R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-06-2013, 05:28 AM   #481
Tech Master
 
Jerz616's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas,TX
Posts: 1,045
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Can you use a smaller power supply. Like a 25A 250w that I used on my hitech x4. Would it allow me to use most of the features until a larger PS was purchased. It shows you can use a 60A, but do you have to have that large of a PS.
__________________
Ryan Gracey

XRAY T4'14/ORCA VXX/ORCA TX 5.0
XRAY XB8'14
Jerz616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 06:04 AM   #482
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lycan View Post
Just noticed there are 2 1200watt PSU's from efuel (skyrc), 15-24v 60amp or 15-30v 50amp. Looks like the 30v one was just added.
60a one, it should normally give a little extra!!
Jampot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 08:37 AM   #483
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 616
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Everyone needs to figure their actual wattage requirements before they go spending a shload too much money on more power supply then they will ever need.
MC112b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 09:03 AM   #484
Tech Master
 
Jerz616's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas,TX
Posts: 1,045
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MC112b View Post
Everyone needs to figure their actual wattage requirements before they go spending a shload too much money on more power supply then they will ever need.
That's kinda what I thought. I usually only charge a 2s at a 2C rate. So most of mine are charged at 14A. And I believe that equates to 118. Even at 20A it would only be 170 max. So at that rate my 25a 250W PS would be fine I would think.
__________________
Ryan Gracey

XRAY T4'14/ORCA VXX/ORCA TX 5.0
XRAY XB8'14
Jerz616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 09:51 AM   #485
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Kaohsiung City, Taiwan
Posts: 1,571
Send a message via ICQ to JiuHaWong
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MC112b View Post
Everyone needs to figure their actual wattage requirements before they go spending a shload too much money on more power supply then they will ever need.
__________________
오늘의 청소년들이 미래의 문제를 처리 할 준비가 병 슬프게도 있습니다 우려하고있다.
JiuHaWong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 10:01 AM   #486
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,660
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MC112b View Post
Everyone needs to figure their actual wattage requirements before they go spending a shload too much money on more power supply then they will ever need.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-Proliant-...item2c721840ef

$5.94 + $7.95 shipping = 12v, 74A on a standard 110v outlet.

As stated before, the fan is a little loud, but the PS is a tank.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 7 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 10:19 AM   #487
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 616
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
http://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-Proliant-...item2c721840ef

$5.94 + $7.95 shipping = 12v, 74A on a standard 110v outlet.

As stated before, the fan is a little loud, but the PS is a tank.
Exactly, like I don't have enough crap to drag to the track. I have plenty of space for a "tank" of a power supply I'm only going to use 15 percent its total potential.
MC112b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 11:42 AM   #488
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,660
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MC112b View Post
Exactly, like I don't have enough crap to drag to the track. I have plenty of space for a "tank" of a power supply I'm only going to use 15 percent its total potential.
Tough to find a PS (especially at that capacity) that is only $13.89 shipped. If you run a foam car (WGT, 1/12 scale, etc) and have a tire truer, this one can power that as well. Or tire warmers, etc. Think outside the box.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 7 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 11:55 AM   #489
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 183
Default

If u would like to work out the watts required.
My lipo's are 6000 mah
The charger charges at 70a
I charge to 8.44volts
The power supply I'm looking at has 15-24v supply adjustable.
It was mainly the max discharge amperage I can discharge at using power supply not a 12v battery.
And will that power supply cater for a 70a charge rate?
Obviously I will have tire warmers running
And possible a few other small items wheel balancer etc
Jampot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 12:35 PM   #490
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 616
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
Tough to find a PS (especially at that capacity) that is only $13.89 shipped. If you run a foam car (WGT, 1/12 scale, etc) and have a tire truer, this one can power that as well. Or tire warmers, etc. Think outside the box.
I totally get the "bang for the buck" scenario. I live by the server supply mod mentality. A name brand supply of any real watts gets very expensive quickly. I personally put some value in form. Loud, heavy, and large aren't things I look for in a carry rig. That's my opinion, but not exactly what I was trying to imply.

I'm encouraging people to analyze what they currently have. In a lot of cases there's no need to spend the money on something they technically might already have.

I blew a guys mind when I explained that his old "15 amp" supply actually had the wattage to charge his 1s batteries at 20 amps. This is the type of guy I'm trying to help.

Parallel charging a few 4s batteries at 40A, yes, we're talking serious hardware upgrades.
MC112b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 12:41 PM   #491
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,525
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MC112b View Post
Exactly, like I don't have enough crap to drag to the track. I have plenty of space for a "tank" of a power supply I'm only going to use 15 percent its total potential.
I know the feeling. Right now I'm lugging a Pyramid 30 amp PS around, and I just about need to tow a trailer behind my pickup truck just for that when I go to the track.
MUDVAYNE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 08:35 AM   #492
Tech Champion
 
John Tag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 8,921
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

What's the highest anybody's been able to discharge with there 306Bs on a 2S.
__________________
www.express-motorsports.net for all your motor needs
Multi time National Champions,Reedy Champs,Vegas Champs,Birds, Champs,Tagstime@hotmail.com

Team Associated-Express Motorsports-Trinity-Reflex Racing-A Main Hobbies-ProtekRC
John Tag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 03:29 AM   #493
Tech Fanatic
 
daleburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 805
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Tag View Post
What's the highest anybody's been able to discharge with there 306Bs on a 2S.
I think 10a if you're connected to a power supply. 30a if connected to a 12v leisure battery using regenerative discharge
__________________
Team Xray
RC-Timing Software - http://www.rc-timing.com
Mercedes AMG F1 - http://www.mercedes-amg-f1.com/
daleburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 10:08 AM   #494
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Kaohsiung City, Taiwan
Posts: 1,571
Send a message via ICQ to JiuHaWong
Default

RMS-1 - Rotor Measurement System

Found this product interesting.

Does anyone know what the Turbo 35 GFX discharges at? And will it discharge to a safe lipo storage voltage?
__________________
오늘의 청소년들이 미래의 문제를 처리 할 준비가 병 슬프게도 있습니다 우려하고있다.
JiuHaWong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 10:34 AM   #495
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 616
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JiuHaWong View Post
RMS-1 - Rotor Measurement System

Found this product interesting.

Does anyone know what the Turbo 35 GFX discharges at? And will it discharge to a safe lipo storage voltage?
You can set the GFX to end at a specific voltage. It will discharge at 35 amps.

I still use one consistently for the nostalgic race feel. If I'm running 1s it's all I'll use. My PL8 does a nicer job probably, but doesn't feel or look the same.

That, and the regenerative discharge thing is a crock, total PITA if you ask me.

I'd buy an updated GFX type CE charger tomorrow if it had the real 40a faculties and built in balancing.
MC112b is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:09 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net