R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-11-2014, 11:43 PM   #1156
Tech Adept
 
zephuros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 192
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robk View Post
answers in blue
Hi Rob.

I'll go with the stiffer centre spring next. I'm liking this as the car is getting better each time I drive it. Also, I'm running it on a huge track used by 1/8 GP racers, and with my FDR down to 2.7:1 it's very very quick and stable.

Yes, the steering mod removes the slop in the plastic bell crank and servo link. I guess the SP ball cups on my car are a little worn which pronounces the slop.
Changing away from them has made everything nice and crisp. I'm now running tamiya soft rear springs and yokomo super soft fronts. Am going to experiment with changing those at the track tomorrow.

Thanks again for your help. Will update findings tomorrow.
__________________
__________________

==============
awww bollox....
zephuros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 12:45 AM   #1157
Tech Adept
 
zephuros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 192
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default



Hey Rob, here's a picture of the steering mod. Still playing around with Ackerman shims which explains the gap between the studs and servo horn
__________________
__________________

==============
awww bollox....
zephuros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 08:13 PM   #1158
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,278
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to liljohn1064 Send a message via MSN to liljohn1064 Send a message via Yahoo to liljohn1064
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blwaz23 View Post
I was wondering what are the positives and negatives of the SP1. What parts break the most and is there any brand that sells upgrades for this car. Last how well does this car handle stock and is it an easy car to tune.
No real negatives. Speedpassion has excellent option parts. There are currently no third party parts intentionally made for the car. The key is finding tires that hook up and a setup you can drive.
__________________
John Higgins
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 10:03 PM   #1159
Tech Adept
 
zephuros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 192
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by liljohn1064 View Post
No real negatives. Speedpassion has excellent option parts. There are currently no third party parts intentionally made for the car. The key is finding tires that hook up and a setup you can drive.
Agreed. And as I discover how to make best use of these parts the car seems to only get better. Sadly here in Malaysia we're stuck with using Ride R1s, which give excellent rear bite but the fronts are just a bit too hard for decent steering.

I just bought another SP1 kit for parts but have decided to build it up as a standby car instead!
__________________
__________________

==============
awww bollox....
zephuros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 08:06 AM   #1160
Tech Adept
 
adriang79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hobart, Tasmania
Posts: 121
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Drove my SP-1 for the first time this week, will post pics later.

The only pinion I had that would fit was a 19T, gave me 3.79:1. Rather be closer to 3.0:1, what is the biggest pinion I can fit with the standard 72T spur still fitted?
__________________
www.stmcc-hobart.weebly.com
STMCC Secretary

Team Associated TC6.2 Factory Team - Hobbywing V3.1 Stock spec -ORCA TX 13.5
TOP Rebel R-F01 - Hobbywing Justock - Thunder Power 21.5
adriang79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 10:48 AM   #1161
Super Moderator
 
racer1812's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 14,024
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adriang79 View Post
Drove my SP-1 for the first time this week, will post pics later.

The only pinion I had that would fit was a 19T, gave me 3.79:1. Rather be closer to 3.0:1, what is the biggest pinion I can fit with the standard 72T spur still fitted?
I'm in the same boat, I would have to double check but I think a 19 is about it, MAYBE a 20t. I know you'll need a smaller spur to get close to 3.0 (72 / 24 = 3.0) that will never fit.
__________________
Stop the hate! 'White Wheels Matter'

racer1812 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 11:12 AM   #1162
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,278
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to liljohn1064 Send a message via MSN to liljohn1064 Send a message via Yahoo to liljohn1064
Default

Switch the rear spur to a Kimbrough 69. Then run a 21 to 26 pinion set.

I ran mine again last night at practice with very high grip and was running very good lap times. It felt like I was running foams. No odd kick out or under steer. I was trying to get a better scuff on my 571/575 tires and was what I would call extremely successful. I hadn't bothered to put in a PTX, so no idea what the times were. I was having a lot of fun so I was out with the car a good 20 minutes. The car was great everywhere. The only recommendation I got was to take a couple teeth off the pinion. I'm at 69/26 at the moment. Car wasn't hot, timing was good on the Trackstar 21.5. The theory he said is move the working power band down. It should generate similar lap times and use less battery doing it, but I may have to detune it a bit if torque is too high. I'll give this a try next time around as we ran out of time. Just as a background everyone at our track has a tendency to overgear the motor to make it more linear in feeling, so that's what I did. I personally think that regearing to 2.8 to 3.0 will be a good thing.

Happy motoring!
__________________
John Higgins
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 11:26 AM   #1163
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,278
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to liljohn1064 Send a message via MSN to liljohn1064 Send a message via Yahoo to liljohn1064
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zephuros View Post
Agreed. And as I discover how to make best use of these parts the car seems to only get better. Sadly here in Malaysia we're stuck with using Ride R1s, which give excellent rear bite but the fronts are just a bit too hard for decent steering.

I just bought another SP1 kit for parts but have decided to build it up as a standby car instead!
I did that with my LM-1. Now I have spares for years, 2 LM-1s and an SP-1. Last hopup is here, Alu servo bracket!

Time for custom parts! Just ordered a 6mm x 1m titanium rod ($75 US shipped). Time for some custom rear axles. One option is to cut it to the length of the carbon axle and drill out the pin hole for the inner hub. I just need the ends of some carbon axles that have been broken. The other option is to take the steel axle in and have the machining duplicated for the threaded end on the titanium rod and have the pin hole drilled for the inner hub. This will use a lot more stock. I should have enough stock for 5 or 6 and some scrap either way (extras!). I'm then switching to the Qtec left clamp hub. I have never trusted set screws. I don't like dimpling carbon axles, they always dig in and split or go loose on me. I'm running one of the clamp hubs on my LM-1 graphite axled car and wouldn't go back. I'll post the cost back and which option made the cut.
__________________
John Higgins
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 07:40 PM   #1164
Tech Adept
 
zephuros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 192
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by liljohn1064 View Post
I did that with my LM-1. Now I have spares for years, 2 LM-1s and an SP-1. Last hopup is here, Alu servo bracket!

