R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-17-2013, 12:23 AM   #496
Tech Adept
 
PhilippineEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 208
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I have my ESC near the servo and the battery in the rear close to the motor. I haven't been able to do a proper shake down on the car yet so I can't say anything about it's performance. I checked the center of gravity of my car and it's near the middle, just slightly forward. I plan to get some run time this week and then next month try mounting my ESC in the rear and see if there is any difference.

But if you want the "cleanest" layout, the ESC should be in the rear near the motor. That would eliminate lots of wires running almost the 16cm to the motor. But note you would need a short (55-75mm) brushless sensor cable.
__________________
1:10 Tamiya TRF101, Turnigy Trackstar 17.5, Toro TS120
1:12 Tacon Thriller
PhilippineEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 06:36 PM   #497
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 32
Default

Mr.Autocratic, when you have time can u please call me..frankie p san antonio tx 210.245.0395.
Thanks for your time.

☆frankie p☆
AE 1/12 5.2
TRF 101 F1
Mr.75MHz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 07:15 PM   #498
Tech Master
 
Autocratic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,690
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.75MHz View Post
Mr.Autocratic, when you have time can u please call me..frankie p san antonio tx 210.245.0395.
Thanks for your time.

☆frankie p☆
AE 1/12 5.2
TRF 101 F1
You have PM
__________________
Thanks to my sponsors for 2015!
XFactory RC | Proline Racing | Fantom Racing | Avid RC | Speed Passion USA | Factory1 | Hy-Traction Juice | Mike's Hobby Shop
Autocratic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 12:46 AM   #499
Tech Adept
 
PhilippineEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 208
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I ran my car for 1 hr today. I really need the right tires for the track. I was spinning out too often even trying to run as cautiously as possible. But so far I love it.
__________________
1:10 Tamiya TRF101, Turnigy Trackstar 17.5, Toro TS120
1:12 Tacon Thriller
PhilippineEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 11:10 PM   #500
Tech Regular
 
FL_SilverEvo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 268
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to FL_SilverEvo8
Default

How are most of you setting up your 101? The battery to the rear, middle, or all they way forward? Where are you putting your electronics? I got one of these kits for my birthday and try to see what would be the best way to set it up. Should I go with a shorty pack or go with a fully size battery? I have the ride height set up pretty good. I am like 5mm all the way around. Don't want to go to low because I will be racing on asphalt. I am going to try rubber tires. But we haven't really had any luck with them at our track. Got to love Florida weather. When the track gets up to 130+ degrease. We have had to gear our motors down because the track was getting to hot. Crazy right? Any other time the gear that I normally run is fine in temps.
__________________
Off-Road - Durango:DEX210R(2wd Buggy), DESC210R(2wd SCT), DESC410R(4wd SCT)
On-Road - CRC: Gen-X 10 LE(WGT), X-Ray:T3 2011(VTA), X-Ray:T2 009(USGT) TRF 101(F-1), AE: RC10R5.1(Spec17.5)
Jeff's RC Studio Video>> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WtZ8-TV8Fs8&feature=share
FL_SilverEvo8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 10:39 PM   #501
Tech Regular
 
Qwiglee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 313
Default

I am in the middle of my build right now and just finished assembling the differential. I noticed the spur gear is a little loose and can wobble back and forth. Is this normal? I have no previous experience with pan cars or F1 so I thought it might be OK. I triple checked the diff assembly to make sure I didn't miss anything but it just seems like the plastic spur gear adapter they give you is a teeny bit too wide.
Qwiglee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 10:49 PM   #502
Tech Master
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

The gear has to wobble. If it doesn't that means the diff rings are touching the spur on both sides at the same time. So yours is good.
edhchoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 09:40 AM   #503
Tech Master
 
Autocratic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,690
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

What body fits this car the best? The F104 Pro body is nice but the dips before the sweep back at the tail hit the shock mount plate on the pod.
__________________
Thanks to my sponsors for 2015!
XFactory RC | Proline Racing | Fantom Racing | Avid RC | Speed Passion USA | Factory1 | Hy-Traction Juice | Mike's Hobby Shop
Autocratic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 09:52 AM   #504
Tech Regular
 
volracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Madison, Alabama
Posts: 266
Send a message via ICQ to volracer
Default

I have a couple F104 bodies and a Vodafone McLaren. The nose on the F104 drops more than this year's cars (may end up resembling next year's cars). I have ordered a couple Ferrari F60s. The nose is high and it does not look like the Ferrari 2012, which looks like a Ferrari 2012 and nothing else.

If you put the pontoons on the F104, I think you can modify it by cutting off the upper appendages or airfoils in front of the rear wheels. I have looked and the F104 could be made to look like a F3, Gran Turismo formula car or older Formula Nippon car.
volracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 12:17 PM   #505
Dan
Tech Elite
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,242
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

The F60 body fits pretty well.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 10:29 AM   #506
Tech Apprentice
 
simmo0916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 67
Default

Hi guys - I asked my local hobby shop to get me a TRF101 chassis in, And he replied saying the Tamiya importers will not be getting anymore, as no more are being made. Was the TRF101 limited edition????
Or is my local hobby shop full of crap?!

Cheers guys.
simmo0916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 10:32 AM   #507
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,540
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by simmo0916 View Post
Hi guys - I asked my local hobby shop to get me a TRF101 chassis in, And he replied saying the Tamiya importers will not be getting anymore, as no more are being made. Was the TRF101 limited edition????
Or is my local hobby shop full of crap?!

Cheers guys.
USA should have no shortage as yet
So
Foc perhaps
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 12:07 PM   #508
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockport, UK
Posts: 979
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by simmo0916 View Post
Hi guys - I asked my local hobby shop to get me a TRF101 chassis in, And he replied saying the Tamiya importers will not be getting anymore, as no more are being made. Was the TRF101 limited edition????
Or is my local hobby shop full of crap?!

Cheers guys.
The TRF101 part number denotes it as a limited edition, which usually means Tamiya only make one batch of kits unless there is enough demand to sell a complete new batch of kits, and Tamiya USA have none left.

If you want to know whether Tamiya make another batch in the future and whether Tamiya USA will import them, the people to ask are Tamiya USA themselves.
terry.sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 01:03 PM   #509
Tech Master
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

My carbon shaft broke yesterday. I am replacing it with steel shaft. But for curiosity, is the RM01 shaft a direct replacement?
edhchoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 01:27 PM   #510
Tech Master
 
Autocratic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,690
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edhchoe View Post
My carbon shaft broke yesterday. I am replacing it with steel shaft. But for curiosity, is the RM01 shaft a direct replacement?
I don't think so.

The 101 diff housing is pinned to the carbon shaft, so it's not a direct replacement.

Curious though, how did you break the shaft?
__________________
Thanks to my sponsors for 2015!
XFactory RC | Proline Racing | Fantom Racing | Avid RC | Speed Passion USA | Factory1 | Hy-Traction Juice | Mike's Hobby Shop
Autocratic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:45 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0