posted by vivo quevas View Post
They are the same motor! Fantom tunes them and put his labels on Killshot motors. Fantom offers various options, Rotor changes between Torque or broad band rotoes and stators.
Not including all the tuning options... Fantom is also a complete extra step in quality control. They literally have thousands of dollars worth of motor parts that are put into a "do not sell" bin, because they don't quite meet the specs you would expect from the product. Fantom eats those costs directly, and passes that extra quality control onto the customers for free. (i.e. fantom motors are not more expensive then buying direct from trinity) It's one BIG advantage of buying from Jeff/Fantom, they check/rebuild/test everything they put together before it goes off to us.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 01:13 PM   #171
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,111
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

What rotor is in the RPM version? I'm pretty sure it's a broadband rotor, can someone verify that? Should I keep it in or will the HT make a noticeable difference? I have both versions HT and RPM and haven't run either yet. Just wondering if I should run RPM/HT and HT/BROADBAND or just leave them alone and run them
JOE SI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 01:17 PM   #172
Tech Master
 
Autocratic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,690
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Both versions of the Apex2 come with a 12.3mm Broadband rotor.

I'm really liking the HT rotor with the RPM stator. Plenty of punch and is stupid fast down the straight. I would definitely say it's on par with the D3.5 in overall power. D3.5 is the king of torque with a 12.5 HT rotor, but the Apex2 is right behind it.
__________________
Thanks to my sponsors for 2015!
XFactory RC | Proline Racing | Fantom Racing | Avid RC | Speed Passion USA | Factory1 | Hy-Traction Juice | Mike's Hobby Shop
Autocratic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 01:56 PM   #173
Tech Elite
 
B00t13g's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,040
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Autocratic View Post
Both versions of the Apex2 come with a 12.3mm Broadband rotor.

I'm really liking the HT rotor with the RPM stator. Plenty of punch and is stupid fast down the straight. I would definitely say it's on par with the D3.5 in overall power. D3.5 is the king of torque with a 12.5 HT rotor, but the Apex2 is right behind it.
Ill have to give that a try. I plan to test the rpm with the hi torque rotor and the torque with the high torque as well.
__________________
Mackenzie Meyercord
Rc America, Xray, MOTIV, Avid, Team EAM, Apex Rc Pro Shop, Pro Spec USA, Sanwa, RSD
B00t13g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 01:08 PM   #174
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Default

Advice please!

We are running 17.5 Blinky tc with a FDR limit of 4.0. Not allowed to go under that.
What sort would I go for? RPM or torque?

Home track are small and twisty and others are big. What would be the best overall motor. Do not want to buy both.
quasimodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 01:22 PM   #175
Tech Master
 
Autocratic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,690
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B00t13g View Post
Ill have to give that a try. I plan to test the rpm with the hi torque rotor and the torque with the high torque as well.
Rpm/HT rotor I feel is the best combo so far. I played around with HT/HT and it was a little too aggressive down low and didn't really carry any power on the straight. HT/HT also needs to be geared really low in order to take advantage of the low rpm powerband so you're not over-revving the motor.

HT/HT is going in the B4 this weekend to see how well it does in offroad.
__________________
Thanks to my sponsors for 2015!
XFactory RC | Proline Racing | Fantom Racing | Avid RC | Speed Passion USA | Factory1 | Hy-Traction Juice | Mike's Hobby Shop
Autocratic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 02:11 PM   #176
Tech Champion
 
John Tag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 8,911
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quasimodo View Post
Advice please!

We are running 17.5 Blinky tc with a FDR limit of 4.0. Not allowed to go under that.
What sort would I go for? RPM or torque?

Home track are small and twisty and others are big. What would be the best overall motor. Do not want to buy both.
How big are the tracks and what is the avg lap times for both tracks..?
__________________
www.express-motorsports.net for all your motor needs
Multi time National Champions,Reedy Champs,Vegas Champs,Birds, Champs,Tagstime@hotmail.com

Team Associated-Express Motorsports-Trinity-Reflex Racing-A Main Hobbies-ProtekRC
John Tag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 02:24 PM   #177
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Tag View Post
How big are the tracks and what is the avg lap times for both tracks..?
10 sec on home track 14 meters of straight and 15-19 sec on the biggest ones with 22m of straights. Hope this helps.

Last edited by quasimodo; 06-18-2013 at 02:35 PM.
quasimodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 02:34 PM   #178
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,498
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quasimodo View Post
10 sec on hometrack and 15-19 sec on the biggest. Hope this helps.
.
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 02:41 PM   #179
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OVA View Post
ask the fast guy at your track for help or let them driver your car and they can tell if you are gearing it wrong...
I am asking what motor to go with. RPM or torque version. We have no clue since we all have run boosted only. For the next season we will all race blinky for the first time. And there will be restrictions to a 4.0 FDR. So with this info I am wondering. I see that you US guys gear much lower than this so I am thinking perhaps a RPM version would do the job.

Cheers
quasimodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 02:42 PM   #180
Tech Champion
 
John Tag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 8,911
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

That's a MAJOR spread in lap times..The RPM motor would lag some on the 10 sec track and the HT motor would lag some on the bigger track. If you looking to choose 1 motor I would choose a motor for tracks you would run more in the series Big track RPM or short track HT. That or but 1 motor and 1 extra stator so all you have to do is swap out stators. Check your PMs
__________________
www.express-motorsports.net for all your motor needs
Multi time National Champions,Reedy Champs,Vegas Champs,Birds, Champs,Tagstime@hotmail.com

Team Associated-Express Motorsports-Trinity-Reflex Racing-A Main Hobbies-ProtekRC
John Tag is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:54 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0