R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-24-2013, 01:17 AM   #1006
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,803
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

For droop #'s on the setups in the manual (or for that matter all of the current setup sheets), are they using the 10mm blocks? I don't see the box checked off
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 01:59 AM   #1007
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olhipster1 View Post
turn the gauge North-South and measure.. gauge currently is facing West -East.
Why didn't I think about that :-) off course, that proberbly work. Thanks, coulden't just not see what the f... I should do.
Shock Tower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 02:05 AM   #1008
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John.C View Post
+1

If I had to measure down stop, I would measure from the center of the axles with digital calipers. For simplicity, I would measure from the top of the axle to the setup board and subtract half of the thickness of the axle + height of support blocks. I don't see a need for it, but if you choose, you can than compare this value against any touring car.
I am not used to measure droop, so I am actauly not sure how to. I have read in the Xray setup manual, but dosen't quit see that downstop is not needed for also the droop adjustment. Maybe I will look at the tube, for an explanation.
Shock Tower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 02:07 AM   #1009
Tech Regular
 
scoyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 450
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayBee View Post
For droop #'s on the setups in the manual (or for that matter all of the current setup sheets), are they using the 10mm blocks? I don't see the box checked off
I was told that they are doing it flat on a setup board with a ride height gauge. Personally I use 10mm blocks and a normal hudy droop gauge.
__________________
Web Site: http://www.rcracingreviews.net
Sponsors: XFactoryUK | Serpent UK | Modeltune
scoyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 08:34 AM   #1010
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 257
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olhipster1 View Post
turn the gauge North-South and measure.. gauge currently is facing West -East.
I use the ride gauge in North/South mode as well with wheels off on a flat surface but some of the chassis screws in my build are not perfectly flush so my chassis won't sit perfectly flat. I think the alloy front wishbone screws are the culprit. I may try a different brand screw as an easy fix.
DavidNERODease is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 12:11 PM   #1011
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,439
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

The diff cams on those pics of Martin's car are Mi4 ones that have been modified. Un-modified Mi4 ones WILL NOT fit straight in to the Mi5.
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 12:35 PM   #1012
Tech Elite
 
Potoczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 3,501
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattW View Post
The diff cams on those pics of Martin's car are Mi4 ones that have been modified. Un-modified Mi4 ones WILL NOT fit straight in to the Mi5.
You are correct! They do not fit. They dont slide all the way back to sit flush with the bulkhead..
__________________
Pete Potoczak

Home entertainment specialist
Secure Technologies/ www.stiworldwide.com
Potoczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 12:44 PM   #1013
Tech Regular
 
scoyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 450
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattW View Post
The diff cams on those pics of Martin's car are Mi4 ones that have been modified. Un-modified Mi4 ones WILL NOT fit straight in to the Mi5.
Is Martin just running them because they are purple or is there some other reason?
__________________
Web Site: http://www.rcracingreviews.net
Sponsors: XFactoryUK | Serpent UK | Modeltune
scoyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 01:16 PM   #1014
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoyle View Post
Is Martin just running them because they are purple or is there some other reason?

he likes the purple
__________________
if you have control your not pushing hard
all or nothing
tcboy1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 03:29 PM   #1015
Tech Regular
 
scoyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 450
Default

What difference does it make moving from the 4 groove link plate to the 3 groove?
__________________
Web Site: http://www.rcracingreviews.net
Sponsors: XFactoryUK | Serpent UK | Modeltune
scoyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 04:27 PM   #1016
Tech Elite
 
haywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,732
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoyle View Post
What difference does it make moving from the 4 groove link plate to the 3 groove?
+1
__________________
/ Roche Rapida 2015-2016 / Hobbywing / Team Scream / Rc Painting By Mikey / Ko Propo / MMR / Dri-Fit Mafia /
haywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 04:28 PM   #1017
Tech Regular
 
DiscountRCStore's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Niles, Mi.
Posts: 331
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoyle View Post
What difference does it make moving from the 4 groove link plate to the 3 groove?
Allows you to run a shorter camber link = more (quicker) camber gain under compression..
__________________
www.discountRCstore.com - Free shipping over $50 storewide

---> Like us on Facebook!
DiscountRCStore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 10:01 PM   #1018
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 35
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Got my kit today, cant wait to start building then racing
13art is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 06:56 AM   #1019
Tech Master
 
silvalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,545
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Anyone tried using the bigbore touring shocks? Pointless?
__________________
2013 QLD Champion Potato Sack Racer
silvalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 08:24 AM   #1020
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 257
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silvalis View Post
Anyone tried using the bigbore touring shocks? Pointless?
I also don't understand the point of the big bore shocks.
DavidNERODease is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:48 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0