Time for custom parts! Just ordered a 6mm x 1m titanium rod ($75 US shipped). Time for some custom rear axles. One option is to cut it to the length of the carbon axle and drill out the pin hole for the inner hub. I just need the ends of some carbon axles that have been broken. The other option is to take the steel axle in and have the machining duplicated for the threaded end on the titanium rod and have the pin hole drilled for the inner hub. This will use a lot more stock. I should have enough stock for 5 or 6 and some scrap either way (extras!). I'm then switching to the Qtec left clamp hub. I have never trusted set screws. I don't like dimpling carbon axles, they always dig in and split or go loose on me. I'm running one of the clamp hubs on my LM-1 graphite axled car and wouldn't go back. I'll post the cost back and which option made the cut.
Titanium axle!!! That will rock for sure. I've bent yet another steel axle and I'm not too fond or the carbon ones. Let me know how it goes with this one. I might need to do some experimenting of my own. How does the Qtec hub clamp down on the shaft? Never seen one of them.
__________________
__________________

==============
awww bollox....
zephuros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 08:04 PM   #1165
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,157
Default

I use the Q-Teq hub on my SP-1...really like this hub. I then space out the hubs to get to 190mm rather than adding spacers inside the wheel.

Q-teq hub found here:
http://www.reflexracing.net/QTEQ-Tam...ack_p_995.html
__________________
Apex RC
www.apexrc.com - Hawaii's #1 RC Proshop

Share & Like Our Page:https://www.facebook.com/ApexRCProshop
Win free stuff!
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 08:22 PM   #1166
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,278
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to liljohn1064 Send a message via MSN to liljohn1064 Send a message via Yahoo to liljohn1064
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zephuros View Post
Titanium axle!!! That will rock for sure. I've bent yet another steel axle and I'm not too fond or the carbon ones. Let me know how it goes with this one. I might need to do some experimenting of my own. How does the Qtec hub clamp down on the shaft? Never seen one of them.
Like a collet. It has a 6mm inner diameter with 4 equal splits/cuts @ 90*. It has a progressive threaded pattern that rises from the edge of the collet. The clamping nut has the same angled threading and as it is is tightened, it compresses the split sections onto the axle. The tire slips over a mounted titanium bolt, not aluminum. The compression nut is 12mm.When completely clamped down I get just under 1 mm sticking out from the hub past the compression nut.



In the pictures you can see the slots. The taper starts at about 8mm and ends at around 7mm. (Too lazy to grab a calipers). These come in black, blue, gold and silver. The examples are from Banzai Hobby in Japan. If you can wait for your order, this place is a bargain. Shipping international can take up to 30 days now unless you order Speed Post which wipes out the bargain.

Clamp Hub, 5.5mm spacer, .5mm of shims = dead on for a 185 car.
__________________
John Higgins
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 08:25 PM   #1167
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,278
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to liljohn1064 Send a message via MSN to liljohn1064 Send a message via Yahoo to liljohn1064
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
I use the Q-Teq hub on my SP-1...really like this hub. I then space out the hubs to get to 190mm rather than adding spacers inside the wheel.

Q-teq hub found here:
http://www.reflexracing.net/QTEQ-Tam...ack_p_995.html
+1 best way for sure!
__________________
John Higgins
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 09:07 AM   #1168
Tech Adept
 
zephuros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 192
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by liljohn1064 View Post
Like a collet. It has a 6mm inner diameter with 4 equal splits/cuts @ 90*. It has a progressive threaded pattern that rises from the edge of the collet. The clamping nut has the same angled threading and as it is is tightened, it compresses the split sections onto the axle. The tire slips over a mounted titanium bolt, not aluminum. The compression nut is 12mm.When completely clamped down I get just under 1 mm sticking out from the hub past the compression nut.



In the pictures you can see the slots. The taper starts at about 8mm and ends at around 7mm. (Too lazy to grab a calipers). These come in black, blue, gold and silver. The examples are from Banzai Hobby in Japan. If you can wait for your order, this place is a bargain. Shipping international can take up to 30 days now unless you order Speed Post which wipes out the bargain.

Clamp Hub, 5.5mm spacer, .5mm of shims = dead on for a 185 car.
Looks great. I think I might pick one up the next time I do some online shopping. Bent a rear axle today so I'll be needing one of them too. It was so badly bent that it stripped my Xenon spur down completely. Sigh.
__________________
__________________

==============
awww bollox....
zephuros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 11:37 AM   #1169
Super Moderator
 
racer1812's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 14,024
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by racer1812 View Post
I'm in the same boat, I would have to double check but I think a 19 is about it, MAYBE a 20t. I know you'll need a smaller spur to get close to 3.0 (72 / 24 = 3.0) that will never fit.
FYI, I was wrong. I have a 22t on mine. Might fit a 23t but that would be about it.


just wanted to correct my bad info.
__________________
Stop the hate! 'White Wheels Matter'

racer1812 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 09:55 PM   #1170
Tech Adept
 
adriang79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hobart, Tasmania
Posts: 121
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by racer1812 View Post
FYI, I was wrong. I have a 22t on mine. Might fit a 23t but that would be about it.


just wanted to correct my bad info.
I managed to squeeze a 23t onto it, but certainly won't fit anything more than that.

My motor mount is currently with a friend who has a milling machine to have the motor screw holes made a little bit longer, hopefully fit another tooth or two on the pinion.
adriang79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:36 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0