R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-03-2013, 07:45 AM   #1156
Tech Elite
 
Potoczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 3,501
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shock Tower View Post
Maybe this is an general question, but since the problem is on my new Mi5, I will postbit here.

My problem is to getting the rear swaybar adjusted right. The one side is lifting normaly up, but the other don't make the opposite side move at all ?

I have measured the swaybar links attached to the wishbone, and the are excatly the same lenght. The angel of the swaybar links is also 90 deg as stated in the manual. Without the swaybars links attached to the swaybar, the seaybar are moving freely, and without no sloop.

I have checked the swaybar on my setup board if it is straight, and it seems like it.

So I don't have any more ideas, anyone who have a good advice ?
Shock tower: in the sway bar links pack they give you 3 grub screws, 2 of them have points on the end and 1 is flat on the end. Make sure you use the flat grub screw for the centering collar in the middle. And the grub screws with the points go in the plastic holders.
__________________
Pete Potoczak

Home entertainment specialist
Secure Technologies/ www.stiworldwide.com
Potoczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 07:55 AM   #1157
Tech Addict
 
chiefj48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Palm Bay, Florida
Posts: 688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gdcopbdcop View Post
leave the ball cup alone. cutting the shaft is enough....
Thank you.....

what about the .3mm shim for the seal unit????
__________________
chiefj48
Home of the; 2016 ROAR On Road Asphalt Nationals
Special Thanks to , Awesomatix USA, Valkaria RC, Trinity, Discount RC Store, Team Associated, Team Powers, Prime Hobby
https://www.facebook.com/ValkariaRcraceway/
chiefj48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 08:25 AM   #1158
Tech Elite
 
IIGQ4U's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA SoCal
Posts: 2,489
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miguelito75 View Post
The best way i found to build my shocks with no rebound is to drill a hole in the plastic shock cap. Just a 0.5 mm will do the job.
This is what I do as well.
IIGQ4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 01:57 PM   #1159
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In a house
Posts: 209
Default

When do you use rebound and when do not use it,somthing i have not really understood,basiclly whats it used for always run none,but like to know anyway.

At euros chris said about a brace there testing and lower shock towers and think they said shocks too,
Quietman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 02:30 PM   #1160
Tech Elite
 
Potoczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 3,501
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quietman View Post
When do you use rebound and when do not use it,somthing i have not really understood,basiclly whats it used for always run none,but like to know anyway.

At euros chris said about a brace there testing and lower shock towers and think they said shocks too,
Typically you run more rebound if your on a low grip track. If traction is high then minimal rebound. Or if your track is bumpy then run more rebound
__________________
Pete Potoczak

Home entertainment specialist
Secure Technologies/ www.stiworldwide.com
Potoczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 02:40 PM   #1161
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Potoczak View Post
Shock tower: in the sway bar links pack they give you 3 grub screws, 2 of them have points on the end and 1 is flat on the end. Make sure you use the flat grub screw for the centering collar in the middle. And the grub screws with the points go in the plastic holders.

Thanks for the hint. I checked that also, and no problem there. I talked to another RC friend, and he told me to try adjusting the lenght of the sway bar links.

I shorten one of the links, and now both side works as they should. So there must be some tweak in the swaybar, that I coulden't see even when I laid it flat on my setup board.
Shock Tower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 03:40 PM   #1162
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In a house
Posts: 209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Potoczak View Post
Typically you run more rebound if your on a low grip track. If traction is high then minimal rebound. Or if your track is bumpy then run more rebound
Thanks
Quietman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 05:23 PM   #1163
Tech Elite
 
Potoczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 3,501
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone soak their belts is wd-40 to soften them up?? If so how long??
__________________
Pete Potoczak

Home entertainment specialist
Secure Technologies/ www.stiworldwide.com
Potoczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 06:13 AM   #1164
Tech Master
 
scott_g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Brisbane, Aus
Posts: 1,785
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to scott_g Send a message via Skype™ to scott_g
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Potoczak View Post
Does anyone soak their belts is wd-40 to soften them up?? If so how long??
Another option if you're running in a spec class is to pick up a set of the grey belts (U3012/U3013) which are already softer...
__________________
schumacher, speedpassion and more plus race blog at www.actionrc.com.au
twittering @ scottyg_rc
scott_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 06:25 AM   #1165
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 9
Default

At the euro's today. So far i have spoken to Chris and Martin. Both very nice and helpfull. The cars are pretty standard! They are running a new Brace that attachés the front of the rear arms. And a couple of small things.
Attached Thumbnails
Schumacher Mi5-image.jpg  
miguelito75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 08:49 AM   #1166
Tech Addict
 
NITROmmm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 577
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by scott_g View Post
Another option if you're running in a spec class is to pick up a set of the grey belts (U3012/U3013) which are already softer...
Scott g is on the money, I use these belts on my mi5 running 17.5 boosted and the car is very "free" and feels a lot smoother. As with all belts keep an eye on the tension.


miguelito, what is that brace?
__________________
He who laughs last, thinks slowest!

RC HOBBYZONE
NITROmmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 04:14 PM   #1167
Tech Elite
 
Potoczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 3,501
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

This question is for the guys that run the orca batteries in the mi5. What are you guys doing with the inner battery post. With the battery in the car it is almost under the top deck. It cannot be pulled out without taking the battery out. I like to charge my batteries with them in the car. Anyone have any idea's on how the acomplish this??
__________________
Pete Potoczak

Home entertainment specialist
Secure Technologies/ www.stiworldwide.com
Potoczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 05:58 PM   #1168
Tech Elite
 
haywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,732
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Potoczak View Post
This question is for the guys that run the orca batteries in the mi5. What are you guys doing with the inner battery post. With the battery in the car it is almost under the top deck. It cannot be pulled out without taking the battery out. I like to charge my batteries with them in the car. Anyone have any idea's on how the acomplish this??
I have the same problem. I will have to remove it and charge it in a lipo sack.
__________________
/ Roche Rapida 2015-2016 / Hobbywing / Team Scream / Rc Painting By Mikey / Ko Propo / MMR / Dri-Fit Mafia /
haywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 06:08 PM   #1169
Tech Elite
 
haywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,732
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miguelito75 View Post
At the euro's today. So far i have spoken to Chris and Martin. Both very nice and helpfull. The cars are pretty standard! They are running a new Brace that attachés the front of the rear arms. And a couple of small things.
Who makes and sells that purple battery tape?
__________________
/ Roche Rapida 2015-2016 / Hobbywing / Team Scream / Rc Painting By Mikey / Ko Propo / MMR / Dri-Fit Mafia /
haywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 06:11 PM   #1170
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,803
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

After this weekend of racing (total runs on the car is between 18-22 and a couple of major crashes and bumps/bruises along the way), I've found about .75-1mm of vertical play in my front arms. The CF is perfectly fine but has anyone found an effective way of removing the glue-in inserts in the arms?
I wonder if there was a way to have the inserts attached w/o ca'n them...
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO

Last edited by JayBee; 08-04-2013 at 06:23 PM.
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:54 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0