R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-26-2013, 10:32 AM   #391
Tech Champion
 
fq06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,628
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bvoltz View Post
I'm using a 47amp Power supply.....
You could have a 1,000,000 amp PS and you would still only discharge up to the chargers internal capability. Look at your dashboard if your charger has it to see how much your PS is giving during discharge... zero.

I get about a 7a discharge rate without "regenerative discharge" (hooked up to a battery) and 40a with.
__________________
BCE SCT410 / Hobbywing 3656sd ~ RX8.2
DEX210 / Trinity 17.5 ~ RS.2
Westcoast Raceway (R.I.P.) | SMC | PowerLab
fq06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 11:08 AM   #392
Tech Master
 
jsinclair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: rice lake, wi
Posts: 1,036
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bvoltz View Post
What is interesting for me is with the icharger I'm not able to discharge more then 19.2 amps, I can set the icharger to 30 or more, but the battery will not give up more then 19.2... It is 100c Revtech....
You can do a dummy load on the open channel to bring the discharge rate up.
jsinclair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 11:13 AM   #393
Tech Elite
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fq06 View Post
You could have a 1,000,000 amp PS and you would still only discharge up to the chargers internal capability. Look at your dashboard if your charger has it to see how much your PS is giving during discharge... zero.

I get about a 7a discharge rate without "regenerative discharge" (hooked up to a battery) and 40a with.
I need to read some more about this, but is it really necessary to do?
__________________
Wheeling an Xray T4 and T4 14 using a Ko Propo, powered by EA motors and Speed Passion Speedo, paid for by my wife.

Digi3Dworks - 3D printing for the medical Field.
bvoltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 11:34 AM   #394
Tech Champion
 
fq06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,628
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

It may or may not work with your charger... not sure. It does with the PowerLab.
Can't hurt to try... just hook up to your car battery instead of your PS and give it a whirl, can't hurt.
__________________
BCE SCT410 / Hobbywing 3656sd ~ RX8.2
DEX210 / Trinity 17.5 ~ RS.2
Westcoast Raceway (R.I.P.) | SMC | PowerLab
fq06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 12:33 PM   #395
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lynnwood, Washington
Posts: 777
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Discharging on the icharger 4010 has nothing to do with the power supply. When you discharge you are dumping energy. In this case if you're discharging while connected to a power supply, you are dumping energy in the form of heat into the charger. Power supplies only handle output not input. Car batteries can handle input (recharging) and output, that's why the icharger needs a car battery to discharge over 20amps (regenerative discharging).
malkiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 12:43 PM   #396
Tech Master
 
jsinclair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: rice lake, wi
Posts: 1,036
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

To do a regenerative discharge on the 4010 via DC battery supply you must select appropriate settings, just simply hooking it up to a car battery won't cut it
jsinclair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 12:56 PM   #397
Tech Elite
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsinclair View Post
To do a regenerative discharge on the 4010 via DC battery supply you must select appropriate settings, just simply hooking it up to a car battery won't cut it
From what I understand, this is setting is on page 33 of the manual... When I get home I will look at this...

I'm asking if this is of any benefit because carrying a car battery to the track is a bit much.... I only run Stock... so I'm not sure that getting them any warmer then a discharge then right into a charge is needed... Just asking... trying to understand... I get the benefits of charging at 20 or more amps, it clearly shows up in the IR of the battery....

Rather then a car battery what about the old days of a light strip??? Yes it would take 3 of them together....
__________________
Wheeling an Xray T4 and T4 14 using a Ko Propo, powered by EA motors and Speed Passion Speedo, paid for by my wife.

Digi3Dworks - 3D printing for the medical Field.
bvoltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 09:56 AM   #398
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: France
Posts: 172
Default

Hello,

I m looking to buy an icharger 3010 b with a 12 v 40 amp power supply.

Is it able to charge a 2S lipo at 30 amp ?

Or will i have to switch to a 24 v powersupply

Thanks
Manson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 11:06 AM   #399
Tech Champion
 
fq06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,628
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manson View Post
Hello,

I m looking to buy an icharger 3010 b with a 12 v 40 amp power supply.

Is it able to charge a 2S lipo at 30 amp ?

Or will i have to switch to a 24 v powersupply

Thanks
How many watts does the PS have? Forgot how it goes... amps x volts = watts. Then watts / volts = amps?

My airplane buddy can do this in his sleep.
__________________
BCE SCT410 / Hobbywing 3656sd ~ RX8.2
DEX210 / Trinity 17.5 ~ RS.2
Westcoast Raceway (R.I.P.) | SMC | PowerLab
fq06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 01:09 PM   #400
Tech Master
 
Mr RCTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,291
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fq06 View Post
How many watts does the PS have? Forgot how it goes... amps x volts = watts. Then watts / volts = amps?

My airplane buddy can do this in his sleep.
CORRECT!!
Mr RCTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 02:01 PM   #401
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,530
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bvoltz View Post
Rather then a car battery what about the old days of a light strip??? Yes it would take 3 of them together....
$10.80

http://www.integy.com/st_prod.html?p...9#.UfrMiKzRfh4
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 03:49 PM   #402
Tech Champion
 
fq06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,628
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr RCTech View Post
CORRECT!!
I one up your batman with a



So Mason, you need 8.4 x 30 to get a watt rating of 252 and then you need a pad... you dont want to max out your PS so safely a 12v PS can do 30a on a 2 cell.
Your PS will do 480 watts peaked out.
correct Mr RcTech?
__________________
BCE SCT410 / Hobbywing 3656sd ~ RX8.2
DEX210 / Trinity 17.5 ~ RS.2
Westcoast Raceway (R.I.P.) | SMC | PowerLab

Last edited by fq06; 08-01-2013 at 04:11 PM.
fq06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 04:10 PM   #403
Super Moderator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester Hills Michigan
Posts: 7,232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manson View Post
Hello,

I m looking to buy an icharger 3010 b with a 12 v 40 amp power supply.

Is it able to charge a 2S lipo at 30 amp ?

Or will i have to switch to a 24 v powersupply

Thanks
Yes the 12V 40A supply will work for a 2S. It will draw somewhere around 24 amps peak from the supply. (A little less amps if it's actually a ~13.8V supply like many are)

More info is available on the bottom of page 10 of the manual: 3010B Manual
Dave H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 05:34 PM   #404
Tech Master
 
Mr RCTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,291
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fq06 View Post
I one up your batman with a



So Mason, you need 8.4 x 30 to get a watt rating of 252 and then you need a pad... you dont want to max out your PS so safely a 12v PS can do 30a on a 2 cell.
Your PS will do 480 watts peaked out.
correct Mr RcTech?
LOL! That's funny!!
Mr RCTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 05:51 PM   #405
Tech Master
 
ChadB.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hillsboro,OR
Posts: 1,297
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone found if there is an advantage to charging at 20+ amps and and discharging at the same rate or higher than what the average Joe is doing when charging between 7-10 amps? I know it charging at a high rate will charge a lot quicker, but what is the overall power advantage of doing that?

Which charger are people using that charges at a high rate and also a great charger? What I currently have is a TP 610.
__________________
Chad Burdick
*Mugen Seiki*Flashpoint Racing Products*9th Annual Timezone Grand Prix July 13th-16th 2017*Unique Air Design*TimezoneRacing*RoseCityScaleRacers* Daves RC Track
ChadB. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:03 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net